rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

JD Romain Novice Rally 2003

Sponsored by Maesdolau Caravans of Llandudno

Rhyl & District Motor Club

4th/5th October 2003

Clerk of the Course: Heath Griffiths

Route: 90 Miles

Maps: 116 & 117

Starters: 60

Winners: Peter Dale/Andrew Dale (Vauxhall Nova)

The father and son pairing of Peter and Andrew Dale were the clear winners of Rhyl & District MC’s highly popular J. D. Romain Novice Rally.

The rally used a 90 mile route in the St Asaph/Denbigh area and, despite not being open to Expert crews, attracted a maximum entry of sixty cars.

As it was a novice rally, Semi-Experts weren’t eligible for overall awards however this rule became irrelevant as far as first place went, with the novice pairing of Dale/Dale storming through to take the win, fifteen second ahead of any other competitor.

Adam Clews/Dave Skinner had led at the halfway halt but lost out in the second half to finish second.

Kevin Price/Phillip Ralphs won the Semi-Expert class. They’d lost time on an early section when they became stuck after catching the car in front, fortunately for them their inadvertent blocking of the route meant that penalties were scrubbed for that section.

Chris Rowlands/Alan Pemberton had been the fastest crew around the first half but a slower second half saw them drop to fourth at the Finish, however they did take the Standard Production award in their unusual Suzuki Baleno.

Mei Jones/Eifion Wyn Thomas had been the fastest crew over the single section timed to the second, but a number of timing errors saw them pick up three fails and finish well down the order.

Top seeds John Madoc-Jones/Bob Hopewell picked up a puncture on an early section and found they couldn’t continue on their Impreza's space saver spare.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Pete Dale Andrew Dale Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 50s
2 Adam Clews Dave Skinner Peugeot 106 Rallye 6m 41s
3 Mark Davies Simon Cartwright Vauxhall Astra 7m 58s
4 Tegid Evans Frank Steele-Mortimer Vauxhall Nova SR 12m 39s
5 Daniel Coop Philip Kendall Peugeot 205 GTi 18m 00s
6 Arwel Thomas Ianto Jones Vauxhall Nova 19m 25s
7 Toni Proffitt Sam DeGregory Ford Escort 19m 34s
8 Sheila Reynolds-Jones Gwyn Reynolds-Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 57s
9 Gwyn Davies Nigel Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 21m 39s
10 Tim Brodie Ian Jones Vauxhall Astra 22m 50s
11 Jonathan Morris Craig Smith Peugeot 205 GTi 23m 03s
12 Gerallt Williams Gareth Owen Ford Escort 28m 35s
13 Sean Brownridge Glyn John Bargate Ford Escort 34m 30s
14 John Williams Lee Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 14m 03s
15 Steve Timewell Neil Peers Vauxhall Nova GSi 1F 22m 24s
16 TBA Stephen Edwards Ford Escort 1F 44m 07s
17 Philip Rock Philip Drew Ford Escort XR3i 2F 33m 05s
18 Simon Roberts David Anderson Vauxhall Astra GSi 2F 33m 30s
19 Aled Gwyn Charles Dafydd Samuel Elis Vauxhall Astra 3F 23m 49s
20 Chris Rogers Martin Jones Rover 216 GTi 5F 21m 47s
21 Gareth Jones Geraint Jones Vauxhall Corsa 5F 40m 24s
22 Emyr Stephen Gruff Parry Ford Escort XR3 6F 25m 40s
23 John Lee Rowlands Lee John Hampshire Vauxhall Astra 16v 10F 41m 52s
Semi Experts
1 Kevin Price Phil Ralphs Vauxhall Nova GTE 5m 05s
2 David Ricketts Richard Jones Toyota Corolla 6m 34s
3 Arwel Williams Thomas Edwards Vauxhall Astra GTE 6m 53s
4 Chris Rowlands Alan Pemberton Suzuki Baleno 7m 32s
5 Steve Guest Robert Guest VW Golf 8m 01s
6 Lee Rainford Ian Clapham Vauxhall Nova 9m 20s
7 Bob Gush Kevin Warlow Vauxhall Astra GTE 10m 49s
8 Paul Morris Anthony Williams Vauxhall Astra GTE 11m 17s
9 Keith Gush Lynn Gush Vauxhall Nova GTE 12m 06s
10 Steve Herbert Brynli Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 25s
11 Dulwyn Jones Wyn Morris Peugeot 309 GTi 13m 29s
12 Eifion Jones Hugh Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 41s
13 Aubrey Gower Jason Chinery Ford Sierra 4x4 18m 36s
14 Mark Jones Michael Jones Ford Escort 19m 00s
15 Gwyn Morris Shaun Baker Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 10m 19s
16 Byron Jones James Morgan Honda Civic VTi 1F 12m 24s
17 Mei Jones Eifion Wyn Thomas Vauxhall Astra GTE 3F 14m 12s
18 Nick Bamford Joe Wood Ford Fiesta S 9F 10m 59s