rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Mercian Road Rally 2003

Sponsored by First Choice Flooring

Mercia Motor Sports

20th/21st September 2003

Clerk of the Course: Bob Budd & Dave Oliver

Route: 135 Miles

Maps: 140 141 & 151

Starters: 29

Winners: John Haden/Roger Hage (Subaru Impreza)

John Haden/Roger Hage took their Subaru Impreza to a clear win on the 1st Choice Flooring Mercian Road Rally.

The Mercian Motor Sports organised event started at the AB Motorsports premises at Leamington Spa and took crews on a 135 mile route in the area to the east of Coventry. Navigation was by plot ‘n bash throughout and, although it was generally straightforward, there was a good variety of formats to keep the crews on their toes. The rally was a round of several Midlands Championships.

Haden/Hage, on their second outing together, were always the class of the entry and finished the rally two minutes ahead of the Seat Ibiza of Adrain Green/Mick Fern. Paul Davies/Mark Wagstaff were third in their Peugeot 309, with top seeds Graham Nunn/Paul Nelson fourth in a Peugeot 205. Bill Douglas/Steve Hancock took fifth and the top Mercian Motor Sports crew award in what seemed like an unsuitably large Volvo 240.

The Historic Class was won by the works replica Triumph 2000 of Matt Collier/Paul Doe who were sixth overall, well clear of the second Historic crew, who were James Carter/Jonathan Stockdale, who finished in fifteenth place. Peter Noad/Dave Kirkham had been leading the category until a disastrous final card.

The leading Novice crew were Nichola Hillier/Dave Broadley, who were ninth overall in their Metro.

Twenty-nine crews started the rally, with twenty-six finishing. The only leading retirement was the Proton Persona of Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon, who had the turbo blow after just thirty miles.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 John Haden Roger Hage Subaru Impreza 6m 32s
2 Adrian Green Mick Fern Seat Ibiza 8m 33s
3 Paul Davies Mark Wagstaff Peugeot 309 GTi 9m 12s
4 Graham Nunn Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 34s
5 Bill Douglas Steve Hancock Volvo 240 GLT 10m 39s
6 Matt Collier Paul Doe Triumph 2000 12m 55s
7 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 13m 22s
8 Gareth Williams Simon Bentley Subaru Legacy 14m 09s
9 Nichola Hillier Dave Broadley MG Metro 14m 54s
10 Tim Daltry Paul Fillis Peugeot 205 GTi 17m 40s
12 Chris Faulkner John Thorley Ford Sierra Sapphire 18m 35s
15 James Carter Jonathan Stockdale Ford Escort 28m 53s
17 Rich Clews Will Malkin Peugeot 205 30m 11s
19 Peter Noad Dave Kirkham Audi 80 GT 35m 47s