rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Gremlin Rally 2003

Sponsored by Old Forge Garage

Brecon Motor Club

1st/2nd March 2003

Clerk of the Course: Denis Cardell & Ken Owen

Route: 200 Miles

Maps: 146 147 160 & 161

Starters: 102

Winners: Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies (Ford Escort)

Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies once again dominated a road rally over the Epynt Ranges when they won the Gremlin Rally.

Gremlin Rally 2003

The Brecon MC rally, Round Three of the Welsh Road Rally Championship, was split into four parts; an opening Jogularity section, followed by a double loop of Epynt, then a traditional road rally section to the west of Llandovery, before a final visit to the Ranges.

Jones/Davies demolished the opposition by dropping just forty seconds on the Jogularity and then cleaning the rest of the event. Despite lighting problems with their Escort, they came home almost eight minutes clear of the field.

At first petrol, after the first tour of Epynt, the chase was led by Paul Webb/Paul Morris with Jamie Turner/Graham Raeburn and Martin Leonard/Phil Jones close behind. By the Finish these positions were reversed. Webb/Morris lost four minutes with a wrong slot, while Turner/Raeburn suffered a severe misfire and a puncture in their Metro.

Marc James/Anthony Davies, who were a late entry, finished in fifth, although a worrying vibration, that suggested a failed shaft on their Sierra XR4x4, caused concerned over the latter part of the rally.

The Gremlin was in fact two rallies, a modern and an historic running together. The historic rally was won by the Mini of Worth Birkhill/Dave Harris, who were classified sixth in the overall standings. They were one of a number of crews who reported having wrong slotted and got stuck. This incident, on the first loop of Epynt, cost them twelve minutes. They also picked up a rear wheel puncture in the forestry on the second loop of the ranges, but they kept going and didn't lose any time.

Seventh place was taken by Pete Johnson/Rob Watson (Vauxhall Astra), who had spent six minutes looking for the entrance to the car park near Dixies.

Rali Bro Ddyfi winners, Garry Preston/Mike Sones, took their Mini to eighth, one place in front of the Cooper S of Dick Appleton/Richard Dix, who lost ten minutes with a wrong slot on the Jogularity section.

It was the third disasterous rally in a row for Dennis Quinn/Pat Gadsby (Ford Escort). The pair wrong slotted, got stuck and took 30 minutes to regain the tarmac - they retired. Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Carl Williamson went out in spectactular fashion, rolling their Escort near Dixies on the first visit to Epynt.

Gremlin Rally 2003
Winners: Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies (Ford Escort)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Roger Hunt/Graham Dance retired their Peugeot 205 with a broken steering rack on the opening section. This was further than Carpet Bagger winners Terry Pickering/Paul Robinson achieved; their Triumph TR3 blew its diff in the Start car park.

Gavin Braddick/Chris Hill (Vauxhall Belmont) were heading for fourth overall when they collected a wrong approach at the final competitve timing point. They dropped to 16th overall. Chris Smith-Bowen/Nigel Nelson (Ford Escort) ended two places further back after having lost 15 minutes when they went off on the Burma Road.

Gary Jones/Andy Oakes also collected a wrong approach, theirs was on the opening Jogularity. Later they lost their maps after they blew out of the car when the door was opened. They trailed home in 48th place.

One place in front of Jones/Oakes were Wes Massam/Bernard Northmore; they had overshot a slot and then got stuck while turning their Volvo Amazon around.

The last car away Martin Astley/Simon Mills were competing on only their second rally. They spent some time in a ditch on the road section west of Llandovery, but were pulled out by the Escort of James Swan/Dean Flowers, who had earlier spent 15 minutes in a similar situation.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gerwyn Jones Ceri Davies Ford Escort 0m 40s
2 Martin Leonard Phil Jones VW Golf 8m 06s
3 Jamie Turner Graham Raeburn Rover Metro 13m 49s
4 Paul Webb Paul Morris Vauxhall Astra 16m 30s
5 Marc James Anthony Davies Ford Sierra XR4x4 22m 09s
6 Worth Birkhill Dave Harris Mini 1275GT 24m 32s
7 Pete Johnson Rob Watson Vauxhall Astra 24m 41s
8 Garry Preston Mike Sones Mini 1275GT 30m 22s
9 Dick Appleton Richard Dix Mini Cooper S 30m 51s
10 Chris Hunt-Cooke Nigel Raeburn MG B 33m 32s
11 Robert Wilson Dylan Jenkins Peugeot 205 36m 30s
12 Grant Parker Ian Cooke Toyota Corolla 37m 33s
13 Andy Sheppard Justin Brooke Vauxhall Astra 38m 55s
14 James Chappelle Peter Chappelle Mini 1275GT 39m 52s
15 Steve Powell Lee Vincent Ford Escort 43m 52s
16 Gavin Braddick Chris Hill Vauxhall Belmont 46m 20s
17 David Jones Glyn Price Peugeot 205 46m 22s
18 Chris Smith-Bowen Nigel Nelson Ford Escort 49m 52s
19 Peter Horsburgh Graham Carter Mini Cooper S 50m 57s
20 Hefin George Dilwyn John VW Golf 56m 56s
21 Peter Noad Dave Kirkham Audi 80 GT 51m 40s
22 Islwyn Watkins Alun Probert Vauxhall Astra 58m 20s
23 Garry Jenkins Eric Tong Peugeot 205 60m 52s
24 Chris Jenkins Steve Durbin Mini 65m 17s
25 Stephen Wood Wyn Lewis Vauxhall Astra 70m 10s
26 Brian Thomas Huw Mathias Ford Fiesta 70m 15s
27 Dave Keen Andy Berry Ford Cortina 70m 22s
28 Martin Perris Dean Davies Vauxhall 77m 15s
29 Ben Meakin Ian Meakin Saab 96 77m 48s
30 Owen Turner Andrew Dadswell Hillman Imp 83m 31s
31 David Wilmer David Powell Ford Escort 83m 39s
32 Steve Reed Dave Williams Saab 97m 22s
33 Andrew Lewis Tim Samuel Peugeot 205 GTi 98m 14s
34 Mike Maybne Alun Thomas Mini Cooper S 111m 03s
35 Scott Jonas Chris Perry Ford Escort 119m 53s
36 Darren Leeson Ian Hewlett Ford Escort 130m 18s
37 Tony Brooks Shon Gosling Saab Sonett 141m 39s
38 Allan Alford Ted Williams Ford Fiesta 148m 38s
39 Daniel Curtis Christopher Shapland Vauxhall 150m 13s
40 Malcolm Thorne Richard Barnes Ford Escort 153m 27s
41 Robert McClean Susan McClean Rover P4 100 220m 19s
42 Martin Astley Simon Mills MGB 313m 03s
43 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort RS2000 383m 30s
44 David Bennett David Cox Ford Escort 389m 11s
45 Len Smith David Sanderson Mini Cooper S 418m 26s
46 Andrew Gregory Huw Davies Nissan 449m 04s
47 Wesley Massam Bernard Northmore Volvo PV444 472m 49s
48 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 535m 32s
49 Richard White Richard Scott Austin Healey 550m 20s
50 Len Giles Tim Jones Ford Escort 1098m 00s