rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Moorlands & Meadows Rally 2003

Mid Derbyshire Motor Club

1st/2nd March 2003

Clerk of the Course: Lee Burgess

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 110 & 119

Starters: 36

Winners: Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Nova)

Iain Tullie made it two wins out of two when he followed up his win on the Bruce Robinson Memorial by navigating Carl Hawkins to victory on the Moorland and Meadows Rally.

Moorlands & Meadows Rally 2003

The Mid-Derbyshire MC event was a round of several championships but, clashing with a number of other road rallies, attracted just thirty-six starters. The 150 mile route was largely confined to the roads in the Peak District.

The organisers had a trying night. There was a heavy police presence in South Yorkshire, with competitors being stopped and sections being blocked. This led to the latter part of the first half being cancelled. The section over High Rake was lost after a gate was locked. Also the course car, which was carrying the route hand outs, broke down and the final two sections had to be cancelled. These problems meant that the total competitive mileage was little more than 110 miles.

The leaders at the petrol halt were John Haden/Steve Coupland in their Impreza, they’d been twenty seconds quicker than any of their rivals on the regularity section over Wigtwizzle. However they wrong slotted on the next tight test over Sir William Hill, dropped two minutes, and lost the lead. They eventually finished in sixth place.

Their error put the Proton Persona of Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon at the head of the field. This pairing had been second fastest over Wigtwizzle and then 15 seconds quicker than Hawkins/Tullie over Sir William Hill. They ended the night with the least time penalties, but they had driven through a Time Control on the Middleton Moor Regularity; the resultant fail dropped them to twenty-fourth place at the end.

These mistakes allowed Hakwins/Tullie through to take the win. They had been worried by a leaking hose on their Nova, but the car survived the shortened event.

The Astra of Mark Slatcher/Justin Chapman took the runner up spot two minutes behind the winners. They were probably the only crew to have a trouble free night.

Moorlands & Meadows Rally 2003
Sixth Placed: John Haden/Steve Coupland (Subaru Impreza Estate)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Iain Scott/Jez Harris debuted their Peugeot 309. They found the car lacked power and would only pull in the first three gears. They also suffered a puncture and bent a stub axle. In addition, they lost three minutes with a wrong slot. Despite all these set backs, they survived to take third place.

The leading novice crew were Martin Armstrong/Richard James who brought their Sierra into eighth place overall.

Terry Martin/Andy Hughes had a short event as a rear brake caliper exploded on their Peugeot 205 just fifteen miles into the rally. Rob Chalmers/Ric Chalmers failed to make it to the halfway point after a drive shaft broke on their Peugeot 309; they had been in second place at the time.

Stew Dale/James Savage went off the road just before Petrol; the impact broke their Ford Sierra's front bumper and bent the suspension. They continued, although with virtually no brakes. They survived to claim 19th place at the Finish. Simon Tate/Richard Wilson also suffered with a lack of brakes on their Manta, having fitted a new front brake kit prior to the rally. They finished in 13th place.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 8m 10s
2 Mark Slatcher Justin Chapman VauxhalL Astra 10m 19s
3 Iain Scott Jez Harris Peugeot 309 GTi 12m 04s
4 Simon Gibson Alan Ogden Ford Escort RS2000 12m 25s
5 Andy Beaumont Mike Petch Proton Satria 13m 03s
6 John Haden Steve Coupland Subaru Impreza Estate 13m 18s
7 Dave Chapman David Taylor Peugeot 205 14m 35s
8 Martin Armstrong Richard James Ford Sierra 14m 43s
9 Graham Nunn Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 15m 03s
10 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Holdsworth Toyota Corolla 15m 07s
11 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 09s
12 Tony Sims Gavin Ford Ford Escort 19m 34s
13 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 19m 56s
14 Joe Woodward Tomlinson Peugeot 205 20m 28s
15 Paul Wright Malcolm Barber Vauxhall Nova 21m 48s
16 Bruce Dunsmore Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova 23m 50s
17 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 24m 22s
18 Will Malin Rich Mills Peugeot 205 GTi 27m 00s
19 Stew Dale James Savage Ford Sierra 28m 42s
20 Bill Chadwick Alan Edwards Peugeot 205 GTi 31m 13s
21 Nichola Hillier Dave Broadley MG Metro 31m 40s
22 Michael Watkins Graham Cherry MG Maestro 37m 09s
23 Chris Dunn Mark Edwards Ford Escort 51m 37s
24 Guy Robinson Charlie Wheeldon Proton Persona 1F 06m 00s
25 Bryn Morgan Adam Roper Peugeot 205 1F 56m 41s
26 Jonathan Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 1F 93m 54s
27 Richard Bradbury Phil Prosser Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 44m 26s