rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

20th Nightwatchman Rally

Central Sussex Motor Club

23rd/24th November 2002

Clerk of the Course: Matt Fowle

Route: 166 Miles

Maps: 187 & 197

Starters: 28

Winners: Mike Biss/Cath Woodman (Peugeot 205)

Mike Biss/Cath Woodman took their seventh win of the year on Central Sussex MC’s Nightwatchman Rally. The win also secured the Rally 2002 Championship for the pairing, the series being co-promoted by the South Eastern and Central Southern Associations.

Nightwatchman Rally 2002
Winners: Mike Biss/Cath Woodman (Peugeot 205)

The event used a 166 mile route mostly within the organising club’s home territory. Plot and bash navigation combined with almost continuous use of tight two mile sections meant that the pressure was on crews all night. Despite this Biss/Woodman once again completed an event free of any penalties.

The only crew to challenge the winners were Steve Coles/Bob Blows, they narrowly missed to make their time at two controls during the night and finished two minutes down on the winners, but well clear of the field. Rob Dance/Graham Dance led the Rally 2002 Championship prior to the Nightwatchman, they needed to finish within one place of Biss/Woodman to secure the title. They missed it by one place.

Phil Kendall/David Coles were fourth, while Chin/Andy Coshan were the first non-Peugeot home, bringing their Opel Manta into fifth place. The old pairing of Ian Mepham/Martin Smith were reunited for the Nightwatchman, the first time that Smith had sat in the navigator’s seat for some years, they were rewarded with seventh place.

The leading Novices were Clive Anstey/Verity Anstey who took their Vauxhall Nova to ninth place overall. There were eight starters in the Clubmans section of the rally, with Mark Holding/Kevin Johnson emerging as the winners of the section at the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Peugeot 205 GTi 00m 00s
2 Steve Coles Bob Blows Peugeot 205 GTi 02m 00s
3 Rob Dance Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 00s
4 Phil Kendall David Coles Peugeot 309 GTi 11m 00s
5 Chin Andy Coshan Opel Manta 12m 00s
6 Paul Swindells Jonah Nuttgens Peugeot 309 GTi 16m 00s
7 Ian Mepham Martin Smith Toyota Corolla 19m 00s
8 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 51m 00s
9 Clive Anstey Verity Anstey Vauxhall Nova 53m 00s
10 Rob Reynolds Alan Collier Subaru Impreza 57m 00s