rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Moorlands & Meadows Rally 2002

Mid Derbyshire Motor Club

23rd/24th February 2002

Clerk of the Course: Lee Burgess

Route: 138 Miles

Maps: 110 111 & 119

Starters: 36

Winners: Jason Stone/Daniel Stone (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Top seeds Jason Stone/Daniel Stone took a dominant victory in treacherous conditions on the Moorlands and Meadows Road Rally. The brothers led the Mid-Derbyshire MC organised event from the first section in their Peugeot 205 and came home over one and a half minutes clear of the field. Their choice of open tread pattern tyres being critical to their success in the conditions.

Moorlands & Meadows Rally 2002
Novice Class Winners: Will Malkin/Richard Mills (VW Passat)
Photograph: M&H Photography

The original route for the event had been 138 miles in North Derbyshire and South Yorkshire, however the severe weather that hit northern England on the night had a major impact on the rally. Drifting snow and sheet ice led to the cancellation of a number of sections.

Second and third places were taken by the AB Motorsport pairings of Steve Massey/Steve Coupland (Ford Escort) and Andy Baker/Charlie Wheeldon (Peugeot 205), the two crews being seperated by only three seconds at the Finish. Baker/Wheeldon had been in front of Massey/Coupland at the start of the last section, but then lost time investigating a slot that turned out to be a works entrance. They dropped seven seconds at the last time control, while Massey cleaned it.

Andy Baker rued his tyre choice: "We were on Michelin M5s, very tight tread and hard compound. The tyres never warmed up enough for any grip. In fact at one control it took three marshals to push us off. A Peugeot 205 with a diff and M5s was no match for the ice".

Jamie Turner/Graham Raeburn were fourth in their Rover Metro, while the first Experts, Owen Turner/Andrew Dadswell, came in fifth overall, one place in front of their class rivals Dave Chapman/David Taylor.

The Novice Class was won by the Passat of Will Malkin/Richard Mills who were 18th overall. Nigel Dinsdale/Brian Marquis took second in class in their Escort, finishing just one place behind. Joe Woodward/Chris Wallet had been leading the class until the final section but they lost time looking for a code board and dropped to 24th at the end. The Millennium Challenge, designed for beginners, was won by Michael Atkins/Graham Cherry in their MG Maestro.

Car 2, Mark Whitford/Steve Porter, dropped thirty minutes when they put their Corolla off the road. Bob Marshall/Roger Hage lost seven minutes when they spun their Corsa losing their lights in the process, they recovered to finish eleventh.

Despite the difficult conditions thirty-four of the thirty-six starters made it to the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Jason Stone Daniel Stone Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 32s
2 Steve Massey Steve Coupland Ford Escort 6m 00s
3 Andy Baker Charlie Wheeldon Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 03s
4 Jamie Turner Graham Raeburn Rover Metro 6m 13s
5 Owen Turner Andrew Dadswell Hillman Imp 8m 35s
6 Dave Chapman David Taylor Vauxhall Astra 10m 38s
7 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 47s
8 Nigel Bowers Richard Todd VW Golf 10m 59s
9 Tim Tordoff Ian Frazer Vauxhall Nova 12m 52s
10 Jamie Gratton-Smith Roger Hage Ford Escort 13m 02s