rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Ilfracombe Rally 2002

North Devon Motor Club

7th/8th December 2002

Clerk of the Course: Derek Drayton

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 180 & 181

Starters: 44

Winners: Phil Kendall/Andy Coshan (Peugeot 309 GTi)

Phil Kendall/Andy Coshan took their first ever overall rally win on the Ilfracombe Rally.

The North Devon MC road rally was in fact two events, a modern and an historic. However the two rallies used the same route and navigation instructions for the Masters and Experts were the same. The novices in both events used a pre-plot format.

Forty four crews tackled a 130 mile route in the tight and slippery lanes around Exmoor and Barnstaple.

Kendall/Coshan were in a class of their own all night, dropping only one minute, after just missing to make their minute at one control. They were eleven minutes clear of their nearesr rivals in the modern event, the Peugeot 205 of Rob Dance/Graham Dance.

Ian Orford/Bob Jones and Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard both picked up ten minute penalties for missed code boards. The results meant that Dixon took the driver’s title in the South Western Championship, however Peter Barnard just failed to stop Sheldon Ware topping the navigators’ series.

Ilfracombe Rally 2002
Historic Winners: David Hughes/Richard Dix (Volvo Amazon)

The Novice Class was won by the Ford Escort of Scott Jonas/Chris Perry, while Clive Anstey/Verity Anstey were second and claimed the South Western Novices title.

Dave Hughes/Richard Dix pedalled their Volvo Amazon around the narrow lanes to take the win in the Historic Rally. They were two minutes clear of the Morris Mini of Worth Birkhill/David Harris. One minute further back, Terry Pickering/Paul Robinson won the pre-1960 class in their Triumph TR3. The Historic Novice event was won by the Volvo PV544 of Andy Crellin/Mark Kelly.

Geoff Twigg/Graham Carter had a short rally after their Mini Cooper S broke a half shaft at TC1.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Phil Kendall Andy Coshan Peugeot 309 GTi 1m 00s
2 Rob Dance Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 00s
3 Scott Jonas Chris Perry Ford Escort 13m 00s
4 Ian Orford Bob Jones Mazad 323 17m 00s
5 Clive Anstey Verity Anstey Vauxhall Nova 19m 00s
6 Darren Dixon Peter Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 00s


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Dave Hughes Richard Dix Volvo Amazon 9m 00s
2 Worth Birkhill Dave Harris Mini Cooper S 11m 00s
3 Terry Pickering Paul Robinson Triumph TR3 12m 00s
4 Dick Appleton Robin Maclachlan Mini Cooper S 21m 00s
5 Keith Colman Dave Wilson Sunbeam Alpine 22m 00s
6 Peter Noad Dave Kirkham Audi 80 GT 28m 00s
7 Peter Baker Andy Gibson Lancia Fulvia HF 41m 00s
8 Damon Green Shon Gosling Volvo Amazon 43m 00s
9 Brian Cope Bob Duck Mini Cooper S 44m 00s
10 Paul Heal Matthew Heal MGB GT 48m 00s
11 Andi Crellin Mark Kelly Volvo PV544 50m 00s
12 Wes Massam Bernard Northmore Volvo PV544 68m 00s
13 Chris Jenkins Kevinb Chaffey Austin Mini 70m 00s
14 Peter Pratt Julie Eaglen Triumph TR2 72m 00s
15 Tony Brooks Ian Young Saab Sonett 325m 00s