rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Holrus '98 Road Rally

Newtown & District Auto Club

29th/30th November 1998

Clerk of the Course: Graham Evans & Mark Hill

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 136

Starters: 66

Winners: Phil Turner/Owen Dodd (Talbot Sunbeam)

Phil Turner and Owen Dodd renewed their highly successful partnership and took victory on Newtown AC's Holrus Rally.

Holrus '98 Road Rally

The event was the final round of both the Welsh and West Midlands Road Rally Championships and was run in treacherous conditions after a heavy frost took hold of Mid-Wales from early evening. The 66 starters faced a compact 120 mile route which took advantage of the maze of lanes in the eastern half of Map 136.

Turner/Dodd overcame a number of minor difficulties, including filling up with deisil at the petrol halt, and ended the rally with a winning margin of 21 seconds over Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson.

This second place securing Quinn/Thomson the Welsh title, as their nearest rivals, Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas could only finish ninth after going off the road and losing seven minutes in the first half.

Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart finished third to continue their run of excellent results, while Richie Lewis/Richard Preece were fourth after stopping to help extricate Davies/Gluyas from their early problems.

For two crews it was a case of what might have been. On outright speed Huw James/Patrick Walsh and Graham Evans/Ian Mills would have finished first and second, but both booked in early at controls on the second section and the resultant fails dropped them well down the finishing order.

The icy conditions caused a collision between Cyril Crook/Chris Ware's Sunbeam and the Escort of Wyn Owens/Hefin Owens, putting the Sunbeam out of the event; the Escort cut route and crawled to the Finish in last place. They were joined on the retirement list by the Escorts of Toby Adams/Pat Gadsby and Michael Pedley/David Pedley, both of whom fell victim to a ford early in the rally.

Local crew Chris Bolver/Denny Harris fought off a determined challenge from Mark Price/Roger Evans to take the Semi-Expert class in their venerable Anglia. While Steve Rogers/Paul Jones took the honours in the Novice category.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Phil Turner Owen Dodd Talbot Samba 8m 00s
2 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 8m 21s
3 Andy Sheppard Mike Hart Ford Escort 8m 30s
4 Richie Lewis Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 10m 09s
5 Kev Nunns Neil Spiers Toyota Corolla 12m 54s
6 Pete Cotton Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 14m 45s
7 Gary Jones Gwyn Williams Toyota Corolla 16m 35s
8 Peter Zjalic Phil Pugh Toyota Corolla 16m 36s
9 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 17m 07s
10 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 17m 46s
11 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 17m 56s
12 Chris Painter Steve Quine Vauxhall Nova 23m 07s
13 Adrian Thompson Sean Caddick Ford Escort 24m 00s
14 Adrian Higman Cyril Jones Talbot Sunbeam 24m 51s
15 Chris Wilson Roger Fildes Vauxhall Astra GTE 25m 28s
16 Andrew Davies Ieuan Thomas Toyota Corolla 25m 46s
17 Chris Bolver Denny Harris Ford Anglia 26m 25s
18 Mark Price Roger Evans Ford EScort 27m 15s
19 Martin Evans Ceri Davies Nissan Micra 33m 37s
20 Dyfed Pritchard Tecwyn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 34m 31s
21 Stuart Thomas Mark Kehrein Peugeot 309 GTi 36m 31s
22 Martin Bradley Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 37m 08s
23 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 GTi 38m 48s
24 Polly Duncan Pinnegar Peugeot 205 GTi 45m 11s
25 Nicholas Yates Simon Yates Ford Escort 46m 00s
26 John Jones Brian Jenkins Renault 11 Turbo 48m 10s
27 Martin Healer Martin White Peugeot 205 GTi 59m 42s
28 Ian Elias Paul Black Ford Escort 80m 39s
29 Huw James Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 1F 6m 35s
30 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 1F 7m 00s
31 Dave Stephens Andy Moss Ford Escort 1F 20m 25s
32 John Morris Chris Flavell Renault 11 Turbo 1F 34m 18s
33 Selwyn Jones Wayne Lewis Ford Escort 2F 26m 00s
34 Glyn Price Huw Jones Ford Escort 2F 27m 37s
35 Steve Rogers Paul Jones Rover Mini 3F 49m 47s
36 Howard Dray Martin Jones Vauxhall Astra 4F 65m 00s
37 Mark Griffiths Steve Fletcher Ford Escort 5F 30m 26s
38 Ian Taylor Huw Mathias Vauxhall Cavalier 5F 53m 19s
39 Jimmy Paterson Martin Jones Subaru RX Turbo 7F 43m 21s
40 Brandon Smith Steve Herbert Audi 80 7F 62m 36s
41 Dewi Williams Eilir Jones Vauxhall Nova 8F 75m 50s
42 Derek Douncey Brendon Bailey Peugeot 205 9F 67m 20s
43 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Mini 1275GT 14F 59m 23s
44 Paul Cakebread TBA TBA 16F 61m 31s
45 Gareth Davies Andrew Davies Vauxhall Chevette 19F 66m 28s
46 Mark Ricks Richard Schofield Ford Escort 30F 61m 52s
47 Meredith Roberts Mark Lloyd Vauxhall Cavalier 33F 31m 25s
48 Adrian Coundley Paul Hudpeth Ford Escort 33F 59m 29s
49 Wyn Owens Hefin Owens Ford Escort 34F 21m 27s