rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

G&P Memorial Rally 2002

Sponsored by Legend Fires

Preston & Garstang Car Club

9th/10th March 2002

Clerk of the Course: Chris Astley

Route: 145 Miles

Maps: 102 103 & 109

Starters: 32

Winners: Stuart Newby/Paul Holmberg (Subaru Impreza)

After running course car on the Malcolm Wilson Stages during the day, Stuart Newby/Paul Holmberg took victory on the Memorial Road Rally overnight. This was the pair's second victory of the year.

G&P Memorial Rally 2002
Runners Up: Michael Pedley/David Pedley (Ford Escort G4)
Photograph: M&H Photography

The Garstang & Preston MC event had attracted sponsorship from Legend Gas Fires and offered the 32 starters a challenging 145 mile route. A new organising team put on a professional event, which counted towards both the North Western and SD34 Championships.

Newby/Holmberg brought their Subaru Impreza home almost a minute clear of the Escort of Michael Pedley/David Pedley. Terry Martin/Simon Bentley were third, although they dropped thirty seconds on the last section after their Peugeot stalled and was reluctant to restart, however the third place was enough to give them the lead of the SD34 Championship.

Former Welsh Road Rally Champion Carl Williamson had novice driver Nigel Thomas alongside him for the event; they were happy to claim fourth overall at the finish, giving Williamson another good score in the North Western Championship.

Simon Cottrell/Marcus Whatmough were lying second at Petrol but a turbo problem delayed them in the second half; they eventually finished fifth. Malcolm Grizedale/Bob Hargreaves were the last crew free of fails in sixth place.

Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford made the long journey north in their Toyota Corolla but were one of the few retirements, breaking an altenator bracket broke following two heavy landings after yumps.

The leading Semi-Experts, Steve Entwhistle/Mike West, finished ninth in their Skoda Felicia, while the winners of the Novice class, Colin Blunt/Mark Blunt, were one place further back in their Peugeot 205.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Stuart Newby Paul Holmberg Subaru Impreza 9m 50s
2 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort G4 10m 44s
3 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 19s
4 Nigel Thomas Carl Williamson Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 32s
5 Simon Cottrell Marcus Watmough Subaru Impreza 12m 58s
6 Malcolm Grisdale Bob Hargreaves Subaru Coupe 15m 29s
7 Iain Scott Jez Harris Toyota Corolla 1F 12m 37s
8 Niel Bye Stephen Bye Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 13m 59s
9 Steve Entwhistle Mike West Skoda Felicia 1F 14m 38s
10 Colin Blunt Mark Blunt Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 25m 22s
11 Daniel Dunbabin Clive Dunbabin Subaru Legacy 2F 30m 36s
12 Richard Davis Gavin Wright Ford Puma 3F 55m 13s
13 Russell Wood Rodney Jackson Vauxhall Nova 4F 39m 08s
14 Hubert Scott Ian Bond Peugeot 106 4F 45m 02s
15 Mike Cartwright Steve Warrington Vauxhall Nova 5F 20m 40s
16 John Livermore Philip Roath Hillman Avenger 5F 35m 04s
17 Patrick O'Connor Alastair Spurr Toyota Celica 6F 16m 02s
18 Bruce Lindsay Steve Jones Vauxhall Astra 6F 27m 26s
19 Paul Whitelock Jake Carling Renault Clio 16F 64m 11s
20 Paul Mount Shelley Rogerson Toyota Celica 17F 51m 57s
21 Sam Cook Scott Haydon Peugeot 205 45F 63m 43s
22 Chris Catterall Nathan Hargreaves Peugeot 205 47F 59m 44s