rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Night Owl Rally 2000

Aberystwyth & District Motor Club

29th/30th April 2000

Clerk of the Course: Eryl Rees & John Whitehurst

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 75

Winners: Aled Evans/Eryl Evans (Ford Sierra XR4x4)

After a number of near misses in early part of the 2000 season, Aled and Eryl Evans finally achieved an outright win by coming home at the front of the field on the Night Owl Rally.

Night Owl 2000

The Aberyswyth MC organised event was Round Five of the Welsh Road Rally Championship and attracted a maximum 75 car entry. It proved a challenging event as the club moved the route further south than it had ventured in recent years and the tight lanes in the Aberaeron/Tregaron area kept crews on their toes.

The Evans' press on style in their Ford Sierra 4x4 was well suited to the rally that used a large number of farm tracks and, by the time crews reached the petrol halt, they had pulled out a three and a half minute lead. This was despite have to run on dipped beam only for most of the rally. The lighting having been damaged by hitting a rock on one of the early whites. They increased this lead after Petrol to give a victory margin of six minutes at the Finish.

Welsh Championship leaders Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson had another problematic night but still managed a top ten finish. They lost 13 minutes in the first half after putting their Escort into a ditch. They then charged through the second half dropping two minutes less than any other crew and thus salvaged seventh place.

This result was enough for Quinn/Thomson to maintain their Welsh series lead. However their advantage at the top had been cut as Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby finished the Night Owl in second place, while Graham Evans/Ian Mills were third. Steve Rogers/Paul Jones also maintained their challenge by taking fourth place.

Night Owl Rally 2000
Winners: Aled Evans/Eryl Evans (Ford Sierra XR4x4)

Other contenders did not have such a happy event. Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford and Hefin George/Dilwyn John both missed the same route check at Trawscoed and lost out on top places as a result. Alun Evans/Carl Williamson retired with overheating problems on their Escort. Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Owen Dodd holed the exhaust manifold on their Escort XR3 and collected just enough controls to be classified as a finisher.

Huw Evans/Marc Jones had hoped for a good result on their local event but they were another crew to miss the board at RC39. Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins also threw away a good result when they booked in a minute early at MC2.

Kevin Price/Jane Harris were the clear winners in the Semi-Expert class, finishing twelve minutes ahead of Hefin Evans/Paul Dark and grabbing tenth overall in the process.

Given the tough nature of the event, it wasn't surprising that the Novice class awards were decided on fails, with Andrew Phillips/Roger Harris taking the top position in front of Simon Chandler/David Manning and Chris Wright/Erik West.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Aled 'Cacen' Evans Eryl Evans Ford Sierra XR4x4 7m 13s
2 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 12m 59s
3 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 14m 14s
4 Steve Rogers Paul Jones Mini Cooper S 15m 25s
5 Grant Parker Gwyn Williams Toyota Corolla 17m 06s
6 Gareth 'Factory' Evans Dylan Evans Ford Escort 19m 23s
7 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 19m 57s
8 Arwyn Davies Alan Hands Ford Escort 20m 29s
9 Nicky Yates Simon Yates Ford Escort 21m 43s
10 Kevin Price Jane Powell Toyota Corolla 23m 32s
11 Andrew Lewis Justin Davies Ford Escort 25m 28s
12 Jerry Jones Ian Cooke Austin Mini 26m 50s
13 Keith Daniels Aneurin James Vauxhall Nova 27m 07s
14 Haydn Williams Iestyn Leyshon Vauxhall Astra 28m 26s
15 Nick Broadway Andy Oakes Ford Sierra 28m 47s
16 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 GTi 31m 46s
17 Alan Jones Mark Andrew Vauxhall Astra GTE 33m 08s
18 Hefin Evans Paul Dark Ford Fiesta XR2 35m 43s
19 D Evans John Hands Peugeot 309 GTi 36m 51s
20 Mark Owen Bob Shaw Ford Escort 37m 04s
21 D Harris Aled Richards Vauxhall Astra GTE 37m 30s
22 Owain Edwards Dorian Davies Vauxhall Astra 37m 55s
23 Robert Rees Ann Rees Ford Escort 39m 20s
24 Claire Evans Allen Hart Vauxhall Nova 39m 37s
25 Derwyn Price Martin Phasey Ford Escort 41m 52s
26 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 44m 40s
27 Barry Davies David Evans Ford Escort XR3 50m 27s
28 Huw Evans Marc Jones Ford Escort 1F 9m 34s
29 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 10m 32s
30 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 1F 11m 54s
31 Hefin George Dilwyn John Nissan Sunny 1F 12m 59s
32 Mark Thomas Rob Richardson Vauxhall Nova 1F 18m 17s
33 Richard Suff Denny Harris Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 30m 04s
34 Elir Morris Craig Morris Ford Escort 1F 36m 35s
35 Aled Garner Dylan Garner Toyota Corolla 1F 37m 33s
36 Andrew Phillips Roger Harris Ford Sierra 2F 41m 16s
37 Simon Chandler David Manning Ford Escort 2F 48m 54s
38 Chris Wright Erik West Rover Mini 3F 48m 27s
39 Geraint Tilley Arno Oswaga Peugeot 205 3F 51m 27s
40 Paul Rooks Myrddin Jones VW Polo 3F 55m 47s
41 Alan Lewis Huw Davies Nissan Micra 3F 3m 10s
42 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Ford Escort 7F 25m 01s
43 Mikey Davies Alan Lloyd Ford Escort 8F 44m 31s
44 Gavin Parry Peter Cockle Volvo 360 GLT 8F 2m 23s
45 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Owen Dodd Ford Escort XR3i 16F 09m 04s
46 Jeffrey Jenkins Ki Bevan VW Golf 65F 59m 10s