rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Greenleaves Rally 2002

Sixty & Worcestershire Motor Club

23rd/24th March 2002

Clerk of the Course: Richard Wheeler

Route: 95 Miles

Maps: 147 & 148

Starters: 37

Winners: Mark Appleton/Anthony Preston (Peugeot 106 Rallye)

The Greenleaves Rally for 2002 proved to be a tricky event with only two crews completing the course free of any fails.

Greenleaves Rally 2002
Winners: Mark Appleton/Anthony Preston (Peugeot 106 Rallye)
Photograph: Paul Mount

The vast majority of competitors, twenty-seven out of thirty-seven starters, were in trouble almost from the competitive start as they picked up a fail at the first intermediate time control, T2RS, a small triangle control.

Mark Appleton/Anthony Preston took a cautious approach to this first section and got the critical control right. They then completed the rest of the event without incident and took victory in their Peugeot 106 Rallye. The only other car to be fail free at the finish was the novice crew of Andrew James/Alec Morris, they took the runner up spot fifteen minutes down on the winners.

Sixty & Worcestershire MC had introduced a 100% pre-plot format for the first time on the 2002 event, this was an attempt to increase the number of entries, however it was a disappointing 37 starters that made the trek to Builth Wells for the rally.

The rally was Round Four of the Welsh Road Rally Championship and Round Three of the West Midlands series. The route was just 95 miles with no fuel halt

Despite the pre-plot format, a route ammendment was issued 30 seconds before crews started the first section. This ammendment detailed the three metre controls and it was this that caught out so many crews, T2RS being the last in the sequence of three.

Greenleaves Rally 2002
Fifth Placed: Pete Cotton/Steve Warton (Vauxhall Astra)
Photograph: Paul Mount

Third place was a three way tie that had to be decided on engine capacity with the VW Polo of Steve Roger/Paul Jones heading the Honda Civic of top seeds Alyson Acreman/Byron Jones, with Pete Cotton/Steve Warton in their two-litre Astra being demoted to fifth. Cotton reported that having worked on the brakes he was happier with the car than he had been on the Moonbeam, where it had been almost undrivable. The plan was now to address issues with the suspension.

Top Semi-Experts were Lee Bartlett/Richard Edwards who were sixth overall in their Peugeot 309.

A number of crews who had avoided the error at T2RS failed to capitalise on their good start. David Wilmer/Mark Powell were leading at the halfway point, however two missed PCs in the second half meant that they finished fifteenth. Jason Stone/Paul Holmberg were also looking likely winners until that is alternator problems on their Peugeot 205; they had to cut to the Finish with two sections remaining. They were classified thirty-second.

Islwyn Watkins/Martin Jones were lying third at halfway but then had a driveshaft fail on their Astra. Gremlin winners Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies were fail free until they missed a passage control in the second half, they finished eighth although this was enough to promote them in the Welsh title race.

Greenleaves Rally 2002
Welsh Championship leaders: Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh (Ford Escort)
Photograph: Paul Mount

Jeremy Evans/Ian Cooke were going well in their 998cc Mini until a they visited a ditch. They were towed out by fellow Blackwood MC members Jonathan Harrison/Jonathan Jones but had lost over twenty minutes in the incident.

Bro Caron Novice Class winners Criss Lewis/Bryan Thomas had a less successful outing on the Greenleaves after a lowering block broke on their Escort causing handling difficulties for most of the rally.

Top Welsh Championship contenders Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh, Dennis Quinn/Rob Richardson, Howard Price/Carl Williamson and Gary Jones/Gwyn Williams all fell foul of T2RS and then all picked up further fails during the night. None finished in the top ten. Despite this, Evans/Walsh still led the championship as it reached its halfway point with the Night Owl.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mark Appleton Anthony Preston Peugeot 106 Rallye 2m 56s
2 Andrew James Alec Morris Ford Escort 16m 06s
3 Steve Rogers Paul Jones VW Polo GTi 1F 1m 00s
4 Alyson Acreman Byron Jones Honda Civic 1F 1m 00s
5 Pete Cotton Steve Warton Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 1m 00s
6 Lee Bartlett Richard Edwards Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 3m 00s
7 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 1F 3m 00s
8 Gerwyn Jones Ceri Davies Ford Escort 1F 3m 20s
9 Wayne Elliott Nigel Nelson Toyota Celica GT 1F 4m 00s
10 Mike Herring Fred Harris Vauxhall Astra 1F 15m 10s
11 Roger Hunt Pete Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 00m 00s
12 Gary Jones Gwyn Williams Toyota Corolla 2F 01m 00s
13 Howard Price Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 2F 01m 00s
14 Huw Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 2F 01m 00s
15 Dave Wilmer Mark Powell Ford Escort 2F 01m 34s
16 Paul Webb Justin Brooks Vauxhall Astra 2F 02m 00s
17 Dennis Quinn Rob Richardson Ford Escort 2F 03m 00s
18 Ashley Morris Michael Cartwright Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 03m 00s
19 Gary Jenkins Eric Tong Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 05m 00s
20 Criss Lewis Bryan Thomas Ford Escort 2F 18m 00s
21 Dominic Taylor Phil Baines Mazda 323 2F 21m 00s
22 Julian Smith Chris Short Toyota Corolla 2F 35m 04s
23 Keith Collier Paul Jenkins Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 01m 00s
24 Paul Todd Iestyn ap Dafydd Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 01m 00s
25 Alun Probert Raymond Davies Ford Sierra XR4i 3F 05m 00s
26 Sheldon Ware Jason Hayes MG 25 180 4F 04m 00s
27 Van-Roy Barber Timo Rumary Ford Escort 4F 06m 00s
28 Martin Perris Dean Davies Vauxhall Astra 5F 12m 00s
29 Christian Prynne Doody Farmer Peugeot 205 GTi 6F 08m 00s
30 Mark Coleman Christian Male Ford Escort 7F 36m 05s
31 Jeremy Evans Ian Cooke Mini 9F 03m 00s
32 Jason Stone Paul Holmberg Peugeot 205 GTi 19F 05m 42s
33 Robert Evans Mark Wakefield Ford Escort 20F 18m 09s
34 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Peugeot 205 GTi 28F 03m 00s
35 Jonathan Harrison Jonathan Jones Toyota Starlet 28F 29m 00s