rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Gremlin Rally 2002

Sponsored by Old Forge Garage

Brecon Motor Club

2nd/3rd March 2002

Clerk of the Course: Denis Cardell & Ken Owen

Route: 200 Miles

Maps: 146 147 & 160

Starters: 102

Winners: Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies (Ford Escort)

Gremlin Rally 2002

Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies have always performed well on road rallies which use the Epynt Ranges and this form continued when they took their Ford Escort to an outright win on the Gremlin Rally.

The Brecon MC event opened with a regularity section before taking crews onto the Ranges for the first of two visits. This was followed by a run over Abergewsyn, with a return to Epynt for the final sections.

The Gremlin comprised three rallies, a modern event which was the third round of the Welsh Championship, a Post-Historic and an Historic rally. Thus a bumper entry of 102 cars started from the Brecon Leisure Centre, with 55 making it through the 200 mile route to return there in the morning.

Despite the length of the rally Jones/Davies dropped just 1.03 and all these penalties were picked up on the opening regularity section. Similarly the runners up and winners of the historic rally Peter Valentine/Michael Valentine cleaned the standard sections and so were just 33 seconds behind the winners at the Finish. Pete Johnson/Andy Berry took third in their Astra, while Mike East/Andy Juniper were fourth in a Peugeot 205.

The organisers had placed a sting in the tail by putting a tricky approach to TC41, only twelve crews got the correct route and avoided a 30 minute penalty for a wrong approach. Toby Adam/Andrew Card, Phil Stroud/Dave Harris and Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford all missed out on top five finishes because of the error. Stroud/Harris had the consolation of being the first Post-Historic crew home in Mark One Escort RS.

Gremlin Rally 200
Historic Winners: Peter Valentine/Michael Valentine (Mini Cooper S)

Welsh Championship leaders Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh were another crew to fall foul of TC41; they also dropped a further three minutes when they picked up a puncture on Abergwesyn. However their eventual thirteenth place was enough for them to retain their series lead.

Jason Stone/Paul Holmberg strengthen their respective championship positions as they were the second registered competitors home in fifth place. Rali Gogledd winners Howard Price/Carl Williamson spent eight minutes searching for the correct way into TC41, their persistence being rewarded with sixth place.

Brynli Thomas/Gareth Price retired their Escort after damaging the propshaft on a heavy landing, while Paul Edward/Nick Bloxham withdrew after damaging the sump on their Maestro.

Ceri Richards/Aled Jones suffered gearbox problems on their Escort from the first run over Epynt to the Finish; they ran with just first, second and fifth for most of the night.

Gremlin Rally 200
Post Historic Winners: Phil Stroud/Dave Harris (Ford Escort RS)

Nick Broadway/Andy Oakes put their Escort Mark Six into a ditch and a similar fate befell the Merecedes 280 SL of Ian Crammond/Peter Ward. Wayne Elliot/Nigel Nelson broke a strut on their Toyota Celica GT4.

The first Semi-Experts home in the modern rally were Len Giles/Tim Jones, while the corresponding category in the historic event was taken by the Volvo PV444 of Wesley Massam/Bernard Northmore.

The two Novice categories were won by Ashley Morris/Michael Hardwick (Modern) and Andi Crellin/Mark Kelly (Historic). The Under 1300cc Award went to the VW Polo of Steve Rogers/Paul Jones, who were fifteenth overall.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gerwyn Jones Ceri Davies Ford Escort 1m 03s
2 Peter Valentine Mick Valentine Mini Cooper S 1m 36s
3 Pete Johnson Andy Berry Vauxhall Astra 3m 44s
4 Mike East Andy Juniper Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 40s
5 Jason Stone Paul Holmberg Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 35s
6 Howard Price Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 12m 09s
7 Peter Horsburgh Graham Carter Mini Cooper S 14m 00s
8 Dick Appleton Andy Gibson Mini Cooper S 21m 26s
9 Peter Baker Lee Vincent Lancia Fulvia 28m 44s
10 Toby Adam Andrew Card Ford Escort 32m 46s
11 Phil Stroud Dave Harris Ford Escort RS 33m 55s
12 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 35m 04s
13 Huw Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 35m 31s
14 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Peugeot 205 GTi 36m 15s
15 Steve Rogers Paul Jones VW Polo GTi 37m 16s
16 Dennis Quinn Rob Richardson Ford Escort 37m 48s
17 Len Giles Tim Jones Ford Escort 44m 24s
18 Jerry Jones Ian Cooke Mini Clubman 46m 09s
19 Robert Wilson Dylan Jenkins Peugeot 205 GTi 47m 20s
20 Chris Smith-Bowen Ian Perry Ford Escort RS2000 48m 11s
21 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort RS2000 50m 27s
22 Ashley Morris Michael Hardwick Peugeot 205 GTi 51m 40s
23 Peter Noad Peter Cox Audi 80 GT 54m 31s
24 Hefin George Dilwyn John Nissan Sunny GTi-R 57m 49s
25 Mark Robinson Steve Roderick Toyota Corolla 58m 00s
26 Wesley Massam Bernard Northmore Volvo PV444 58m 34s
27 Alwyn Arrowsmith Clive Meredith Ford Escort RS1600 1h 04m 41s
28 Chris Jenkins Kevin Chaffey Mini 1h 06m 21s
29 Islwyn Watkins Cliff Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 1h 10m 07s
30 Garry Preston Mike Sones Mini 1275 GT 1h 15m 03s
31 Paul Webb Paul Morris Vauxhall Astra 1h 15m 20s
32 Christine Prynne Doody Farmer Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 22m 50s
33 Alun Probert Martyn Evans Ford Sierra 1h 25m 57s
34 Alan Lewis Huw Davies Nissan Micra 1h 45m 54s
35 Wayne Palmer Martin Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 56m 46s
36 Mark Williams Nathan Parry Peugeot 205 GTi 2h 00m 04s
37 Paul Tod Erik West VW Golf GTi 2h 13m 52s
38 Darren Morris Alec Morris Ford Escort 2h 21m 27s
39 David Jones Glyn Price Peugeot 205 GTi 2h 22m 52s
40 Alun Davies Anthony Davies Ford Sierra 2h 33m 45s
41 Mike Morgan Justin Davies Suzuki Swift GTi 2h 36m 41s
42 Keith Wilson Dave Cooper Volvo PV544 2h 47m 39s
43 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra GTE 2h 52m 58s
44 John Larkin David Holms Mini Cooper S 2h 55m 09s
45 Geoff Rogers David York Sunbeam Rapier 3h 26m 08s
46 Lee Heywood Mark Hamilton Ford Escort 3h 29m 14s
47 Nathan Watkins Colin Crocket Peugeot 309 3h 41m 37s
48 Jonathan Harrison Jonathan Jones Toyota Starlet 4h 02m 35s
49 Tony Brooks Ian Young Saab Sonnett V4 4h 25m 48s
50 David Wilmer Mark Powell Ford Escort RS1600 4h 46m 26s
51 Brian Cope Colin Francis Mini Cooper S 6h 08m 07s
52 Steve Powell Dan Holley Austin Healey Sprite 11h 09m 02s
53 Neol Hughes Gwawr Hughes Saab 96 V4 11h 17m 42s
54 Andi Crellin Mark Kelly Volvo PV544 11h 33m 36s
55 Allan Alford Ted Williams Ford Fiesta 16h 23m 56s