rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

The Harry & The Ivy Clubman Rally

Kirkby Lonsdale Motor Club

23rd/24th November 2002

Clerk of the Course: Bob Milloy

Route: 98 Miles

Maps: 96 & 97

Starters: 27

Winners: Peter Gorst/Derek Bateson (Vauxhall Nova GTE)

Peter Gorst/Derek Bateson were declared the winners of The Harry and The Ivy Clubmans Rally after tying on penalties with Paul Schatz/Jerry Hettrick. The Kirby Lonsdale MC organised event used a 98 mile route, which took crews in a roughly clockwise loop around the rally’s base at Kendal. The event, named after the Club President and his wife, was aimed at novice crews.

Gorst/Bateson and Schatz/Hettrick both finished the event clear of any penalties but the victory was awarded to the former crew as Schatz/Hettricks were Masters and were therefore not eligible for the overall award.

Steve Entwhistle/Jeff Smith and Ian Knowles/Neil Harrison also finished without any time penalties, but both had missed a Code Board each and were therefore awarded a fail a piece. The two crews were divided on the furthest clean rule and as Knowles/Harrison had missed their board on an early section, third place went to Entwhistle/Smith.

Jonathan Brass/Tom Wilcox, winners of the Novice Class on the Westmorland Rally, finished fifth in their Nissan Sunny to repeat their class winning performance. Second in class went to Mark Binnie/Colin Lawson, who finished in seventh place.

Jeff Hall/Paul Bosdet were another crew with a clean sheet at the halfway point of the rally, however they failed to make the finish after the steering arm broke on their Mini Cooper. Paul Whitelock/Jake Carlin were also going well, having dropped nine minutes but being clear of fails, they were forced out when the navigator became ill.

Of the twenty-seven starters only thirteen made it to the Finish. Among the retirements were Glenn Fothergill/Steve Head, who planted their Nova in a wall.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Peter Gorst Derek Bateson Vauxhall Nova GTE 00m 00s
2 Paul Schatz Jerry Hettrick Citroen ZX 00m 00s
3 Steve Entwhistle Jeff Smith Mini Cooper S 1F 00m 00s
4 Ian Knowles Neil Harrison Ford Escort Mexico 1F 00m 00s
5 Jonathan Brass Tom Wilcox Nissan Sunny 1F 02m 00s
6 John Livemore Paul Mount Toyota Corolla 2F 10m 00s
7 Mark Binnie Colin Lawson Peugeot 309 GTi 3F 05m 00s
8 Shaun Holly Keith Knowland Triumph TR4 4F 17m 00s
9 John Wood David Mallin Mini Cooper S 5F 27m 00s
10 Andrew Tolson David Wilmott Vauxhall Chevette 6F 26m 00s