rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Goffa James Trenholme

Harlech & District Motor Club

9th/10th November 2002

Clerk of the Course: Carwyn Evans & Alan Jôs

Route: 90 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 50

Winners: Meredydd Jones/Bryn Jones (Peugeot 309 GTi)

Meredydd Jones/Bryn Jones competing in a Peugeot 309 GTi took a dominant win on the James Trenholme Memorial Rally. The event, Harlech & District MC’s third road rally of the year, was a novice event with expert crews excluded. Battling through heavy rain crews tackled a ninety mile route on the Lleyn Peninsula. Despite the conditions forty-one of the fifty starters completed the rally.

Jones/Jones cleaned the first half and then dropped just twelve seconds on the final two sections to win by over four minutes. Aled Roberts/Edgar Jones finished in second just ahead of the father and son team of Griff Evans/Robin Evans.

Expert navigator Stephen Kerr moved over to the driving seat for the event, his wife Helen took over the maps and they were rewarded with fourth overall and the win in the Novices Class.

Another husband and wife team, Rhonwen Hardy/Jason Hardy, the latter an Expert driver, followed up their class win on the Palferman with eighth overall and the first Standard Production award in their Escort.

Top North-Western crew Baz Green/Dave Jones swapped their regular seats for the rally and finished in tenth place in Jones’ Astra.

The Beginners class was won by the father and son team of Steve Guest/Robert Guest, a noteworthy achievement as the 14 year old navigator was competing on his very first rally.

Second seeds Merfyn Williams/Derwyn Roberts would have put their Vauxhall Astra into second place but picked up a fail for booking in a minute early at a time control.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Meredydd Jones Bryn Jones Peugeot 309 GTi 0m 12s
2 Aled Roberts Edgar Jones VW Golf 4m 22s
3 Griff Evans Robin Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 50s
4 Stephen Kerr Helen Kerr Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 54s
5 Endaf Wilson Barry Griffiths Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 01s
6 Raymond Thomas Dewi Williams Vauxhall Nova 10m 37s
7 Iwan ap Llyfnwy Bleddyn Jones Mini Clubman 10m 58s
8 Rhonwen Hardy Jason Hardy Ford Escort 11m 13s
9 Phil Williams Gwyn Jones Toyota Corolla 12m 08s
10 Baz Green Dave Jones Vauxhall Astra 12m 21s