rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

JJ Brown Memorial Rally 2002

Sponsored by Express Motors

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

30th November/1st December 2002

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 115

Starters: 69

Winners: Eifion Thomas/Carwyn Evans (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Eifion Thomas/Carwyn Evans won the J J Brown Memorial Rally, finishing the event free of any penalty. Caernarvon and Anglesey MC’s third road rally of the year saw 69 crews tackle a 130 mile route. However the rally was decided on the single two mile regularity section.

Thomas/Evans completed this section exactly on time and thus ran out winners by the narrow margin of two seconds. Gwyndaf Evans/Paul Roberts and David Jones/Ian Jones both finished on two seconds penalty, with a tie breaker having to be employed to split them. Neol Hughes/Gwawr Hughes reverted to their Saab 96, having used an Escort for much of the year, and claimed fourth place.

Lee Evans/Anthony Williams continued their good run of results, finishing in ninth place and securing the Semi-Expert class. Gavin Edwards/Ifan Rowlands were the leading Novices in thirteenth place.

Like the winners, Howard Price/Carl Williamson finished the rally clear of time penalties however they picked up a fail for an incorrect code board. Top seeds Elfed Williams/Ian Evans also picked up a fail, in their case it was for booking in early at a time control. Jason Hardy/Alan Jôs were an early retirement, not making it as far as Petrol.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Eifion Thomas Carwyn Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
2 Gwyndaf Evans Paul Roberts Subaru Impreza 0m 02s
3 David Jones Ian Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 02s
4 Noel Hughes Gwawr Hughes Saab 96 V4 0m 06s
5 Geraint Jones Alan Jordan Vauxhall Nova 0m 09s
6 William Evans Stephen Roberts Audi Quattro 1m 03s
7 John Baines Chris Evans Ford Escort 1m 08s
8 John Robyns Alan Parry Peugeot 205 GTi 1m 16s
9 Lee Evans Anthony Williams Vauxhall Nova 1m 35s
10 Kevin Jones Carwyn Edwards Subaru Legacy 1m 41s