rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Goffa James Trenholme

Harlech & District Motor Club

15th/16th November 2003

Clerk of the Course: Carwyn Evans & Alan Jôs

Route: 85 Miles

Maps: 123

Starters: 59

Winners: Steven John Williams/Geoff Williams (Peugeot 205)

Steven John Williams/Geoff Williams took a narrow win on Harlech & District MC’s James Trenholme Memorial Rally. The closed to club event was aimed at novices and beginners, experts crews were excluded from the entry. Despite this restriction the 60 starting places were over subscribed. Crews tackled a compact 85 mile route which was all within the westernmost part of the Lleyn Peninsula, straying no further east than the Pwllheli-Nefyn main road.

Williams/Williams took their Peugeot 205 to victory, beating the VW Golf of top seeds Aled Roberts/Edgar Jones by just four seconds. The matter for the top two finishers was decided on the second section of the night, the only test timed to the second. Bryn Jones/Dewi Roberts, were third in their Sierra, almost a minute behind, while Rhys Jones/Alwyn Roberts took fourth.

Semi-Expert crews filled the first twelve places, with the leading novices Ann Baines/Andrew Baines coming home in thirteenth place, almost a minute clear of their nearest class rivals, who were Rhys Williams/Dafydd Williams.

The leading Beginners were Gareth Williams/Elfed Roberts, Rhian Jones/Sonia Jones were the only other crew in the class to finish fail free. The mixed crew award was won by Steven Kerr/Helen Kerr, who were seventh overall.

Second seeds Rob Jones/Eifion Thomas were going well when the gearbox failed on their Peugeot 205 on the penultimate section. Steve Guest/Rob Guest and Ian Owen/Dafydd Hughes had short events, both retiring on the first section, the latter when they broke a half-shaft on their Escort.

Of the fifty-nine starters, forty-three crews did make it to the finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Steven John Williams Geoff Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 3m 11s
2 Aled Roberts Edgar Jones VW Golf 3m 15s
3 Bryn Jones Dewi Roberts Ford Sierra 4m 05s
4 Rhys Jones Alwyn Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 30s
5 Iestyn Williams Ian Williams Vauxhall Astra 4m 35s
6 Robin Jones Chris Worsley Ford Escort 4m 55s
7 Steven Kerr Helen Kerr Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 14s
8 Wyn Williams Gwyn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 44s
9 Dylan Evans Arwel Jones Mazda 323 6m 37s
10 Rhys Roberts Dafydd Gwyn Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 21s