rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Gogledd Cymru 2004

Sponsored by Old Stables Garage

Rhyl & District Motor Club

6th/7th March 2004

Clerk of the Course: Baz Green

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 116

Starters: 73

Winners: Elfyn Richards/Carwyn Evans (Peugeot 205)

Elfyn Richards/Carwyn Evans emerged as worthy winners of a challenging Rali Gogledd Cyrmu. The Rhyl & District MC event was under 100 miles long but a demanding route caused problems for many fancied crews.

Rali Gogledd Cymru 2004

The navigation instructions were all via map references and sufficinet time to plot the entire route was provided prior ro the start of competitive motoring. Despite this, the intricate route made it a demanding night for both members of the crew.

At the beginning of the year North Wales Police had demanded that road rallies clean up their act, especially regarding the use of hand brakes and skidding. The Supplementary Regulations included the penalty of exclusion for "use of the handbrake on the public hughway" and "excessive skidding and wheel spinning on the public highway". Driving Standards Observers were deployed to ensure adherence to these rules.

Eight crews fell foul of these regulations. Ian Lloyd/Cyril Jones (Toyota Corolla) arrived at the Finish apparently at winners; they had time penalties 1m 22s ahead of the winners. However they found that they had been reported by a DSO and were excluded. Similarly thrown out were: Mal Acott/Neil Spiers (Ford Escort), who were 3s ahead of the winners; Stephen Edwards/Heath Griffiths (Peugeot 309), who would have been third; and Martin Lloyd/Steve Herbert (Ford Escort) lost out on seventh place, they had been delayed after getting stuck on a white.

Roger Powley/Jon Smith (Toyota Corolla), were another crew who were excluded, they gave away the Semi-Expert Class win as a result.

Other competitors lost out on top positions after navigating errors. The penulimate section, which used the road and tracks in the middle of Clocaenog Forest, was particularly tricky. Tony Gush/Gareth Price (Peugeot 205) were the fastest crew of the night, dropping 1m 41s less than the winners, however they missed to find PC T, which was located on a track at 004.75 532. Paul Edwards/Ade Green (Peugeot 205 GTi) would have been eighth but for their mistake at the same point.

Rali Gogledd Cymru 2004
Runners Up: Jason Hardy/Aln Jôs (VW Golf GTi)

Top seeds Howard Price/Owen Dodd also missed PC T, then added another fail with a wrong depart from the penultimate PC of the night; this was PC Y at 058 636.5, with a depart of NNE. Departing south-east was the most direct route to PC Z (069 629), but missed out a loop.

All these dramas allowed Elfyn Richards/Carwyn Evans (Peugeot 205) to emerge as winners, proving that road rallying is won by those that are both swift and accurate. They finished 18 seconds ahead of Jason Hardy/Aln Jôs (VW Golf GTi). Steve Head/Graham raeburn (Vauxhall Nova GTE) completed the top three, 26 seconds behind the winners.

Eifion Wyn Jones/Gwawr Hughes had a water pipe burst on their Peugeot 205 as they plotted. They recovered from this misfortune to finishing in fifth.

The Semi-Expert Class was won by Tom Edwards/Lee Evans (Toyota Corolla), who were classified in ninth place overall. Thirteenth placed Sheila Reynolds-Jones/Gwyn Reynolds-Jones (Peugeot 205) won the Novice Class.

Kev Parry/Roger Evans retired with an engine failure on their Toyota Corolla. Meanwhile Chris Rogers/Steve Merrison rolled their Rover 216 GTi out of the event.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Elfyn Richards Carwyn Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 3m 54s
2 Jason Hardy Alan Jôs VW Golf GTi 4m 12s
3 Steve Head Graham Raeburn Vauxhall Nova GTE 4m 20s
4 Dewi Williams Michael Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 36s
5 Eifion Wyn Jones Gwawr Hughes Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 46s
6 Brian Jones Phill Harrison Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 07s
7 Lenny Evans Pete Dale Renault Clio 8m 07s
8 Shane Richards Jon Madoc-Jones Vauxhall Astra 9m 30s
9 Tom Edwards Lee Evans Toyota Corolla 10m 27s
10 Chris Rowlands Tom Pritchard Suzuki Belano 14m 59s
11 Cliff Washbrook Brian Harrison Peugeot 205 16m 14s
12 Alun Hayward Mark Thomas Vauxhall Astra 19m 26s
13 Sheila Reynolds-Jones Gwyn Reynolds-Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 11s
14 Colin Cresswell Stephen Price Fiat Cinqucento 21m 32s
15 Tony Gush Gareth Price Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 02m13s
16 Paul Edwards Ade Green Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 08m 49s
17 Andy Groom Carl Darby Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 09m 55s
18 John Jones Steve Davies Renault 11 Turbo 1F 12m 08s
19 Phill Matthews Iain Craven Peugeot 309 1F 13m 20s
20 Dylan Williams Andrew Singleton Hillman Avenger 1F 14m 41s
21 Bob Gush Kevin Warlow Peugeot 306 1F 14m 52s
22 Steve Guest Rob Guest VW Golf 1F 16m 01s
23 Sheila Matthews Alan Pemberton Ford Escort 1F 17m 54s
24 Rhys Lloyd Alwyn Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 20m 42s
25 Mark Jones Mike Jones Ford Escort 1F 30m 12s
26 Howard Price Owen Dodd Ford Escort 2F 02m 56s
27 Stuart Kelso Eilir Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 06m 48s
28 Gareth Jones Nigel Roberts Vauxhall Astra 2F 07m 41s
29 Bob Gush Kevin Warlow Peugeot 306 2F 02m 35s
30 Steve Southall Chris Webber Toyota Corolla 2F 08m 43s
31 Emyr Jones Steven Roberts Toyota Corolla 2F 10m 03s
32 Richard Parry Michael Hughes Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 10m 06s
33 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen Saxo VTR 2F 10m 23s
34 Simon Harrison Paul Mount Ford Escort 2F 12m 52s
35 Mark Davies Sarah Cartwright Vauxhall Astra 2F 21m 35s
36 Lee Rainford Adrian Davies Vauxhall Nova 2F 21m 42s
37 Gareth Clarke Eddie Blackwell Peugeot 309 2F 21m 35s
38 Keith Gush Lynn Gush Vauxhall Nova GTE 2F 38m 08s
39 Paul Hughes Glyn Bargate Ford Escort 2F 41m 30s
40 Trevor Roberts Steve Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 16m 37s
41 Rhys Jones Matthew Pierce Vauxhall Astra 3F 26m 45s
42 Andrew Matthews Colin Jones Ford Fiesta 3F 29m 26s
43 David Broom Julie Broom Rover Metro 3F 30m 28s
44 Susan Stephenson Nigel Stephenson Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 47m 52s
45 Steve Jones Jonathan Morris Peugeot 205 4F 34m 17s
46 Gareth Vickers Mike Warminbon Peugeot 205 GTi 4F 53m 53s
47 Paul Harvey Thomas Pond Ford Escort 5F 10m 14s
48 Dan Knight Richard Green Peugeot 309 GTi 5F 32m 54s
49 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 5F 46m 25s
50 Alastair Hunter Aled Thomas Peugeot 205 6F 35m 22s
51 Philip Rock Phil Drew Ford Escort 10F 35m 10s
52 Dai Davies Wyn Morris Opel Manta 13F 20m 10s
53 Scott Trevor Wayne Thomas Vauxhall Nova SR 17F 69m 00s