rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rally of the Moors 2004

Exeter Motor Club

1st/2nd May 2004

Clerk of the Course: Bob Smale

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 181 191 & 192

Starters: 18

Winners: Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard (Peugeot 205)

Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard took victory on the Rally of the Moors, a 150 mile road rally that was severely affected by fog.

Rally of the Moors 2004

This was the first running of the Exeter MC event for over 20 years.

Dixon/Barnard led from start to finish but ended just a minute clear of second placed Roger Hunt/Matt Fowle. Hunt suffered a broken gearbox on his Escort as he drove to scrutineering, he therefore decided to use his tow truck, a Land Rover Discovery, for the rally.

There was a three way tie for third place which was resolved on the furthest clean basis and this gave the position and the win in the historic category to Rob Dance/Graham Dance. The leading Semi-Experts, Scott Jonas/Chris Perry, were also involved in this decider and were classified fifth.

Jim Cassidy/Perry Roe won the Novice class despite their Peugeot 205 suffering contact with a telephone post along the way.

Bob Price/Richard Millener were given the Spirit of the Rally Award having got to the Finish despite damaged both ends of their Volvo Amazon.

Ian Orford/Bob Jones (Mazda 323 4X4T) were an early retirement after a disgruntled householder grabbed their keys and threw them into the undergrowth. Anotehr non-finisher was the Peugeot 106 Rallye of Kim Kirk/Phil Luxton, it suffered a broken back axle and bent rear suspension.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Darren Dixon Peter Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 35m 00s
2 Roger Hunt Matt Fowle Land Rover Discovery 36m 00s
3 Rob Dance Graham Dance Alfa Romeo Guilia GT 37m 00s
4 Richard Cann Calvin Fenwick Citroen ZX 37m 00s
5 Scott Jonas Chris Perry Ford Escort 37m 00s
6 Richard Endean Kevin Willis Peugeot 205 38m 00s
7 Worth Birkill Paul Robinson Morris Mini 40m 00s
8 Sheldon Ware Jason Hayes Rover 43m 00s
9 Jim Cassidy Perry Roe Peugeot 205 GTi 48m 00s
10 Barry Luxton Nic Jones VW Golf GTi 49m 00s
11 Wes Massam Mike Burrows Volvo Amazon 49m 00s
12 Bob Price Richard Millener Volvo Amazon 69m 00s
13 Geoff Pym Rupert Barker Peugeot 205 81m 00s
14 Giles Pursey Alan Jennings Ford Escort 121m 00s
15 Mike Rowlands Michael Froment VW Golf 396m 00s
16 Steve Hollis Mark Cartwright Ford Sierra 1260m 00s