rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Eagle Road Rally 2000

Newtown & District Automobile Club

23rd July 2000

Clerk of the Course: Graham Evans

Route: 50 Miles

Venue:: Sweet Lamb

Starters: 60

Winners: Tony Davies/Dylan Evans (Toyota Corolla)

Tony Davies/Dylan Evans took control of the Eagle Road Rally on the first of the event’s four sections and never relinquished their lead, coming home almost a minute clear of Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Owen Dodd.

Eagle Road Rally Rally 2000

The Eagle once again its unique format of a daylight road rally based on the Sweet Lamb Rally Testing Complex.

Despite a puncture on the second section Davies/Evans maintained their lead as Jones/Dodd lost time with a wrong slot. The latter pair then used the extra power and grip of their Sierra 4x4 to close down the winners, but they were still 52 seconds behind at the end.

Aled and Eryl Evans started slowly in their Sierra, being only seventh at the end of the first section, but came back to finish in third.

Top seeds Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas had a disappointing outing, picking up a ten minute penalty for a missed code board and struggled home in 22nd place.

The 1998 winners, Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart, went off the road and out of the rally after being blinded by dust from the car in front.

The Semi-Expert class seemed to be heading to Graham Evans/Paul Hughes who got as high as fourth but then were forced out just a mile from home by a broken distributor.

This allowed another Newtown AC crew, Chris Bolver/Denny Harris, through to take the class win. In the Novice class Marc Jonah/Justin Halfpenny ended five minutes clear of David Hands/Richard Davies.

The Standard Production Award was won by the Astra of Martyn O’Connor/Peter Collins, who were fifth overall.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Tony Davies Dylan Evans Toyota Corolla 14m 52s
2 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Owen Dodd Ford Sierra 4x4 15m 44s
3 Aled 'Cacen' Evans Eryl Evans Ford Sierra XR4x4 16m 58s
4 Hefin George Daniel Thomas Nissan Sunny GTi-R 17m 15s
5 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 17m 17s
6 Cyril Crook Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 17m 29s
7 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 17m 52s
8 Alun 'Timo' Evans Carl Williamson Ford Escort 19m 20s
9 Meredith Roberts Emyr Jones Lada Riva 19m 28s
10 Tudor Morris Gerallt Davies Ford Escort 19m 34s
11 Neil Arden Giles Corbett Ford Escort Mexico 19m 43s
12 Chris Bolver Denny Harris Ford Anglia 22m 00s
13 Jim Clarke Brian Spurr Talbot Sunbeam 22m 31s
14 Des Phasey Martin Phasey Ford Escort 22m 50s
15 Kev Nunns Gary Moult Toyota Corolla 22m 50s
16 Nick Wilson Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 23m 00s
17 Michael Bradley Dean George Peugeot 309 GTi 23m 14s
18 Andrew Phillips Meredith Davies Ford Sierra 23m 35s
19 Alan Jones Mark Andrew Vauxhall Astra GTE 23m 39s
20 Richard Briddon Edryd Evans Toyota Starlet 25m 49s
21 Wayne Jones Joanne Herbert Ford Escort 25m 58s
22 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 28m 54s
23 John Jones Alan Thompson Renault 11 Turbo 28m 59s
24 Marc Jonah Justin Halfpenny Peugeot 205 29m 44s
25 Claire Evans Allen Hart Vauxhall Nova 32m 49s
26 Richard Roe Pat Gadsby Talbot Sunbeam 32m 55s
27 David Hands Richard Davies Ford Escort 34m 38s
28 Len Giles Jerry Jones Ford Escort 36m 39s
29 Mike Cooper Chris Wilson Ford Escort 45m 13s
30 Chris Wright Erik West Lada Riva 51m 56s
31 Sarah Harmer John Harmer MG Maestro 1h 00m 19s
32 Mark Lloyd Carwyn Evans Vauxhall Astra GTE 5h 31m 57s
33 Emyr Evans Robert Greaves Opel Manta 2F 1h 05m 50s
34 Robert Evans Adrian Bachelor Toyota Corolla 4F 39m 40s
35 Simon Turner Alan Evans VW Sirocco 5F 1h 51m 55s