rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

JJ Brown Memorial Rally 1997

Sponsored by Express Motors

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

6th/7th December 1997

Clerk of the Course: Dylan Humphries

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 113 & 114

Starters: 60

Winners: Bryan Glass/Richard Parry (Ford Escort)

Bryan Glass threw off a reputation as a perennial non-finisher to win Caernarvonshire & Anglesey MC's JJ Brown Memorial Road Rally. Despite being a closed to club event the rally attracted a full 60 car entry as well as sponsorship from Express Motors of Penygroes. The 110 mile route was split with 40 miles on Anglesey and the rest on the mainland.

Glass, partnered by Richard Parry, managed to complete the route without incurring any penalty, a result which gave them a two minute winning margin over the Escort of Tudor Morris/Gerallt Davies, the only other crew to finish fail free.

Five other crews were clean of time penalties at the finish but Arwel Griffiths/Carwyn Evans (Peugeot 205) picked up two fails, leaving them in third. Dave Jones/Steve Kerr (Ford Escort) picked up three fails, finishing in seventh. Top seeds Ian Jones/Alan Jones (Peugeot 205) were among three cars that ended with four fails, but no time penalties. They were the winners of the tie-breaker and were classified in tenth at the end.

Lee Mathews/John Evans finished fifth in a Hillman Imp on 2 fails and 4 minutes.

Noel Hughes, navigated by his 14 year old daughter, future Welsh Champion, Gwawr, on her first rally, claimed second place in the Semi-Expert class in a 1971 Saab. They were beaten to the class win by Lee Hogdson/Steve Goodwin who finished eighth in their Peugeot 205. The Novice class was won by Gwylim Williams/Caren Williams in a Vauxhall Nova.

Ex-Welsh Champion Navigator Dave Thomas swapped to the driver's seat so that his daughter, Claire, could make her rallying debut; unfortunately they were one of a number of crews to fall foul of a very wet quarry. They eventually finished 45th out of 46 finishers.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Bryan Glass Richard Parry Ford Escort 0m 00s
2 Tudor Morris Garallt Davies Ford Escort 2m 00s
3 Arwel Griffiths Carwyn Evans Peugeot 205 2F 0m 00s
4 Shon Jones Alan Jordan Vauxhall Astra GTE 2F 2m 00s
5 Lee Matthews John Evans Hillman Imp 2F 4m 00s
6 Hugh Jones Alan 'Fanta' Williams Vauxhall Astra GTE 2F 11m 00s
7 David Jones Stephen Kerr Ford Escort 3F 0m 00s
8 Lee Hodson Steve Goodwin Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 5m 00s
9 Gerallt Davies Michael Evans Ford Escort 3F 19m 00s
10 Ian Jones Alan Jôs Peugeot 205 GTi 4F 0m 00s
11 Alwyn Jones Aled Pennant Ford Escort 4F 0m 00s
12 Huw Jones Heddwyn Jones VW Golf GTi 4F 0m 00s
13 Darren Herring Dave Thomas Subaru Impreza 4F 2m 00s
14 Geraint Bowness Arwel Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 4F 8m 00s
15 Gwilym Williams Caren Williams Vauxhall Nova 4F 20m 00s
16 Gwilym Davies Steven Roberts Talbot Sunbeam 5F 2m 00s
17 Noel Hughes Gwawr Hughes Saab 96 V4 5F 6m 00s
18 Danny Harris Dafydd Evans Ford Sierra Sapphire 5F 10m 00s
19 Williams Lewis Anthony Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 13m 00s
20 Kevin Jones Geraint Jones VW Golf GTi 5F 18m 00s