rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

The Malky Rally 2002

Sponsored by Brace's Bakery

Blackwood & District Motor Club

26th/27th October 2002

Clerk of the Course: Steve Roderick & Roger Holder

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 161 170 & 171

Starters: 66

Winners: Mark Robinson/Steve Durbin (Toyota Corolla)

Since its first running in 1996 the Malky Road Rally had always run in atrocious weather conditions, 2002 was no exception with gale force winds and rain making life difficult for competitors and marshals alike.

Malky Rally 2002
Winners: Mark Robinson/Steve Durbin (Toyota Corolla)

Over the preceding years the rally had in a large part used the tracks on the top of the mountains above the Gwent vallies, the fact that the mapping of these tracks was often vague had led to the Malky becoming an event won by local crews. For 2002 a new organising team had moved away from the tracks and found a route 99% of which was on tarmac. Despite the change the win was taken by a local crew.

The Malky continues to enjoy support from Brace's Bakery, its sponsor since its inception six years previously.

Mark Robinson/Steve Durbin put in a blistering display to finish the rally with only twenty-seven seconds penalties, almost six minutes clear of their nearest rivals. In fact they may well have cleaned the event but for a mishap as they regained the tarmac road after a three metre control. They chose the wrong exit and hit a rock damaging the driver's front wing and the lights. This meant that they did the second half of the rally without the lights, but this didn't seem to cut their speed.

The Malky Rally 2002

Ceri Richards/Aled Jones finished in second despite the navigator suffering from flu and only having decided to do the rally on the afternoon of the event.

Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford were third, they had been closest on time to the winners but incurred a ten minute penalty for recording an incorrect code at a route check. They had also been delayed by fog on the opening section over the 'British', the mist having lifted slightly after the top ten had been through.

Grant Parker/Owen Dodd were fourth, they had also been penalised ten minutes for an incorrect code. There was a high incidence of such penalties as the organisers had utilised some code boards on which parts of letters and numbers had been covered and crews had to accurately record the partial number or letter.

With the cancellation of the Peak Revs the Malky had become the final round of both the Welsh and West Midlands Championships. All titles within the Welsh series had been settled prior to the Malky, with only the destination of the Semi-Expert navigator's crown in doubt; this was settled in favour of Wyn Davies after Aled Richards failed to make the finish.

Howard Price had already secures the Welsh Driver's Championship and added the West Midlands title by simply finishing the Malky. Partnered by Nigel Roberts, Price had a difficult night, incurring a fail for missing a secret check and accumalting a number of time penalties for incorrect codes.

The West Midlands Navigator's title was won by Richard Edwards who finished fifth on the Malky, his driver, Lee Bartlett won the Semi-Expert Class in the Championship and took the runner up spot in the overall table.

Owian Beman/Nigel Nelson had been expected to feature in the top placings but they had a short rally. They put their hired Subaru Impreza off the road, puncturing both front tyres in the process and causing electrical damage which meant that the car would not fire up.

Malky Rally 2002
Runners Up: Ceri Richards/Aled Jones (Ford Escort)

Alyson Acreman/Byron Jones also failed to make the first petrol halt, their Honda Civic ground to a halt when water leaked into the distributor via a loose screw; by the time they'd identified and rectified the problem, they were OTL.

Paul Tod/Iestyn ap Daffydd continued their run of bad luck when they overshot a code board and then put their Peugeot 205 into a ditch as they reversed back.

Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies started the rally with the possibility of taking the runner up spot in the Welsh Championship, however they got no further than the first section when the throttle stuck open on their Escort, the engine over revved and blew.

Julian Smith/Chris Short finished in seventh place overall to claim the Semi-Expert Class, Michael Kimber/Jerry Jones and Paul Price/Nick Bloxham took the other class awards and were also in the top ten overall.

