rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Gremlin Rally 2000

Sponsored by Old Forge Garage

Brecon Motor Club

4th/5th March 2000

Clerk of the Course: Denis Cardell & Ken Owen

Route: 200 Miles

Maps: 146 147 160 & 161

Starters: 52

Winners: Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby (Ford Escort)

Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby took a popular victory over the Epynt Ranges on the Gremlin Rally. After a bad start to the season, the result put them back into contention for the Welsh Road Rally Championship.

Gremlin Rally 2000

The Brecon MC organised event utilised a 200 mile route, this included three runs over Eppynt. Over 70 crews tackled the rally, with the entry being a mixture of modern, historic and post-historic cars.

Adam/Gadsby won the rally by cleaning all the sections on the Military Ranges but, despite this performance, they still only twenty seconds clear at the Finish.

Lowly seeded Graham Davies/Ceri Davies (Talbot Sunbeam) made a good start to the event by picking up least penalties on the opening 50 mile Jogularity section and maintained this performance to secure the runner up spot. They led home a strong contingent from Epynt MC. Their club mates, Gerwyn Jones/Brian Jones (Ford Escort) were fourth and took the Semi-Expert Class, they were over twenty minutes clear of their nearest class rivals. Philip Evans/Alun Probert (Ford Fiesta) finished seventh to complete the Epynt MC success.

Jerry Jones/Ian Cooke (Mini Clubman) continued their good run of results by taking third; the second year in a row that Cooke had finished in that position. London Counties Champions, Mike Biss/Cath Woodman (Vauxhall Nova) made a rare foray into Wales and came away with fifth place.

Alun Evans/Carl Williamson finished sixth in their first outing in a Toyota Corolla and took the Standard Production Award in the process. Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson (Ford Escort) could only finish seventh after getting stuck in a ford, however this result was enough to allow them to maintain their lead of the Welsh Championship.

Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort XR3i) were similarly delayed when they became stuck after overshooting a corner - they struggled home in ninth. Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford (Toyota Corolla) had a frustrating rally, picking up two punctures on competitive sections. They eventually finished fifteenth and dropped to fourth in the Welsh Championship table as a result.

For the third time in as many events the Under 1300 Award was won by Steve Rodgers/Paul Jones.

There was a high retirement rate amongst the Historic and Post Historic categories. There were two finishers in the Historic section; the winners were Geoff Breakell/Nigel Raeburnm (Alfa Romeo Giulia). They finished with total penalties 20m 2s, which would have put them in twelfth in a combined classification. Steve Powell/Lee Vincent (Austin Healey Sprite) finished on 23m 19s.

Lyn Elliott/Andy Lewis (MGB GT) were the only finishers in the Post Historic category; their total penalties were 907m 00s.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 6m 44s
2 Graham Davies Ceri Davies Talbot Sunbeam Ti 7m 05s
3 Jerry Jones Ian Cooke Mini Clubman 7m 18s
4 Gerwyn Jones Brian Jones Ford Escort 8m 49s
5 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Vauxhall Nova GTE 9m 08s
6 Alun Evans Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 9m 10s
7 Philip Evans Alun Probert Ford Fiesta XR2 9m 24s
8 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 11m 26s
9 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 11m 57s
10 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Owen Dodd Ford Escort XR3i 44m 28s
11 Steve Rogers Paul Jones Mini Cooper S 17m 13s
12 Paul Webb Justin Brooks Vauxhall Astra 23m 27s
13 Nicholas Yates Simon Yates Ford Escort 24m 16s
14 Mike Morgan Dave Williams Ford Escort 24m 32s
15 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 26m 44s
16 Andrew Lewis Dave Howells Ford Escort 33m 53s
17 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Ford Escort 40m 15s
18 Nick Broadway Andy Oakes Ford Sierra 60m 01s
19 Mark Thomas Rob Richardson Vauxhall Nova 65m 49s
20 Alan Lewis Huw Davies Nissan Micra 88m 46s
21 Christian Prynne Doody Farmer Peugeot 205 GTi 91m 37s
22 Rob Jeffries Kev Taylor Subaru RX Turbo 118m 45s
23 Mike Kimber Mark Robinson Toyota Corolla 132m 09s
24 Andrew Thomas Elgan Davies Peugeot 205 150m 11s
25 Robert Jacobs Rehan Ali Chrysler Sunbeam 172m 59s
26 Grant Parker Glyn Williams Toyota Corolla 239m 53s
27 Anton Ducroq-Slip Chris Rooney Vauxhall Astra GTE 260m 58s
28 Marc Jonah Justin Halfpenny Peugeot 205 428m 25s
29 Zed Green Criss Lewis Ford Escort 430m 23s
30 Islwyn Watkins Clifford Jones Vauxhall Astra SRi 556m 42s
31 James Chappelle James Tennent Mini 1000 630m 38s
32 Paul Sanders Alan West Vauxhall Nova 650m 50s
33 Steve Reed Nigel Gardener Ford Escort 745m 25s
34 Brian Thomas Huw Mathias Ford Capri 764m 20s