rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Morswyn Williams Memorial Rally 2003

Sponsored by A I Davies Bearings Ltd

Gwendraeth Valley Motor Club

17th/18th May 2003

Clerk of the Course: Alan John

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 159

Starters: 58

Winners: Ceri Richards/Aled Jones (Ford Escort)

Gwendraeth Valley MC’s first running of the Morswyn Williams Memorial Rally was won by Ceri Richards/Aled Jones, they dropped just four seconds all night.

The closed to club road rally had originally had a 120 mile route, however 'practicing' by some competitors had led to PR problems and 40 miles were lost. The remaining 80 miles used lanes in the Llanelli-Carmathen area and saw fifty-eight crews take the start.

Morswyn Williams Memorial Rally 2003
Runners Up: John Davies/Neil Bevan (Vauxhall Nova)

The result was decided on some small regularity time penalties over the first section. This was after the final section of the evening, where all crews dropped significant time, was scrubbed. The cause of the cancellation was the discovery that one time control was 250 yards off its intended plot. If the penalties for that section had stood then John Davies/Neil Bevan would have won, they were almost a minute quicker than Richards/Jones over the test.

However in the final standings Richards/Jones took their second win of the year, finishing thirteen seconds in front of Davies/Bevan, with Gareth Evans/Dylan Evans third, just two seconds behind.

There was a strong showing from the Semi-Expert class with four crews in the top ten. The class was won by the Nissan Cherry of Colin Thomas/Dave Prout, who were fifth overall. Alan James/Edwyn Venville were one place further down to take a comfortable win in the Novice Class.

A number of leading crews hit trouble during the night. Elgan Jones/Byron Jones would have finished third but picked up three fails for code baord errors. Ian Carter/Eyrl Evans lost ninety seconds with a wrong slot and then picked up two fails to finish thirty-fifth overall. Kevin Jones/Dilwyn John retired after cracking the rear diff on their Sierra and Stephen Davies/Patrick Walsh cracked the sump on their Escort.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort RS2000 0m 04s
2 John Davies Neil Bevan Vauxhall Nova 0m 17s
3 Gareth Evans Dylan Evans Ford Escort RS2000 0m 19s
4 Gareth 'Pasty' Harries Dalis Ifans Honda Civic 3m 17s
5 Marc Jonah Dorian Davies Peugeot 205 4m 25s
6 Colin Thomas Dave Prout Nissan Cherry 6m 53s
7 Alan James Edwin Venville Peugeot 205 GTi 7m 46s
8 Wayne James Jenny James Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 51s
9 Jason Harries Geraint Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 21s
10 Ian Thomas Daniel Thomas Ford Escort 12m 38s
11 Dafydd Walters Ian Nicholls Ford Escort 16m 16s
12 Darrel George Arwel Thomas Vauxhall Nova 19m 29s
13 Barry John Seyyan John Ford Escort 20m 13s
14 Fred Davies David Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 24m 13s
15 Rob Chell Rob Thomas VW Golf GTi 26m 38s
16 Sterling Jenkins Simon Charles Vauxhall Nova 26m 55s
17 Chris Lewis Chris Williams Vauxhall Astra GTE 43m 20s
18 Roy Thomas Michelle Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 02m 19s
19 Mark Sugden Huw Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 09m 22s
20 Lee Heywood Mark Hamilton Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 00m 52s
21 Hefyn Thomas Paul Morris Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 02m 57s
22 Tony Jones Bernard Hill Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 08m 53s
23 Phillip Evans Darren Williams Ford Escort 1F 22m 40s
24 Paul Davies Stephen Hicks Vauxhall Nova 1F 32m 48s
25 Tomas Davies Paul Jenkins Ford Escort 1F 32m 51s
26 Sion Jones Simon Cartwright Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 2h 35m 15s
27 Mark Mason Jeff Staples Ford Sierra 2F 9m 34s
28 Martin Curzon Martin Richards Vauxhall Nova 2F 24m 01s
29 Paul Davies Huw Mathias VW Scirocco 2F 26m 00s
30 Ian Evans Christopher Saunders Vauxhall Astra GTE 2F 27m 21s
31 Jason Jones Karina Summerfield Ford Escort 2F 28m 39s
32 Mario Mangano Jenny Smith Fiat Tipo 2F 40m 29s
33 Elgan Jones Byron Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 3F 00m 17s
34 Andrew Thomas Elgan Davies Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 01m 24s
35 Ian Carter Eryl Evans Subaru Impreza 3F 01m 33s
36 Robert Mangano Stephen Weston Ford Escort RS 3F 03m 36s
37 Clive Davies Trevor Davies Toyota Corolla 3F 14m 12s
38 Mark Raerdon Fiona Reardon Vauxhall Corsa 3F 21m 55s
39 Simon Griffiths Paul Jennings Vauxhall Nova 3F 51m 14s
40 Roger Davies Jon Holder Ford Escort 4F 19m 02s
41 Eirian Beynon John Gilbey Ford Escort 5F 01m 54s
42 Rob Price Lionel Plant Vauxhall Astra GTE 5F 06m 43s
43 Andrew James Richard Davies Vauxhall Nova 5F 29m 05s
44 Paul Roberts Anthony Lemon Vauxhall Astra CD 6F 53m 36s
45 Lynn Jones TBA Ford Escort 9F 26m 49s