rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Goffa James Trenholme

Harlech & District Motor Club

1st/2nd December 2001

Route: 90 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 50

Winners: Emyr Jones/Merfyn Huws (Toyota Corolla)

Road rallying returned to the lanes of Wales for the first time in ten months when Harlech MC ran a closed to club novices road rally, Rali Goffa James Trenholme.

The event used a 90 mile route all within the Llyn Peninsula. The rally was not open to Expert crews but a few expert drivers appeared in the navigator seat. Publicity surrounding the rally had been kept to a minimum to avoid large numbers of spectators appearing. Despite these measures, on the night the lanes were lined with people, although no problems were reported. A capacity fifty car entry had been received, of these thirty-seven made it to the finish.

The rally was won by the Toyota Corolla of Emyr Jones/Merfyn Huws, who dropped 3m 06s over the event and were 30 seconds clear of their nearest rivals. Other than first place there were no overall results on the class based event, however it was noticeable that two Novice crews completed the route with fewer penalties than the leading Semi-Experts.

There were a few notable results. On their very first event Griff Evans, navigated by his teenage son Robin, captured the third place Semi-Expert award. Gwyn Jones/Dylan Minnice appeared in an ex-works Skoda Felicia and would have won the Beginners class had they not missed a control board. Third in the Beginners class were the mother and son combination of Ann Baines/Andrew Baines.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 o/a Emyr Jones Merfyn Huws Toyota Corolla 3m 06s
Semi Expert Class
1 Raymond Thomas Dewi Williams Vauxhall Nova 9m 27s
2 Aled Roberts Edgar Jones VW Golf GTi 11m 11s
3 Griff Evans Robin Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 19s
Novice Class
1 Paul Jones Huw Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 3m 39s
2 Endaf Wilson Barry Griffiths Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 43s
3 Stephen Dukes Tim Rice Ford Escort 22m 21s
Beginners Class
1 Rhys Roberts Sion Edwards Vauxhall Nova 44m 41s
2 Gwyn Jones Dylan Minnice Skoda Felicia 1F 14m 22s
3 Anne Baines Andrew Baines Vauxhall Nova 1F 51m 30s
Standard Production Award
1 Andrew Atkin Rhun Ellis Peugeot 205 GTi 31m 56s