rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Oaks Trophy Rally 2004

Sponsored by Monks Heath Motors

Ecurie Royal Oak MC

5th/6th June 2004

Clerk of the Course: Marcus Watmough & Simon Cottrell

Route: 145 Miles

Maps: 118 & 119

Starters: 32

Winners: Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie (Mitsubishi Lancer E3)

Oaks Trophy Rally 2004

Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie took their first win of 2004 on ERO’s Oaks Trophy Rally.

The event used 145 miles of lanes and tracks in Staffordshire and Derbyshire. The combination of pre-plot navigation and dry conditions meant that the fastest crews dropped very little time, however the rally received widespread praise from competitors.

In a close fight Hawkins/Tullie finished just two seconds in front of Michael Pedley/David Pedley. Iain Scott/Jez Harris had led initially but a missing arrow on the High Rake section saw them wrong slot and they finished third.

Mark Whitford/Steve Porter were fourth, while a close battle for fifth was decided in the final sections in favour of Simon Gibson/Andrew Hughes, as Richard Chown/Mark Wagstaff also became victims of the missing High Rake arrow.

Steve Southall/Chris Webber won the Semi-Expert Class, finishing in tenth place in their Corolla. The leading Novices Mark Randall/Craig Grist were ten places further back.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Mitsubishi Lancer E3 0m 39s
2 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort DB4 0m 41s
3 Iain Scott Jez Harris Peugeot 309 GTi 1m 00s
4 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort 2m 19s
5 Simon Gibson Andrew Hughes Ford Escort 3m 32s
6 Richard Chown Mark Wagstaff Peugeot 205 GTi 3m 33s
7 Mike Jones Jolyon Robinson Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 50s
8 Nick Topliss Michael Fern Vauxhall Nova 5m 48s
9 Steve Webster Paul Holmberg Subaru Impreza 5m 58s
10 Steve Southall Chris Webber Toyota Corolla 6m 20s
11 Colin Cresswell Stephen Prince Fiat Cinquicento 13m 26s
12 Frank Evans Dan Spittlehouse Toyota Corolla 14m 34s
13 Steve Guest Rob Guest VW Golf GTi 17m 27s
14 David Holland Phil Sant Peugeot 205 GTi 18m 21s
15 David Cottrell Mike Hughes Subaru Impreza 18m 28s
16 Dylan Williams Lee Evans Hillman Avenger 23m 36s
17 Wyn Williams Gwyn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 05s
18 Justin Sharples Pete Morris Subaru Legacy 36m 34s
19 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 53m 24s
20 Mark Randall Craig Grist Vauxhall Nova 53m 30s
21 Ben Corbett Tom Hodgson Hillman Avenger 2F 59m 53s
22 Adrian Hopwood Andrew Deaville Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 41m 17s
23 Jon Chamberlain Nigel Harwood Peugeot 205 GTi 8F 1h 48m 51s
24 Cliff Washbrook Brian Harrison Peugeot 205 GTi 11F 11m 01s
25 Tim Cooper Gary Miller Ford Escort 15F 2h 28m 52s
26 Shaun Robbins Thomas Newton Opel Kadett 32F 2h 32m 39s