rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

G&P Memorial Rally 2004

Sponsored by Legend Fires

Garstang & Preston Car Club

12th/13th June 2004

Clerk of the Course: Chris Astley

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 97 102 & 103

Starters: 42

Winners: Simon Harrison/Paul Holmberg (Ford Escort RS2000)

Simon Harrison/Paul Holmberg (Ford Escort RS2000) followed up the previous month’s win on the Witch Way with victory on Garstang & Preston MC’s Memorial Road Rally.

G&P Memorial Rally 2004

The 120 mile event used pre-plot navigation but an intricate route kept crews on their toes all night.

The 2003 winners Terry Martin/Paul Taylor (Peugeot 205 GTi) had led at the halfway point, but a wrong slot in the second half dropped them to third at the finish. Steve Webster/Roger Hage (Subaru Impreza) took the runner up spot, 54 seconds behind the winners. Myles Greaves/Mich Birchall (Peugeot 205 GTi), competing on home territory, took fourth place overall and a clear win in the Semi-Expert class.

Chris Day/Ric Chalmers picked up two fails in the early stages, but were quickest over the second time card. However they retired soon afterwards with a broken driveshaft on their Mini.

Dave Broadley/Dave Wilkinson were the leading Novice crew in eleventh place overall. Of the 42 starters, 34 made it to the Finish.

Mike Cartwright/David Pedley (Vauxhall Astra) and Simon Daly/Simon Bentley (Rover Maestro) were looking to be heading for top placings but both retired with mechanical problems. The latter crew had been holding fourth place when they went out at one third distance.

Nigel Banks/Graham Raeburn (Proton Compact) picked up a fail after missing a code board; they finished in 15th position.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Simon Harrison Paul Holmberg Ford Escort RS2000 3m 53s
2 Steve Webster Roger Hage Subaru Impreza 4m 47s
3 Terry Martin Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 48s
4 Myles Gleaves Mich Birchall Peugeot 205 8m 12s
5 Dan Robinson Ian Gibbins Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 46s
6 Pete Tyson Neil Harrison Mini Cooper S 9m 40s
7 Malcolm Grisdale Bob Hargreaves Subaru RX Coupe 10m 41s
8 Adrian Green Paul Nelson Seat Ibiza 12m 52s
9 John Ross Mike Ogram Subaru Impreza 13m 49s
10 Frank Evans Dan Spittlehouse Toyota Corolla 14m 06s
11 Dave Broadley Dave Wilkinson Lada Riva 15m 45s
12 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 19m 13s
13 Bernie Watkins Adam Roper Vauxhall Cavalier 21m 01s
14 Steve Entwhistle Json Crook Mini Cooper S 1F 14m 46s
15 Nigel Banks Graham Raeburn Proton Compact 1F 15m 04s
16 Rob Wakelin Chris Bebbington Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 21m 57s
17 David Howell Stephen Taylor Opel Manta 1F 22m 55s
18 James Everard David Jobling Peugeot 106 1F 24m 09s
19 Jonathan Bossen Alan Pemberton Subaru Impreza 1F 25m 32s
20 Bill Chadwick Phil Matthews Peugeot 205 1F 34m 48s
21 Steve Cotton Simon Moss Subaru Legacy 2F 10m 01s
22 Dave Chapman David Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 13m 58s
23 Nick Toplis Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova GTE 2F 17m 28s
24 Neil Mashiter Rachel Medich Vauxhall Astra 2F 533m 38s
25 Dan Willan Heather Grisedale Vauxhall Astra 3F 15m 06s
26 Damian Whittle Irvine Holtom Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 16m 09s
27 Alex Willan Jerry Hettrick Vauxhall Astra 3F 17m 29s
28 Ian Newton Aaron Parker Ford EScort 3F 22m 17s
29 Andrew Duffy Crispin Edwards Ford Sierra 3F 23m 54s
30 Ian Rooke Katy Mashiter Ford Escort 5F 22m 16s
31 Mark Casey Glyn Casey Vauxhall Nova 6F 46m 57s
32 Michael Judson Derek Lewin Vauxhall Astra GSi 9F 39m 28s
33 Lee Jones Phil Martin Vauxhall Astra 14F 35m 14s
34 Chris Richardson Paul Gray Austin Mini 19F 61m 31s