rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Hall Trophy Road Rally 2003

Clitheroe & District Motor Club

6th/7th September 2003

Clerk of the Course: Simon Daly

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 98 & 103

Starters: 44

Winners: Steve Head/Graham Raeburn (Vauxhall Nova)

Taking the fastest times over the two sections timed to the second ensured that Steve Head/Graham Raeburn secured victory on the Hall Trophy.

The Clitheroe & District MC event, a counter towards the ANWCC and ANCC Championships, saw 40 crews tackle a 150 mile route.

Navigation was by the London Map system. Four pages of numbered map references were included with the Final Instructions. Navigators had to plot all of these and, at the start of each section, a hand out gave details of which map references were included in that section and which were time controls, route checks, black spots, gave ways etc.

Unfortunately the rally descended into confusion as both of the course cars broke down and, as they were carrying the route hand outs, crews were left guessing where they should be heading. A number withdrew at this point, these included Sandie Taylor/Paul Taylor (Peugeot 205 GTi) and Andy Whittaker/Chris Pringle (Peugeot 205 GTi). The problems were eventually resolved and the second half of the event was saved.

Head/Raeburn, who were making their debut in the newly acquired ex-Tim Tordoff Nova, were the only crew to clean the opening section through Gisburn Forest, they in fact arrived three seconds early and picked up six seconds penalty. They were also fastest on the section over Arncliffe and Langcliffe to seal their win.

The Gisburn Forest section was retained in the results despite there being no route hand out at the start and none of the promised arrows to follow.

Chris Astley/Ric Chalmers took second despite a steering rack problem on their Escort, while Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie, finishing just four seconds behind, gained valuable championship points by finishing third. Mark Whitford/Steve Porter had been second fastest through Gisburn but a problematic second time card saw them drop to seventh at the Finish.

It was a good night for the Raeburn family as not only did Graham take the overall win of the main event but father Nigel navigated Andy Nash to victory in the historic event that ran over the same route. Nash/Raeburn were competing in a Sunbeam Tiger and were well clear of Colin Wallace/Craig Wallace who finished second in a Saab V6.

John Ross/Oliver Ross took the Semi-Expert class in their Subaru, finishing sixteenth overall, although the leading Novice crew, Colin Lawson/Mark Binney, were one place higher at the Finish. The only survivors of the Clubmans rally were Neil McCarty/Paul Whittaker, who were competing in a BMW.

Malcolm Holdsworth finished in fourth, a result that moved him from third to first in the ANCC Drivers' Table. His third placed finish maintained Iain Tullie with a healthy lead in the Navigators' Championship.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Steve Head Graham Raeburn Vauxhall Nova 18m 07s
2 Chris Astley Ric Chalmers Ford Escort 18m 51s
3 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 18m 55s
4 Malcolm Holdworth Richard Holdworth Toyota Corolla 20m 08s
5 Terry May Paul Coombes Peugeot 309 GTi 20m 58s
6 Nigel Wright Andrew Hughes Toyota Corolla 21m 30s
7 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort 21m 42s
8 Andy Beaumont Mike Petch Proton Satria 21m 54s
9 Stan Featherstone Mike Ogram Ford Sierra 23m 38s
10 Malcolm Grisdale Bob Hargreaves Subaru RX Coupe 24m 19s
11 Steven Price Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla 24m 49s
12 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 31m 51s
13 Brynli Thomas Steve Herbert Peugeot 205 GTi 32m 25s
14 Bill Chadwick Alan Edwards Peugeot 309 GTi 32m 30s
15 Colin Lawson Mark Binney Citroen ZX 32m 42s
16 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 32m 53s
17 Mick Monaghan Owen Dodd Peugeot 309 GTi 38m 26s
18 Mike Cartwright Steve Warrington Vauxhall Astra 40m 35s
19 Jonathan Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 GTi 44m 15s
20 Damian Whittle Irvine Holtom Peugeot 205 GTi 47m 24s
21 Derek Fielding Andy Rawcliffe Vauxhall Astra 1F 35m 38s
22 Michael Judson Derek Lewin Vauxhall Astra GSi 6F 76m 19s
Historic Rally
1 Andy Nash Nigel Raeburn Sunbeam Tiger 1F 78m 43s
2 Colin Wallace Craig Wallace Saab 96 V4 4F 150m 58s
3 Jon Wood Steve Entwhistle Mini Cooper S 6F 146m 48s
4 Ian Knowles Geoff Crabtree Ford Escort 9F 90m 59s
Clubman Rally
1 Neil McCarty Paul Whittaker BMW 3F 174m 49s