rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Oaks Trophy Rally 2002

Ecurie Royal Oak MC

8th/9th June 2002

Clerk of the Course: Marcus Watmough & Jez Harris

Route: 153 Miles

Maps: 118 & 119

Starters: 30

Winners: Simon Cottrell/Paul Holmberg (Subaru Impreza)

Ecurie Royal Oak MC's Oak Trophy Rally had a 153 mile route starting in Congleton and using roads and tracks in Staffordshire and Derbyshire. The event used two new whites, one at Dove Holes Quarry and the other at High Rake Quarry. It finished with the infamous Red Earth Farm section. The rally was a round of both the North Western and West Midlands Championships. The first half used a pre-plot format while the second half was plot 'n bash.

The Subaru Impreza of Simon Cottrell/Paul Holmberg was the class of the field all night and led from Start to Finish, coming home two minutes clear of the field. Cottrell/Holmberg were followed home by Steve Webster/Steve Porter to make it an Impreza 1-2.

Two Welsh crews made the journey to Congleton in search of West Midlands Championship points and were only seperated by three seconds at the end, Howard Price/Carl Williamson finishing third with Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford fourth.

Jonathan Bossen/Jo Robinson would have finished fourth but they suffered clutch problems on their Impreza and had to be content with ninth place at the Finish. Michael Pedley/David Pedley overcame altenator problems at the start only to loose a large amount of time with a wrong slot in the second half, they finished eighth.

There were a number of significant retirements; Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie were forced out with driveshaft failure on their Nova, Dave Jones/Baz Green had the engine blow on their Astra, while Neil Bye/Stephen Bye withdrew after their Peugeot 205 developed a severe misfire.

The winners of the Semi-Expert class were Tony Watkins/Medwyn Evans, while the first Novices home were John Bray/James Savage.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Simon Cottrell Paul Holmberg Subaru Impreza 2m 59s
2 Steve Webster Steve Porter Subaru Impreza 5m 01s
3 Howard Price Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 6m 36s
4 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 6m 39s
5 Nick Topliss Michael Fern Vauxhall Nova 7m 07s
6 Cliuve Sissons Kevin Savage Subaru Impreza 9m 27s
7 Jim Paterson Adrian Smart Subaru RX Coupe 13m 37s
8 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort DB4 15m 49s
9 Jonathan Bossen Jo Robinson Subaru Impreza 19m 41s
10 John Pearson Ian Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 26m 01s
11 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 38m 34s
12 John Bray James Savage Subaru Legacy 43m 53s
13 Jamie Gratton-Smith Richard Smith Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 10m 02s
14 Justin Sharples Pete Morris Subaru Legacy 1F 13m 14s
15 Chris Robinson Alan Pemberton Toyota Celica GT 2F 33m 11s
16 Adrian Green Paul Hudson Ford Fiesta 5F 17m 43s
17 John Taylor Paul Griffin Ford Escort 11F 82m 14s
18 Renny Morgan Mark Roper Ford Escort 12F 134m 40s
19 Pierre Newton Dan Simcock Peugeot 306 13F 150m 01s
20 Aidan Mangain Lawrence Powell Vauxhall Nova 14F 65m 07s
21 Adrian Hopwood Andrew Deaville Peugeot 205 20F 138m 09s