rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Kent Road Rally 2003

Sevenoaks & District Motor Club

15th/16th February 2003

Clerk of the Course: Chin

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 188

Starters: 22

Winners: Steve Cole/Bob Blows (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Steve Cole/Bob Blows overcame fading brakes and tricky navigation to win Sevenoaks & District MC’s Kent Rally. The 150 mile event used the lanes in the heavily populated area of North and West Kent. The nature of the roads meant that the rally was very much a navigational affair, with the different classes being given trickier navigation dependent on their amount of experience.

Despite being Masters, and therefore having to deal with the most cryptic instructions, Cole/Blows completed the route with total penalties of just one minute. Their dropped minute coming on a section where the route was defined by crossing gridlines with a total of 135. The brakes on their Peugeot 205 began to fade towards the end and they had to tip toe through the final section, but had already done enough to secure the win.

Dominic Worsfold/Matt Fowle had been expected to challenge for victory but were forced to withdraw at the halfway point with the navigator feeling unwell.

Zip Zerihan/Dick Hewitt, benefiting from easier navigation, took the runner up spot and the Semi-Expert Class award just one minute behind the winners. There was a close battle for the win the Expert category as Olly Smith/Dales Coles beating Phil Collings/Sam Collings by just a minute. The latter crew reported loosing three minutes with a wrong slot on the opening section.

There were twenty-two starters in the main event but only three in the Clubmans, however all the entrants in that category made it to the Finish, with Mike Rose/Chris Rose taking the win.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Steve Cole Bob Blows Peugeot 205 GTi 1m 00s
2 Zip Zerihan Dick Howatt Peugeot 205 2m 00s
3 Olly Smith David Coles Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 00s
4 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 00s
5 Paul Wright Malcolm Barber Ford Escort 22m 00s
6 Gordon Popperwell Brian Jaggs Ford EScort 30m 00s
7 Matt Endean Ian Phillips Vauxhall Astra 35m 00s
8 Andy Coshan Phil Kendall Peugeot 309 GTi 50m 00s
9 Maria McKenzie Roger McKenzie Ford Escort 1.8D 1F 6m 00s
10 Ian Rumbold Neil Ayling Ford Focus 1F 24m 00s
11 Mike Cawthra Brian Cammack Subaru Impreza 1F 35m 00s
12 Toby Jeffries Chris Gage Vauxhall Nova SR 3F 51m 00s
13 Carl Gibbs Lizzie Pope Peugeot 205 XS 4F 49m 00s
14 Peter Locks Ann Locks Morris 1800 6F 27m 00s
15 Mark Butler Peter Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 6F 39m 00s
16 Lee Robinson Daniel Robinson Ford Escort 7F 66m 00s
17 Dave Bushby Pete Toogood Peugeot 205 GTi 31F 55m 00s
Clubman Rally
1 Mick Rose Chris Rose Mini Cooper 2F 20m 00s
2 Mark Coleman Simon Bird Morris Mini 9F 23m 00s
3 Jason Mortlock Bill Smith Ford Escort 30F 70m 00s