rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Funky Elephant Rally 2004

Wessex Motor Club

24th/25th April 2004

Clerk of the Course: Phil Kendall & Jonah Nuttgens

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 185 196 & 197

Starters: 31

Winners: Rob Reynolds/John Stringer (Subaru Impreza)

Wessex MC’s Funky Elephant Rally proved a tough test of competitors but Rob Reynolds/John Stringer emerged as worthy winners after 150 miles of competition around the lanes and tracks of Hampshire.

Funky Elephant Rally 2004

A consistent run, on a night when many other crews struggled with the navigation, saw Reynolds/Stringer (Subaru Impreza) take the lead at around the halfway point and maintain it to finish. Toby Jeffries/Nick Clarke (Vauxhall Nova), who had led initally, finished second and won the Semi-Expert class. Phil Collings/Mark Collings (Peugeot 205 GTi) had also taken a turn in the lead, but four missed route checks demoted them to third at the finish.

The navigational instructions were supplied in sealed envelopes, which had to be shown to the marshal, at the relevant control, unopened. Simon Bush/John Upham (VW Golf GTi) finished in sixth having been penalised 30 minutes after presented an opened envelope at one control.

There were a number of notable retirements due to mechanical failure; Mike East/Cath Woodman with drew with altenator and clutch problems on their 205, Paul Hollingham/Matt Fowle’s Astra broke an engine mounting, while the Nova of Doug Kingsley/Ben Greenfield suffered engine failure.

Despite their retirement, Kingsley/Greenfield, after four rounds, still maintained their lead in the Rally 2004 Championship.

The Novice Class competitors were supplied with simpler navigation, as were crews in the Clubman Rally. Contenders in these categories weren't eligible for overall awards. James Firth/Ed Butler (Ford Fiesta XR2) were the winning Novices, while the Clubman Rally was won by Paul Kearns/Chris Gage (Ford Fiesta 1.1E).


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Rob Reynolds John Stringer Subaru Impreza 20m 00s
2 Toby Jeffries Nick Clarke Vauxhall Nova 43m 00s
3 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 65m 00s
4 Jon Taylor Dick Howatt Peugeot 309 GTi 72m 00s
5 Gordon Popperwell Brian Jaggs Ford Escort Mexico 76m 00s
6 Simon Bush John Upham VW Golf GTi 103m 00s
7 Dave Bushby Steve Bubb Peugeot 205 GTi 107m 00s
8 Carl Gibbs Lizzie Pope Peugeot 205 D 264m 00s
9 Paul Fillis Tim Daltry Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 180m 00s
10 Russell Goodrun Gareth Lewis Ford Fiesta 12F 460m 00s
11 Graham Child Kevin Ablitt Ford Escort Mexico 15F 314m 00s
Novice Class & Clubman Rally
1 James Firth Ed Butler Ford Fiesta XR2 24m 00s
2 Paul Kearns Chris Gage Ford Fiesta 1.1E 43m 00s
3 Graham Yates Richard Arnold Peugeot 205 GTi 51m 00s
4 Rob Aslett Angus HYne Peugeot 205 GTi 69m 00s
5 Neal Allsopp Andrew Parsons Ford Fiesta XR2 72m 00s
6 Laurent Wallis Owen Pryce Ford Fiesta LX 124m 00s
7 Alan Woodham Dave Wilson Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 21m 00s
8 David Glanville James Bueno Renault 5 1F 31m 00s
9 Andy Down Chris Head Rover Mini 2F 141m 00s
10 Jane Haley Dean Upton Vauxhall Vectra 4F 252m 00s
11 Robert Jachimowicz Roy Cuthbert Subaru L 1800 15F 496m 00s