rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Mel Harries Memorial Rally 2004

Sponsored by Marc's Motors & Sons

Ammanford Motor Club

12th/23th June 2004

Clerk of the Course: Rob Richardson & Huw Mathias

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 159 160 & 170

Starters: 75

Winners: Martyn O’Connor/Peter Collins (Vauxhall Astra)

Martyn O’Connor/Peter Collins took their second successive victory on Ammanford MC’s Mel Harries Memorial Rally. The pairing had been in third place at the petrol halt but a smooth run to the Finish, plus problems encountered by their rivals, saw them take a comfortable win.

Mel Harries Memorial Rally 2004
Winners: Martyn O’Connor/Peter Collins (Vauxhall Astra)

The first half took crews south from the event's base at Ammanford to Cwm Dulais, then moved back north, via the lanes above Clydach and Pontardawe, back to Petrol at Pontamman. The only section on which most leading crews dropped time was on the one just prior to the fuel halt; this ran from Llandyfan to Llandybie.

The surprise leaders at this point were Huw Jeffreys/Avarina Connor (Ford Escort); they stopped the clock at the vital time control eighteen seconds faster than any other competitor. Unfortunately, gearbox problems in the latter stages of the event saw them drop to twenty-fifth place at the Finish.

The leading positions at Petrol were:
Huw Jeffreys/Avarina Connor (Ford Escort) 0m 56s
Martyn O’Connor/Peter Collins (Vauxhall Astra) 1m 14s
Gary Jones/Andy Oakes (Toyota Corolla) 1m 19s
John Davies/Dylan Evans (Vauxhall Astra GTE) 1m 21s
Nigel Nelson/Martin Saunders (Vauxhall Astra GTE) 1m 28s

Tony Davies/Owen Dodd (Toyota Corolla) had a short rally, withdrawing after picking up two punctures on the second section. Darrell George/Arwel 'F12' Thomas were also out before Petrol, their Nova's steering was badly bent when they hit a pot hole.

Mel Harries Memorial Rally 2004

Chris Jenkins/Carl Williamson had been in sixth place at Petrol but retired in the second half when the rotor arm broke on their Escort.

The second half opened with a run through lanes on the western edge of the Black Mountains, with the rest of the event being in the area to the south of Llandeilo; it was here, in Golden Grove, that the results were decided.

O'Connor/Collins were fasest through the critical section and arrived at the Finish 27 seconds ahead of John Davies/Dylan Evans, leaving Davies, after many near misses, looking for his maiden rally win. Nigel Nelson/Martin Saunders finished third, 40 seconds behind the winners, to make it a Vauxhall Astra 1-2-3.

A number of crews, including the winners, missed PC27, at the end of the Black Mountain section; it was in a loop opposite Plasbach. Fails were initially given to these competitors, but these had to be removed as the code board was found not to comply with the MSA requirements.

Class winners Eurig Davies/Meirion Rees (Semi-Experts) and Nick Murfin/Julian Cram (Novices) were both well clear of their nearest class rivals to secure their placings.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 0m 25s
2 John 'Mk1' Thomas Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 0m 25s
3 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 0m 44s
4 Gordon Thomas Carl Williamson Ford Escort 0m 54s
5 Nigel Nelson Iestyn ap Dafydd Vauxhall Astra 1m 13s
6 Robert Wilson Dylan Jenkins Peugeot 205 GTi 1m 15s
7 Dan Holley Steve Herbert Ford Escort RS 1m 16s
8 Alyson Acreman Matthew Maidment Honda Civic 1m 46s
9 Gareth Harries Dalis Ifans Honda Civic 2m 01s
10 Richard James Eurig Davies Vauxhall Astra 2m 03s
11 Mark James Rob Duke Ford Sierra 4x4 2m 08s
12 Elgan Jones Byron Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 2m 21s
13 John Davies Neil Bevan Vauxhall Nova 2m 28s
14 Roy Thomas Michelle Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 07s
15 Neal James Eurig Evans Vauxhall Astra GTE 4m 07s
16 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 4m 10s
17 Andrew Thomas Paul Morris Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 20s
18 Darrell George Arwel Thomas Vauxhall Nova 4m 29s
19 Chris Williams Brian Thomas Peugeot 106 5m 45s
20 David Wilmer Mark Powell Ford Escort 6m 33s
21 Alan James Edwin Venville Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 58s
22 Dafydd Walters Ian Nicholls Ford Escort Van 8m 30s
23 Bruce Charles Stephen Jancziak Ford Escort 8m 37s
24 Ceri Jones Edrian Monk Ford Escort 9m 43s
25 Mike James Richard Evans Vauxhall Astra GTE 9m 52s
26 Clive Davies Trevor Davies Toyota Corolla FWD 10m 37s
27 Mark Coleman Christian Male Ford Escort 13m 20s
28 Mark Reardon Fiona Reardon Vauxhall Corsa SRi 13m 57s
29 Aled Evans Martin Richards Vauxhall Nova 15m 34s
30 Peter Smith Paul Seabourne Ford Escort 15m 56s
31 Max Jones Anthony Powell Ford Capri 18m 06s
32 Barry John Seyyan John Ford Escort 23m 38s
33 Paul Davies Steven Hicks Vauxhall Nova GTE 24m 38s
34 Alun Cole Euros Lloyd Ford Escort Mexico 28m 29s
35 Robert Price Lionel Plant Vauxhall Astra GTE 32m 14s
36 Paul Roberts Anthony Lemon Vauxhall Astra 33m 42s
37 Simon Griffiths Paul Jennings Vauxhall Nova GTE 46m 47s
38 Sterling Jenkins Wayne Owen Vauxhall Nova 49m 04s
39 Ian Evans Christopher Saunders Vauxhall Astra SRi 50m 40s
40 Scot Gregory Ben Murray VW Golf 61m 51s
41 Alan Hands Melanie Hands Vauxhall Chevette 1F 1m 23s
42 Dyfrig Evans Noel John Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 26m 06s
43 Gareth Davies Thomas Blair Vauxhall Nova 1F 38m 42s
44 Paul Davies Martin Curzon Daihatsu Applause 1F 67m 19s
45 Jonathan Oliver D Morris Peugeot 309 GTi 2F 16m 58s
46 Robert Brown Alexander Reilly Peugeot 309 GTi 2F 47m 19s
47 Steven Price Alan Roberts Ford Escort 3F 31m 51s
48 Chris Lewis Chris Williams Vauxhall Astra GTE 5F 33m 41s
49 Jayson Francis Roger Davies Toyota Celica GT 6F 33m 08s
50 Howell Wyn Christie Sandra Powell Ford Escort 33F 58m 11s