rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Mel Harries Memorial Rally 1999

Ammanford Motor Club

29th/30th May 1999

Clerk of the Course: Rob Richards & Vince Mosley

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 159 & 146

Starters: 60

Winners: Toby Adam/Byron Jones (Ford Escort)

A storming drive in the second half saw Toby Adams/Byron Jones take victory on the Mel Harris Memorial Rally. The Ammanford MC event was not included in any major championships but still attracted a capacity 60 car entry. It used 110 miles of slippery South Wales lanes and proved highly popular with competitors.

At the petrol halt Adams/Jones were only seven seconds in front of the first time pairing of Ceri Richards/Aled Jones. Andrew Davies/Kevin Jones were just a few seconds further back. By the Finish Adams had pulled out almost two minutes over Richards, while Davies had gone off the road attempting to maintain the pace. For Adams/Jones it was their third event together and remarkably their third victory.

Gary Jones/Andy Oakes took third place, while Martin and Gordon Bradley were fourth. The latter crew ruing the three minutes dropped when their Escort drowned out in a ford on the easily cleanable first section.

There was a close battle for the Semi-Expert class win, with the two Lampeter crews of Geraint Davies/John Gilbey and Richard Briddon/Edryd Evans in contention. The matter was decided when Briddon/Evans booked in early at a Time Control and this allowed Davies/Gilbey to take the class win and eighth overall. One place further back were the first novices, Dorian Evans/Paul Jones - an notable result on only the driver's fourth rally.

Pre-event favourites Alan Gaunt/Paul Bevan picked up a fail for wrong departure from a control just prior to the halfway halt. Aled Evans/Eryl Evans made the same error and this cost them second place at the end.

Wyn Pickersgill/Marc Jones retired their Escort with a broken gearbox, while Alan Hands/John Hands put their car off the road on an early section. Clive Greves/Rob Duke had the clutch cable fail on their Chevette.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Toby Adam Byron Jones Ford Escort 7m 29s
2 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 9m 13s
3 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 9m 18s
4 Martin Bradley Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 10m 15s
5 Eirwyn Davies Dave Pitchford Ford EScort 11m 05s
6 Hefin George Dilwyn John Mazda 323 Turbo 13m 10s
7 Gwyndaf Lloyd Tracey Giddins Talbot Sunbeam 13m 55s
8 Geraint Davies John Gilbey Toyota Corolla 14m 46s
9 Dorian Rees Paul Jones Ford Escort 16m 30s
10 Rhydian Jones Dalis Ifans Ford Escort 19m 04s