rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Greenleaves Rally 1999

Sixty & Worcestershire Motor Club

27th/28th March 1999

Clerk of the Course: Richard Wheeler

Route: 115 Miles

Maps: 148 & 161

Starters: 38

Winners: Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort)

Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson took their second win from four starts when they won the Greenleaves Rally in convincing style, coming home almost a minute and a half ahead of the field.

Greenleaves 1999

The 115 mile Hay-on-Wye based event was Round Four of the Welsh Road Rally Championship, but attracted only 38 entries. Its continued use of plot and bash navigation being the principal reason for the low turnout.

However it was this aspect of the rally that allowed Williamson's navigational skills to play a key role and the Ammanford pair arrived at the petrol halt with a minutes lead. With a clean run in the second half they led the 36 finishers home. Despite the win this was not enough to give them the lead in the Welsh series - Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby were third to keep a slender lead in the championship. Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson were second giving them their best result of the year so far.

Andrew Thomas/Ieuan Thomas came in fourth, a good result after the crew had to struggle with plotting on the move after their interior light failed soon after the start. While Wayne Morris/Paul Middleton brought their ill handling Escort into sixth, the rear axle seemingly the culprit for the car's erratic handling. Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas were one place further back to take the Production Award.

Top seeds Paul Holmberg/Dave Pitchford were in difficulties within a few miles of the start when their Escort suffered ignition failure. They lost 26 minutes affecting a repair, leaving them in 14th place at the Finish. Gary Jones/Richard Preece held second at the halfway point but picked up two fails for recording incorrect code boards in the second half and dropped to 24th.

Steve Griffiths/Ian Cooke were in fifth at Petrol but then discovered that they had lost all but one stud off one wheel. They gingerly drove around just enough of the second half to be qualify as a finisher.

Nick and Simon Yates also looked in a strong position at Petrol - they led the Semi-Expert class by four minutes and held ninth overall. Unfortunately they missed a code board in the second half and third in class was their only consolation. Ironically their nearest rivals at Petrol, Nigel Phillips/Ryan Leary, missed the same board and it was therefore Chris and Dave Williams who took the class win and 16th overall in their Mini.

John Powell/Matt Barker were the class of the Novice field - Barker making a return to rallying after a three year lay off. They were the only Class Three crew to finish without a fail and they were one place higher at the end than the leading Semi. One fail and thirty minutes behind Powell/Barker, Rob Jeffries/Kevin Taylor took the runner up spot in the class.

There was a very low retirement rate. Thirty-six of the 38 starters made it to the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 1m 30s
2 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 2m 55s
3 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 3m 26s
4 Andrew Davies Ieuan Thomas Toyota Corolla 4m 57s
5 Alan Gaunt Marc Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 02s
6 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 6m 15s
7 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 6m 33s
8 Huw James Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 11m 01s
9 Neil Lewis John Thornton Lancia Delta 17m 52s
10 Hefin George John Hands Mazda 323 Turbo 20m 37s
11 Nick Broadway Andy Oakes Ford Sierra 22m 21s
12 Ian Orford Bob Jones Mazda 323 23m 41s
13 Pete Cotton Steve Lloyd Ford Escort 24m 55s
14 Paul Holmberg Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 26m 06s
15 John Powell Matt Barker Vauxhall Astra 26m 56s
16 Chris Williams Dave Williams BL Mini 46m 49s
17 Roddy Daniels Bill Williams Vauxhall Astra 70m 54s
18 Nick Yates Simon Yates Ford Escort 1F 9m 18s
19 Nigel Phillips Ryan Leary Toyota Corolla 1F 19m 49s
20 Steve Rogers Paul Jones Peugeot 205 1F 23m 45s
21 Rob Jeffries Kevin Taylor Subaru 1F 52m 18s
22 Jerry Jones Phil Lewis BL Mini 1F 55m 37s
23 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Ford Escort 1F 65m 18s
24 Gary Jones Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 2F 3m 39s
25 Alyson Acreman Byron Jones Honda Civic 2F 8m 24s
26 Barbara Carter Calvin Fenwick Toyota Corolla 2F 25m 36s
27 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 26m 33s
28 Chris Rose Darren Miles Ford Fiesta 2F 64m 42s
29 Keith Daniels Aneurin James Vauxhall Nova 3F 24m 58s
30 Mike Perkin Ron Barrett Vauxhall Astra 4F 28m 09s
31 Simon Hetherington Dominic Delaney Toyota Corolla 4F 66m 03s
32 Hefin Evans Phil Ralphs Ford Sierra 5F 30m 01s
33 Aled Garner Dylan Garner Toyota Corolla 6F 38m 22s
34 Chris Stratton James Griffiths Rover Metro 7F 49m 10s
35 Steve Griffiths Ian Cooke Ford Escort 15F 13m 43s
36 Bryan Thomas Simon Davies Ford Capri 37F 70m 12s