rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Greenleaves Rally 2000

Sixty & Worcestershire Motor Club

1st/2nd April 2000

Clerk of the Course: Richard Wheeler

Route: 124 Miles

Maps: 147 148 & 161

Starters: 36

Winners: Alyson Acreman/Byron Jones (Peugeot 309 GTi)

Having held a secure second place at the halfway point of the Greenleaves Rally, Alyson Acreman/Byron Jones found that it had been transformed into a win by the Finish.

Greenleaves 2000

The rally, the fourth round of the Welsh Championship, had been led by a comfortable margin by Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby, however the Gremlin winners then missed a route check and as a result fell to seventh place.

The rally was based in Builth Wells and used 124 miles of the lanes between there and Hay on Wye. Despite being a Welsh Championship round the event only attracted 36 starters, this being largely due to its continued use of plot and bash navigation.

The entry was also affected by a number of leading Welsh contenders missing the event to vist the Rallye Catalunya, these included Dave Pitchford, Graham Evans and Andy Oakes.

Adam/Gadsby were not the only crew to fall foul of the events route checks - only six came home free of fails. Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson missed two route checks in the first half and were then slowed by a failing alternator; they came home in fifteenth place.

Alun Evans/Carl Williamson had already picked up a fail when they also suffered total alternator failure on their Escort. The first time pairing of Des Phasey/Ian Mills were another crew to arrive at Petrol with two fails on their card.

The second half brought no respite as Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Eryl Evans picked up a fail for a missed route check. While Hefin George/Dilwyn John were excluded for using spotlights in a Quiet zone. Baron Glaze/Pete Davies withdrew at the petrol halt with Davies suffering from a severe case of car sickness.

Acreman/Jones came home with a comfortable winning margin of six minutes, but had been fortunate that a section on which they'd dropped seven minutes with a wrong slot had to be cancelled. They led home a host of Blackwood MC crews; six of the cars in the top eight were from the club.

Steve Rogers/Paul Jones, using a VW Polo GTi while their regular Mini was having an engine rebuild, finished second, this was despite suffering from poor brakes on the stand-in car.

Mark Harris/Neil Bevan came in third, comfortably the quickest Semi-Expert crew on the night. They were just one of six Blackwood MC crews to finish in the top eight. Nick Bloxham/Martyn Allen, Gareth Jones/Paul Bevan and Jerry Jones/Mark Appleton completed the top six, all picking up valuable Welsh Championship points.

The results meant that Quinn/Thomson still led the Welsh series, while, despite their misdemeanour, Adam/Gadsby moved into second place.

Robert Thomson/Simon Greenway took the Novice award. They'd had a good run up to the petrol halt but, due to punctures, had to cut some of the route, they'd however built up enough of a cushion to maintain the class win.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Alyson Acreman Byron Jones Peugeot 309 GTi 7m 22s
2 Steve Rogers Paul Jones VW Polo GTi 13m 03s
3 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Ford Escort 18m 40s
4 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 25s
5 Gary Jones Paul Bevan Toyota Corolla 23m 17s
6 Jerry Jones Mark Appleton BL Mini 34m 37s
7 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 1F 5m 37s
8 Grant Parker Gwyn Williams Toyota Corolla 1F 17m 32s
9 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Eryl Evans Ford Escort XR3i 1F 18m 40s
10 Gerwyn Jones Brian Jones Ford Escort 1F 19m 42s
11 Islwyn Watkins Martin Jones Vauxhall Astra SRi 1F 42m 47s
12 Barbara Carter Calvin Fenwick Toyota Corolla 1F 45m 07s
13 Aled Garner Dylan Garner Toyota Corolla 1F 47m 35s
14 Des Phasey Ian Mills Ford Escort 2F 8m 53s
15 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 2F 9m 48s
16 Darren Dixon Pete Barnard Peugeot 205 2F 18m 07s
17 Alan Lewis Huw Davies Nissan Micra 2F 46m 49s
18 Phil Davies Dave Williams Ford Escort 3F 32m 51s
19 Nick Yates Simon Yates Ford Escort 5F 24m 13s
20 Robert Thomson Simon Greenway Peugeot 309 7F 36m 10s
21 Philip Evans Alun Probert Ford Fiesta XR2 8F 27m 41s
22 Christian Prynne Doody Farmer Peugeot 205 11F 48m 27s
23 Norman Kohler Adrian Bachelor Peugeot 205 12F 53m 24s
24 Andrew Down Chris Head Peugeot 205 12F 62m 36s
25 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 13F 52m 47s
26 Chris Wright Erik West Mini 13F 57m 58s
27 Alwyn Arrowsmith Clifford Jones Ford Escort 15F 43m 35s
28 Paul Ross Lee Bird Toyota Corolla 15F 46m 45s
29 Oliver Cotter Michael Church Ford Escort Estate 23F 44m 11s