rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

The Malky Rally Rally 1999

Sponsored by Brace's Bakery

Blackwood & District Motor Club

30th/31st October 1999

Clerk of the Course: Karl Hancocks

Route: 145 Miles

Maps: 160 161 & 171

Starters: 50

Winners: Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby (Ford Escort)

Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby retook the lead of the Welsh Road Rally Championship when they won the Malky Rally. The rally took place in atrocious conditions and proved a tough test - the weather made the whites difficult to negotiate and the organisers' use of numerous three metre controls kept navigators on their toes. The result was that only Adam/Gadsby completed the route without picking up penalties for missing any controls or route check.

The Malky Rally 1999

The Blackwood and District MC event used a 145 mile route in south-east Wales. Of the 50 starters only 22 made it back to the finish.

Local crew Chris Evans/Nigel Nelson stormed through the first section only to have the engine on their Escort go sick, they went no further. They were joined on the list of early retirees by Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh, Bob Gibbons/Stuart Cardell and Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart.

At the petrol halt Gareth Jones/Andrew Card had a lead of almost a minute over Adam/Gadsby, however a missed PC and a missed signature meant that Jones/Card picked up an extra 20 minutes in penalties; they were thus demoted to second at the Finish.

Wayne Morris/Dave Pitchford were third; they'd survived a loose axle and drowning out twice in the first half to bring their 1300cc Escort home as the last crew free of fails. The result meant that Pitchford secured the West Midlands championship with two rounds to spare. Paul Holmberg was unable to tie up the drivers' title as his car was not ready in time after its outing on the previous weekend's 061 Rally.

Their victory meant that Adam/Gadsby retook the lead of the Welsh Championship by a mere two points. The leaders prior to the Malky, Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson, had a troubled run, picking up a fail for a wrong departure at the very first control. They eventually came home in sixth.

The title battle was now a two horse race between these two Mark One Escort crews. Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson had withdrawn from the championship and did not enter the Malky. Both Welsh and West Midlands Championships had just two rounds remaining.

The Semi-Expert award was taken by 'Polly'/Duncan Pinnegar, who were eighth overall in their Peugeot 205. The event was a titanic struggle for the novice crews. The class was won by Chris Burford/Mark Powell, who ended with penalties of five fails and 122 minutes - five fails clear of the second in class Adrian Coundley/Nick Sugg.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 5m 32s
2 Gary Jones Andrew Card Toyota Corolla 23m 29s
3 Wayne Morris Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 25m 44s
4 Andrew Lewis Dave Howells Ford Escort 1F 21m 34s
5 Brian Davis Jayson Brown Ford Escort 1F 22m 51s
6 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 1F 35m 23s
7 Nick Yates Simon Yates Ford Escort 1F 38m 41s
8 Polly Duncan Pinnegar Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 59m 01s
9 Alan Gaunt Richard Preece Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 66m 11s
10 Jerry Jones Phil Lewis Mini Clubman 2F 46m 06s
11 Martin Bardley Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 2F 46m 49s
12 Mike Kimber Paul Jenkins Toyota Corolla 2F 48m 06s
13 Phill Davies Justin Davies Ford Escort 2F 85m 47s
14 Len Giles Lee Deverell Ford Escort 2F 105m 03s
15 Chris Burford Mark Powell Ford Escort RS 5F 122m 35s
16 Nigel Phillips Baryan Joseph Toyota Corolla 5F 143m 41s
17 Adrian Coundley Nick Sugg Ford Escort 9F 138m 50s
18 Lawrence Jones Clifford Jones Vauxhall 10F 172m 23s
19 Martin Ellaway Islwyn Watkins VW Golf GTi 12F 275m 35s
20 Simon MacKay Tim Jones Toyota Corolla 13F 173m 41s
21 Julie Elmore Sandra Evans Opel Manta 15F 317m 40s
22 Andy Gwynne Holly Robinson Peugeot 205 16F 284m 04s