rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Gremlin Rally 1998

Sponsored by Old Forge Garage

Brecon Motor Club

2nd/3rd May 1998

Clerk of the Course: Denis Cardell & Ken Owen

Route: 230 Miles

Maps: 146 147 159 & 160

Starters: 75

Winners: Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort)

Brecon MC resurrected the Gremlin Road Rally after an absense of ten years. It ran alongside the night section of the Welsh Rally Retro and gave the thirty starters a tough test.

Gremlin Rally 1998

The event consisted of two loops of the Epynt Ranges and the surrounding forestry, split by a regularity section to the south of Llandovery. The only crew to really master the format were the eventual winners, Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson, who brought their Escort home twenty-one minutes clear of the opposition. This was the duos first rally victory.

Nick Broadway/Andy Oakes had a trouble free run to put their Sierra into the runner up spot, with Pete Cotton/Dave Pitchford (Escort) third. Toby Adams/Mark Robinson were fourth in yet another Escort, while Hefin George/Aled Jones were the first non-Ford, bringing their Mazda 323 into fifth and the Standard Production Award.

They were followed home by Gordon Thomas/Alan Ginn in a Peugeot 205. Darren Pugh/Elgan Davies in an Escort XR3 took the Semi-Expert award with 8th overall. Richard Meadham/Alun Jones won the Novice class in their Ford Puma.

There were just fifteen finishers. Among the retirement list were Elgan Jones/Byron Jones (Astra) and Gareth Lloyd/Dorian Evans (Escort), both crews being hampered by mechanical problems before calling it a day.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 9m 00s
2 Nick Broadway Andy Oakes Ford Sierra 30m 00s
3 Pete Cotton Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 37m 00s
4 Toby Adam Mark Robinson Ford Escort 44m 00s
5 Hefin George Aled Jones Mazda 323 Turbo 47m 00s
6 Gordon Thomas Alan Ginn Peugeot 205 49m 00s
7 Andy James Dave Harris Ford Escort 67m 00s
8 Darren Pugh Elgan Davies Ford Escort XR3i 209m 00s
9 Chris Jones Paul Jenkins Ford Escort 248m 00s
10 Steve Powell Kath Curzon Toyota Corolla 251m 00s