rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Jackson Trophy Rally 2004

Sheffield & Hallamshire Motor Club

24th/25th April 2004

Clerk of the Course: Craig Hardman

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 110

Starters: 19

Winners: Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon snatched victory in the final miles of the Jackson Trophy Rally. They were competing in a Peugeot 205 hired from AB Motorsport; their regular Proton Persona was still being repaired after the damage sustained on the VK Derbyshire.

Mark Whitford/Steve Porter (Ford Escort) held a one minute lead at the petrol halt, after Robinson/Wheeldon had lost four minutes on the opening section. At the finish the two crews were separated by only six seconds but they were well clear of the rest of the field.

This was the first running of the Sheffield and Hallamshire MC event for several years. It used a 140 mile route, with many roads that hadn’t been rallied for decades. Navigation was entirely plot 'n bash with eleven separate hand outs.

Steve Webster/Roger Hage (Subaru Impreza) lost eight minutes when they wrong slotted on to a white. They finished in fifth.

There were nineteen starters, of whom just two failed to make the Finish; Paul Henman/Richard Henman retired after putting their Escort into a wall, while the Triumph TR4 of Michael Hunter/Paul Dorch lost all its oil.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Guy Robinson Charlie Wheeldon Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 50s
2 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort 6m 56s
3 Nik Kershaw Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 11s
4 Craig Burgess Lee Burgess Peugeot 205 GTi 16m 50s
5 Steve Webster Roger Hage Subaru Impreza 24m 12s
6 John Ross Mike Petch Subaru Impreza 26m 18s
7 Paul Wright Malcolm Barber Ford Escort 30m 14s
8 Richard Chown Mark Wagstaff Peugeot 205 GTi 38m 13s
9 Mick Smith Rhiannon Blythe Ford Escort 45m 09s
10 Chris Faulkner John Thornley Ford Sierra 52m 23s
11 Geoff Henman Sam Collis Vauxhall Nova 43m 23s
12 Nick Toplis Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova GTE 1F 20m 49s
13 Frank Evans Dan Spittlehouse Toyota Corolla 4F 73m 03s
14 Mark Randall Craig Grist Vauxhall Nova 7F 112m 52s
15 Chris Goodhall Paul Bingham Vauxhall Chevette 10F 133m 00s
16 Graham Reeson Peter Reeson Peugeot 205 GTi 14F 121m 52s
17 Kevin Gresham Chris Newton Mini 14F 138m 17s