rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

JD Romain Novice Rally 2002

Sponsored by Maesdolau Caravans of Llandudno

Rhyl & District Motor Club

21st/22nd September 2002

Clerk of the Course: Heath Griffiths

Route: 80 Miles

Maps: 116

Starters: 60

Winners: Stuart Kelso/Joe Wood (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Stuart Kelso/Joe Wood were declared the overall winners of the J D Romain Novice Rally. The event was named in honour of Jack Romain, a club stalwart and the North Wales Rally Liaison Officer.

Rhyl & District Motor Club organised the closed-to-club event as an introduction to the sport for new competitors. There was a straightforward 80 mile route in the Denbigh/St Asaph area and crews were given two hours to plot the route prior to the start. There were also numerous experienced competitors among the marshals to assist anyone with problems.

The rally was open to Semi Expert crews, but they were not eligible for overall awards. The battle for overall honours was between the Novice and Beginner competitors.

The organisers were rewarded with a full 60 car entry, 25 of whom hadn't competed on a rally before. 41 crews completed event. The only retirement amongst the leading runners was that of Ken Rowland/Chris Jones, whose Ford EScort succumbed to overheating problems.

An impressive performance from Kelso/Wood meant that they were not only the leading Novice crew by more than two minutes but the second fastest crew of the night. They were only beaten by the Semi-Expert pairing of Nick Banks/Reg Gradden. Second overall went to Steve Herbert/Shaun Hardy, who swapped their usual roles for the event.

The Standard Production Award was won by the Nova of Chris Rowlands/Dave Evans.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Stuart Kelso Joe Wood Peugeot 205 GTi 1m 53s
2 Steve Herbert Shaun Hardy MG Maestro 4m 04s
3 Mark Jones Mike Jones Ford Escort 6m 27s
4 Steven Williams Geoff Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 59s
5 John Lyndsay Vicky Johnson Mini 1275 25m 40s
6 Arwel Williams Thomas Edwards Ford Escort 1F 06m 57s
7 Steve Mez Ade Green Ford Escort 1F 08m 07s
8 Ian Russell Drayton Derek Drayton Honda Civic 1F 10m 47s
9 Geraint Jones Gareth Jones Vauxhall Nova 1F 13m 31s
10 Ian Williams Paul Price Vauxhall Astra 1F 13m 43s
11 Eilir Jones Dewi Williams VW Scrirocco 1F 16m 21s
12 Eifion Jones Hugh Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 23m 40s
13 Alun Hayward Mark Thomas Vauxhall Nova 1F 23m 56s
14 Ian Evans Ian Lewis Toyota Corolla 1F 27m 45s
15 Berwyn Roberts Richard Jackson Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 48m 54s
16 Gwyn Morris Mike Davies Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 5m 18s
17 Alan Roberts Paul Jones Ford Escort 2F 12m 16s
18 David O'Reagan Darren White Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 15m 12s
19 Jonathan Morris Craig Smith Peugeot 205 3F 17m 56s
20 Christopher Rodgers Martin Jones Rover 216 GTi 3F 34m 27s
21 Adam Clewes Dave Skinner Peugeot 205 GTi 4F 21m 25s
22 Aubrey Gower Tony Roberts Peugeot 205 4F 41m 28s
23 Aled Gwyn Charles Dafydd Ellis Vauxhall Astra 5F 31m 28s
24 Doug Pointer Paul Pointer Ford Sierra Ghia 6F 27m 25s
25 Christopher Glyn Lloyd Kenneth Lewis Peugeot 205 GTi 7F 16m 25s
26 Simon Davies Kyle Newell Vauxhall Nova SR 7F 1h 39m 45s
27 Stephen Timwell Neil Peers Vauxhall Nova SR 8F 21m 35s
Semi Experts
1 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen ZX 1m 43s
2 Gareth Jones Iwan Jones Vauxhall Astra SRi 3m 50s
3 Peter Gill Andrew Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 33s
4 Tracey Bolton Gary Roberts Ford Escort XR3i 8m 00s
5 Ped Jones Shaun Baker Ford Sierra 8m 11s
6 Medwyn Jones Brian Stubbs Talbot Sunbeam 9m 00s
7 Endaf Wilson Barry Griffiths Peugeot 205 10m 44s
8 Peter Feucht Elwyn Pritchard Lada Riva 11m 46s
9 Lee Rainford Ian Clapham Ford Sierra 18m 30s
10 Chris Rowlands Dave Evans Vauxhall Nova 1F 4m 26s
11 Bob Gush Kevin Warlow Vauxhall Astra SRi 1F 6m 18s
12 Kevin Price Roger Harris Vauxhall Nova GTE 1F 10m 59s
13 Dave Edwards Tim Gill Ford Escort 2F 7m 38s
14 Keith Gush Stuart Gush Vauxhall Nova GTE 2F 43m 37s
15 Gareth Edwards David Jones Ford Escort 2F 49m 48s
16 John Broadhurst Gareth Williams Ford Escort 3F 9m 36s