The Novice class award was won by Peter Ryan/Richard Banks who were twenty-fifth overall. The Standard Production Award went to the Mazda 323 of Iain Orford/Bob Jones, who finished in thirteenth place after being delayed by a puncture on the fourth section.

The Under 1400 award was won by the Peugeot 106 Rallye of Richard Tuckey/Steve Herbert.

Of the sixty-six starters, forty-five were classified as finishers.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mark Robinson Steve Durbin Toyota Corolla 0m 27s
2 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 6m 09s
3 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 11m 09s
4 Grant Parker Gwyn Williams Toyota Corolla 13m 15s
5 Lee Bartlett Richard Edwards Peugeot 309 GTi 15m 05s
6 Andrew James Neil Bevan Ford Escort 20m 08s
7 Julian Smith Chris Short Toyota Corolla 20m 49s
8 Richard Tucky Steve Herbert Peugeot 106 Rallye 23m 40s
9 Michael Kimber Jerry Jones Peugeot 205 24m 30s
10 Paul Price Nick Bloxham Vauxhall Nova 26m 00s
11 Islwyn Watkins Martin Jones Vauxhall Astra 27m 25s
12 David Wilmer Mark Powell Ford Escort 27m 57s
13 Ian Orford Bob Jones Mazda 323 28m 33s
14 Gary Evans Iestyn Leyshon Ford Escort 30m 16s
15 Steve Reed Dave Williams Ford Escort 34m 44s
16 Glyn Price Huw Jones Ford Escort 38m 03s
17 Mike Morgan Matthew Maidment Suzuki Swift 34m 44s
18 Steve Wynn Chris Wynn Ford Escort 39m 35s
19 Delfryn Owens Jeff James Renault Clio 45m 51s
20 Ashley Morris Michael Hardwick Peugeot 205 GTi 46m 39s
21 Garry Jenkins Erik West Peugeot 205 GTi 47m 33s
22 Criss Lewis Bryan Thomas Ford Escort 56m 22s
23 Andy Sheppard Mike Hart Vauxhall Astra 59m 53s
24 Mark Harris Nathan Parry Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 10m 58s
25 Peter Ryan Richard Banks Ford Escort RS 1h 53m 58s
26 Clive Barry Philip Williams Ford Sierra 4x4 1h 55m 20s
27 Shaun Davies Phillip Tedstone Toyota Corolla FWD 7h 59m 54s
28 Chris Davies Gordon Bradley Peugeot 205 XS 1F 33m 02s
29 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 1F 38m 02s
30 Chris Rooney Anton Du Croq-Slip Ford Escort XR3i 1F 40m 51s
31 Howard Price Nigel Roberts Toyota Corolla 1F 48m 30s
32 David Goodlife Mick Wilcox Mazda 323 1F 54m 27s
33 Lee Vickers Geraint Hughes Opel Manta 1F 56m 32s
34 Darren Morris Alec Morris Ford Escort 1F 1h 00m 04s
35 Allan Alford Ted Williams Ford Fiesta XR2 1F 1h 05m 39s
36 Len Giles Hellen Marks Ford Escort 1F 1h 24m 26s
37 Jonathan Harrison Jonathan Jones Toyota Starlet 1F 2h 20m 19s
38 Nathan Watkins Martin Lambeth Peugeot 309 1F 5h 03m 49s
39 Mike Herring Fred Harris Vauxhall Astra 2F 2h 19m 17s
40 Darren Draper Robert Jones BMW 325 2F 5h 22m 14s
41 Malcolm Thorne Mark Lampert Ford Escort 3F 1h 39m 05s
42 Douglas Griffiths Chris Walters Ford Sierra 3F 5h 07m 45s
43 Andy Oakes Chris Oakes Toyota Corolla 5F 3h 43m 49s
44 Bernard Elliott Huw Davies Ford Sierra 4x4 5F 4h 11m 12s
45 James Swann Dean Flowers Peugeot 205 GTi 6F 6h 37m 34s