rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Gogledd Cymru 2003

Sponsored by Old Stables Garage

Rhyl & District Motor Club

1st/2nd March 2003

Clerk of the Course: Baz Green & Paul Jones

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 116

Starters: 72

Winners: Huw Myfyr Jones/Owen Dodd (VW Golf GTi)

Rali Gogledd Cymru 2003

A steady run saw first time pairing of Huw Myfyr Jones/Owen Dodd win Y Rali Gogledd Cymru when other crews made errors or hit problems.

The event was a round of the North Western Championship and used a 140 mile route in North East Wales. Rhyl and District MC attracted seventy-two starters to the event. Crews faced difficult conditions after heavy rain, just prior to the rally, had left a great deal of standing water on the roads.

At the halfway halt there were three crews who were still clear of any penalties. These were top seeds Howard Price/Steve Griffiths, Mal Acott/Nigel Roberts and Brynli Thomas/Paul Edwards. However none of these crews were to feature in the top places at the Finish.

Acott/Roberts picked up a five minute penalty for the use of the handbrake, an act that is prohibited in the North Wales Police area. This left Brynli Thomas/Paul Edwards with a slender lead of seven seconds, but Edwards had misplotted the location of a route check; it was a km square out. By the time they had sorted out where they should be, they had dropped five minutes. They were classified in tenth in the final placings.

Price/Griffiths were still clean going into the last section, giving them a lead of 29 seconds, however an engine problem on their newly built Astra saw them struggle to the finish of the test. The problem cost them so much time that they were relegated to thirteenth place.

Myfyr/Dodd had wrong slotted in Clocaenog on the first selective, but had still managed to make the finish control on time. They then lost a small amount of time as they and Kev Parry/Heath Griffiths got in each other's way attempting to find the correct track to reach a passage control. This meant that they arrived at Petrol in fifth position.

Rali Gogledd Cymru 2003
Winners: Huw Myfyr Jones/Owen Dodd (VW Golf GTi)
Photograph: M&H Photography

In the second half they had a clear run except for dropping a minute at a control where the marshal insisted on giving the time they had reached him, rather than when they had arrived at the control, at that point there were two cars queuing in front of them. Despite this, errors by their rivals meant that they finished with a comfortable victory margin of over three minutes.

Ian Lloyd/Adrian Smart (Toyota Corolla) took second, with Merfyn Williams/Derwyn Roberts (Vauxhall Astra) were third.

The Semi-Expert class was won by the Saab 96 of Noel Hughes/Gwawr Hughes and the leading novices were Iwan Griffith/Robin Williams.

Paul Hughes/Paul Middleton were an early retirement, withdrawing after their Citroen AX suffered a broken radiator. Split hose pipes accounted for the Peugeot 205s of both Brynmor Pierce/Eilir Jones and Stuart Kelso/Richard Renshaw.

Griff Evans/Darren Garrod had a charcter building event. They bent the steering rack on their Peugeot 205 on the second section, then suffered two punctures during the remainder of the event. They survived and claimed 11th place at the Finish.

OVERALL RESULTS (No total penalties were issued with the official results)

Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Huw Myfyr Jones Owen Dodd VW Golf GTi 3m 40s
2 Ian Lloyd Adrian Smart Toyota Corolla 7m 22s
3 Merfyn Williams Derwyn Roberts Vauxhall Astra 8m 01s
4 Tony Gush Gareth Price Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 09s
5 Martin Lloyd Steve Herbert Ford Escort 9m 00s
6 Mark Price Roger Evans Ford Escort 9m 17s
7 Stephen Edwards Ian Vale Ford Sierra 9m 37s
8 Dewi John Michael Evans Peugeot 205 10m 44s
9 Noel Hughes Gwawr Hughes Saab 96 10m 59s
10 Brynli Thomas Paul Edwards Peugeot 205 11m 02s
11 Griff Evans Darren Garrod Peugeot 205
12 Andy Roberts Stuart Frost Subaru Impreza
13 Howard Price Steve Griffith Vauxhall Astra
14 Elfyn Richards Alan Jones VW Golf GTi
15 Mal Acott Paul Edwards Ford Escort
16 Andrew Matthews Colin Jones Ford Fiesta XR2
17 John Broadhurst Gareth Williams Ford Escort
18 Endaf Wilson Barry Griffiths Peugeot 205 GTi
19 Iwan Griffith Robin Williams Peugeot 205
20 Gwyn Morris Shaun Baker Peugeot 205 GTi
21 Meilir Jones Dylan Jones Vauxhall Astra
22 Eurig Thomas Rhun Ellis Toyota Corolla
23 Medwyn Jones Wayne Allen Talbot Sunbeam
24 Iwan Williams Gwion Pryderi Ford Escort
25 Terry Leddon Ian Clapham Ford Sierra
26 Alan Roberts Paul Jones Vauxhall Nova
27 Bob Gush Kevin Warlow VauxhalL Astra
28 Dewi Williams Paul Roberts Vauxhall Nova
29 Lenny Evans Pete Dale Rover 216 GTi
30 John Taylor Steve Coombes Lancia Delta
31 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen ZX
32 Steve Price Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla
33 Mike Jones Marcus Watmough Peugeot 309 GTi
34 Alun Hayward Mark Thomas Vauxhall Nova
35 Geraint Jones Gareth Jones Vauxhall Nova
36 Simon Mawdsley Mark Blunt Ford Fiesta
37 Lee Rainford Clwyd Davies Ford Sierra
38 Michael Jones Pete Welch Toyota Corolla
39 David Ricketts Richard Jones Toyota Corolla
40 Ben Corbett Simon Cottrell Hillman Avenger
41 Steve Jones Stuart Gush Peugeot 205 GTi
42 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova