rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Funky Elephant Rally 2002

Basingstoke Motor Club + Wessex Motor Club

27th/28th April 2002

Clerk of the Course: Andy Coshan

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 185 & 196

Starters: 40

Winners: Mike Biss/Cath Woodman (Peugeot 205)

Mike Biss/Cath Woodman continued their remarkable run of success on the Funky Elephant Rally. For the fourth successive road rally they won the event completing the course, once again, free of any penalty, their previous wins being on the Resolution, Kent and Barum rallies.

The Hampshire based Funky Elephant was a joint promotion between Basingstoke and Wessex Motor Clubs. It used a 150 mile route and attracted a capacity forty car entry. The going was made difficult for crews, and especially marshals, as torrential rain fell throughout the event.

Biss/Woodman once again proved to be in a class of their own as they came home seventeen minutes in front of second placed Phil Collings/Mark Collings, the father and son pairing being the first Semi-Experts. Chris Moore/Tom Jenkins were the first Experts home, finishing in third place.

Among the crews that failed to make it to the finish were Matt Fowle/John Upham whose Peugeot 205 became a victim of the weather as they retired with a waterlogged engine.

Olly Smith/Jonah Nuttgens did finish but were severely delayed by rotor arm problems on their Mini. The rotor arm broke after just five miles of the rally, they lost twenty-five minutes but managed to repair it using duct tape. However it broke again in the second half. Once again they managed to get moving with the use of some chewing gum, but they didn't have confidence that this bodge would last to the Finish. They therefore headed home to Southampton to replace the unit. Having made the swap, they managed to regain the route having missed ten controls and were classified in ninth and last place.

Novice crews weren’t eligible for overall placings as they had simpler navigation to the Experts, although they completed the same route. Geoff Skillen/Ian Collings were the comfortable winners of the class, dropping just 24 minutes. Clive Anstey/Verity Anstey in a Nova were second.

A well supported Clubman event, designed for beginners, ran alongside the National B rally and this was won by the Peugeot 205 of Jon Taylor/Calum Maciver. Richard Phillipson/Catherine Phillipson took the runner up spot.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
2 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 17m 00s
3 Chris Moore Tom Jenkins Peugeot 106 19m 00s
4 Rob Dance Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 21m 00s
5 Paul Wright Graham Coker Ford Escort 37m 00s
6 David Coles Elly Price Ford Fiesta XR2 48m 00s
7 Maria McKenzie Roger McKenzie Ford Escort 73m 00s
8 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova 82m 00s
9 Olly Smith Jonah Nuttgens Mini 10F 209m 00s
Novice Class
1 Geoff Skillen Ian Collings Ford Mondeo 24m 00s
2 Clive Anstey Verity Anstey Vauxhall Nova 97m 00s
3 Chris Powney Chris Head Peugeot 309 GTi 5F 187m 00s
Clubman Rally
1 Jon Taylor Calum MacIver Peugeot 205 48m 00s
2 Richard Phillipson Catherine Phillipson Vauxhall Astra 59m 00s
3 Ben Paddick John Thompson VW Polo 1F 75m 00s