rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Monmouthshire Novice Rally 2000

Abergavenny Auto Club

15th/16th April 2000

Clerk of the Course: Jayson Brown

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 161

Starters: 27

Winners: Joe Woodward/Chris Wallet (Peugeot 205)

Joe Woodward/Chris Wallet won the overall award on the Monmouthshire Novices Rally. The Abergavenny AC organised event attracted forty entries, 27 of these were either novices or beginners, who were the only crews eligible for the overall positions. A total of thirteen Experts and Semi-Experts fought for a joint class award.

Woodward/Wallet came home six minutes clear at the end of the 100 mile route. The runner up position was taken by John Moffat/Simon Pinock, making it a Peugoet 205 1-2. Moffat/Pinock were in the Beginners Class competing on their first full blown rally. Third place went to Alan Alford/Ted Williams, this pairing had built up a healthy lead at the halfway point but then picked up a 30 minute penalty for booking into a control early.

In the Expert Class Toby Adam/Mark Appleton had an easy win, with Appleton's experience on historic rallies proving decisive on the rally's three regularity sections. Gareth Jones/Dave Pitchford, who were debuting a new Corolla, never got on terms with Adam/Appleton and were five minutes down at the Finish.

Steve Griffiths/Ian Cooke retired with a broken exhaust on their Escort, while the similar car of Will Evans/Aneurin Evans went out with a broken halfshaft.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Joe Woodward Chris Wallet Peugeot 205 28m 59s
2 John Moffat Simon Pinock Peugeot 205 34m 55s
3 Allan Alford Ted Williams Ford Fiesta 48m 35s
4 Lawrence Jones Brian Price Vauxhall Cavalier 57m 59s
5 Robert Evans Mark Wakefield Ford Escort 60m 43s
6 Len Giles Lee Deverell Vauxhall Astra 64m 44s
7 Andrew Down Chris Head Peugeot 205 GTi 66m 32s
8 Simon Rees John Fellows Peugeot 205 69m 49s
9 Paul Tod Jamie West Nissan Bluebird 93m 02s
10 Ashley Morris Eric Tong Peugeot 205 102m 30s

TOP FIVE EXPERT/SEMI-EXPERT CLASS - Not eligible for overall awards

Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Toby Adam Mark Appleton Ford Escort 3m 28s
2 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 8m 02s
3 Grant Parker Paul Edwards Toyota Corolla 16m 36s
4 Eifion Page Alun Probert Ford Sierra 23m 11s
5 Mark Robinson Colin Clark Ford Sierra 31m 32s