rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

JJ Brown Memorial Rally 1999

Sponsored by Express Motors

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

4th/5th December 1999

Clerk of the Course: Dylan Humphries

Route: 90 Miles

Maps: 115

Starters: 50

Winners: Lee Matthews/Enfed Davies (MG Maestro EFi)

Lee Matthews/Endef Davies took a close fought victory on Caernarvonshire and Anglesey's JJ Brown Memorial Rally. The closed to club event used a 100 mile route which generally stayed close to Caernarvon, but did loop up to Llandberis and the Ogwen Valley. Despite the closed to club status there were 50 starters including 20 novices.

It was to be a short event for a couple of crews. Robyn Jones/Stephen Roberts hit a stone wall in their Escort after just two miles, while Iwan Pritchard/Alwyn Jones got as far as the second section before rolling their similar car.

The rally used 90 miles of standard sections, but it was to be the single six mile regularity section that was to be most crucial in deciding the leading positions. Noel Hughes/Gwawr Hughes picked up the least penalties over the regularity and would have won the rally but then picked up a fail at a triangle control. This should have given the win to Elfyn Davies/Elfyn Richards, unfortunately they booked into a control two minutes early and the resulting fails pushed them back down the results.

Matthews/Davies, running in a MG Maestro, had been only a second behind Davies/Richards and they completed the rally with no further incident to take the win. The leading Semi-Expert crew were Elfed Williams/Ian Evans who finished in second place overall in the Toyota Corolla.

Arwel Griffiths/Carwyn Evans finished third, with the second Semi-Experts, Eurig Wyn Thomas/Keith Jones in fourth. Gerallt Davies/Alun Jones, in another Corolla, were fifth just fifteen seconds off first place.

The Novice class was won by Keith Povey/Chris Hunt, in their Vauxhall Astra; they were well clear of the rest of the class. Kevin Jones/Daffydd Jones were second, but were in 20th place overall. Of the 50 starters 38 made it to the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Lee Matthews Endaf Davies MG Maestro EFi 0m 58s
2 Elfed Williams Ian Evans Toyota Corolla 1m 00s
3 Arwel Griffiths Carwyn Evans Peugeot 205 1m 03s
4 Eurig Wyn Thomas Rhun Ellis Toyota Corolla 1m 04s
5 Gerallt Davies Alan Jôs Toyota Corolla 1m 13s
6 Ian Jones Iestyn Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 1m 14s
7 Steven Owen Will Lynes Ford Escort 2m 00s
8 John Arfon Jones Dylan Wyn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 2m 09s
9 Cath Rumney Gary Matthews Mitsubishi Lancer Evo4 4m 45s
10 Nigel Griffiths Dafydd Hughes Ford Escort 8m 39s