rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Holrus Road Rally 2003

Sponsored by Nigel Pugh Motor Engineering

Newtown & District Auto Club

22nd/23rd November 2003

Clerk of the Course: Wayne Jones

Route: 100 Miles

Venue: Epynt

Starters: 74

Winners: Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies (Ford Escort)

Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies took their second successive win on Newtown & District AC’s Holrus Rally, however it was a much closer contest for the newly crowned Welsh Champions than their 2002 victory.

Holrus Road Rally 2003
Winners: Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies (Ford Escort)

The event’s 90 mile route consisted of two loops of the Epynt Ranges, with all competitive sections being on military land.

Despite suffering from fading brakes Martin Leonard/Stuart Cardell arrived at the halfway halt with a slender fifteen second lead, however Jones/Davies managed to overhaul them in the second half to finish with a winning margin of thirty seconds.

These two crews were well clear of third place Andy Sheppard/Justin Brooks, who were five minutes behind.

The Holrus was the penultimate round of the North Western Championship. The navigator’s crown had already been secured by Iain Tullie, however his regular driver Carl Hakwins was still battling for the drivers’ title with Brynli Thomas. Hawkins/Tullie finished the event in fourth, but a storming drive in the second half saw Thomas, who had Patrick Walsh on the maps, secure sixth place. This result meant that Thomas could still deny Hawkins the title if he won the final round, the CSMA Rally.

David Jones/Glyn Price won the Semi-Expert class, finishing in seventeenth place overall, while the leading Novices, Justin Bishop/Simon Edwards, finished in thirty-third place.

Top BTRDA 1400 series contender Ian Evans, navigated by Alun Probert, entered the event in a Vauxhall Astra and finished in ninth place.

A puncture cost Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins (Vauxhall Astra GTE) time and they finished in twelfth place.

A capacity 75 cars started the event but only 47 made it through the fog and slippery conditions to the Finish. Among those that didn't make it were: Adrian Hodgson/Chris Lightburn (Renault 18 - Off at Edmonds Bend); Geraint Jones/Edryd Evans (Vauxhall Nova - alternator); Kevin Price/Jane Price (Vauxhall Nova - alternator); Simon Cottrell/Jez Harris (Ford Escort - mal de nav); Shane Swindells/James Savage (Peugeot 205 GTi - broken shaft) and Ben Corbett/Marcus Watmough (Hillman Avenger - hit tree).

Martyn Evans/Brian Jones (Nissan Micra) overshot a hairpin onto Mabion Way, got stuck and went OTL. Dewi John/Gwawr Hughes (Peugeot 205 GTi) wrong slotted in Halfway Forest and also got stuck.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gerwyn Jones Ceri Davies Ford Escort 4m 44s
2 Martin Leonard Stuart Cardell VW Golf GTi 5m 15s
3 Andy Sheppard Justin Brooks Vauxhall Astra 10m 02s
4 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 11m 59s
5 John Davies Neil Bevan Vauxhall Nova 14m 36s
6 Brynli Thomas Patrick Walsh Vauxhall Astra GTE 14m 55s
7 Phil Turner Iwan Jones Ford Escort RS2000 15m 30s
8 Toby Adam Byron Jones Ford Sierra 15m 56s
9 Ian Evans Alun Probert Vauxhall Astra 16m 51s
10 Mark Appleton Anthony Preston Peugeot 106 Rallye 17m 54s
11 Garry Jenkins Eric Tong Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 30s
12 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra 19m 34s
13 Alyson Acreman Matthew Maidment Honda Civic 20m 19s
14 John 'Mk1' Thomas Anthony Davies Ford Escort 20m 28s
15 Craig Judd Ian Cooke Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 34s
16 Daniel 'Lwni' Jones Daniel Maclachlan Ford Escort 20m 45s
17 David Jones Glyn Price Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 21s
18 Owen Turner Andrew Dadswell Rover Metro 22m 26s
19 Mark Lloyd Daniel Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 50s
20 Gary Jones Mark 'ATFF' Robinson Ford Escort 24m 25s
21 Carwyn Evans Mark Andrew Vauxhall Astra GTE 25m 18s
22 Dan Holley Bernard Hill Ford Escort RS 28m 25s
23 Bryan Davies Huw Mathias Vauxhall Nova 28m 54s
24 Jamie Turner Graham Raeburn Rover Metro 29m 49s
25 Paul Jenkins Bryan Thomas Ford Escort 30m 01s
26 Martin Perris Dean Davies Vauxhall Astra 32m 23s
27 David Wilmer Mark Powell Ford Escort 32m 55s
28 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 34m 43s
29 Wayne James Jenny James Peugeot 205 GTi 36m 22s
30 Roger Powley Jon Smith Toyota Corolla 40m 04s
31 Richard James Chris Wheeler Vauxhall Astra GTE 41m 12s
32 Richard Atherton Adrian Gladwin MG Maestro 50m 41s
33 Justin Bishop Simon Edwards Peugeot 205 53m 11s
34 Mark Hutton Robin Moses Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 04m 58s
35 Simon Mackay Tim Jones Ford Escort 1h 06m 04s
36 Peter Williams Lee Curtis Ford Escort 1300E 1h 15m 29s
37 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 1F 25m 58s
38 Doug Bowkett Cliff Jones Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 26m 17s
39 Gareth Reed David Bradley Peugeot 205 1F 50m 38s
40 Dave Howells James Morgan Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 1h 04m 39s
41 Malcolm Thorne Mark Lampert Ford Escort Mexico 1F 1h 07m 34s
42 Tim Evans Kate Jones Nissan Micra 3F 35m 08s
43 Richard Jones Chris Rooney VW Golf 3F 55m 00s
44 Richard Jerman Guy Skewis Ford Escort 3F 57m 27s
45 Allan Alford Ted Williams Peugeot 205 3F 1h 21m 25s
46 Anthony Gluyas Richard Preece Peugeot 205 GTi 4F 24m 01s
47 Andrew Dorset Carl Darby Peugeot 205 XS 4F 1h 03m 42s