rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Kent Road Rally 2002

Sevenoaks & District Motor Club

16th/17th February 2002

Clerk of the Course: Chin

Route: 169 Miles

Maps: 188 & 199

Starters: 31

Winners: Mike Biss/Cath Woodman (Vauxhall Astra Estate)

Mike Biss/Cath Woodman once again finished a road rally penalty free when they took victory in their Astra on the Kent Rally. The Sevenoaks and District MC event used a 165 mile route in Kent. Competitors had to contend with slippery conditions all night, with sheet ice on the Pevensey Levels.

Kent Road Rally 2002
Runners Up: Allan Sayers/Bob Stokoe (Ford Fiesta XR2)
Photo: M&H Photography

The organisers successfully moved the format of the event away from complex route handouts to a rally that would decide the winner by accurate map reading and navigation. Comparatively straightforward navigational clues were used, but there was lots of them and this combined with short sections between time controls made for a demanding night.

Indeed it was a difficult to find slot near Cusley Wood which decided the event. Biss/Woodman, competing in a Vauxhall Astra Estate, just managed to reach TC47 on schedule, while all but one other crew dropped time to the control.

Martin Smith/PRAR had been the quickest crew over the Pevensey Level sections, their local stamping ground. They made their minute with time to spare at most controls on the Levels, when others, including Biss/Woodman, just managed to keep on schedule. Thus Smith/PRAR were clear of penalties until they lost six minutes looking for the correct route to TC47, these penalties dropped them to fourth place at the Finish.

The two minutes dropped at TC47 were the only penalties incurred by the leading Expert crew, Alan Sayers/Bob Stokoe, as they took the runner up spot. Third went to the Escort of Paul Wright/Graham Coker.

Novice Class competitors, were given simpler navigation than the Masters and Experts. The class was won by Mick Rose/Chris Rose, who were sixth overall in a Mini and the last crew fail free.

Other than the winners, Phil Kendall/Andy Coshan were the only crew to not lose time at the infamous TC47, but time lost elsewhere and a missed code board meant that they could only manage seventh at the Finish.

Following on from their success on the Resolution, Rob Dance/Graham Dance were the leading Semi-Expert crew; they brought their Peugeot 205 into eighth place overall.

A Clubman event for beginners was run alongside the main rally and this was won by the Escort of Maria McKenzie/Roger McKenzie, with the Vauxhall Nova of Bob Wisniewski/Paul Lettington second. All six starters in this category completed the event.

Thirty-one crews left the start at Westerham, despite the slippery conditions all but one completed the rally. The single retirement was the Citroen Visa of John Stephens/Paul Stephens.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Vauxhall Astra Estate 0m 00s
2 Allan Sayers Bob Stokoe Ford Fiesta XR2 2m 00s
3 Paul Wright Graham Coker Ford Escort 4m 00s
4 Martin Smith PRAR Toyota Corolla 6m 00s
5 Ian Rumbold NeiL Ayling Rover 25 7m 00s
6 Mike Rose Chris Rose Austin Mini 43m 00s
7 Phil Kendall Andy Coshan Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 6m 00s
8 Rob Dance Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 7m 00s
9 Steve Hodgson Steve Bubb Renault Clio 1F 7m 00s
10 Matt Fowle John Upham Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 9m 00s
11 David Hughes Andy Gibson Volvo Amazon 1F 13m 00s
12 Mike Jordan Liz Jordan Peugeot 205 1F 15m 00s
13 Chris Moore Tom Jenkins Peugeot 106 1F 16m 00s
14 Olly Smith David Coles Mini 1F 19m 00s
15 Doug Kingsley Ben Greenwood Vauxhall Nova GTE 1F 21m 00s
16 Nick Powter Glyn Williams Vauxhall Astra 1F 25m 00s
17 Gavin Braddock Chris Hill Vauxhall Belmont 2F 11m 00s
18 Rob Reynolds Alan Colyer Mazda 323 2F 12m 00s
19 Zip Zerihan Dick Howatt Peugeot 205 3F 13m 00s
20 Dave Bushby Pete Toogood Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 30m 00s
21 Geoff Skillen Ian Collings Ford Mondeo 3F 34m 00s
22 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 12m 00s
23 Clive Anstey Verity Anstey Vauxhall Nova 10F 43m 00s
24 Lee Robinson Daniel Robinson Ford Escort 15F 49m 00s


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Maria McKenzie Roger McKenzie Ford Escort 1F 16m 00s
2 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova 3F 40m 00s
3 Mark Hickman Mark Lodder Peugeot 205 16F 42m 00s
4 James Brown Chris Hine Ford Fiesta XR2 19F 33m 00s
5 Sam Collins Oliver North VW Golf 22F 38m 00s
6 Jason Mortlock Bill Smith Ford Escort 49F 46m 00s