rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

PK Memorial Rally 1998

Sponsored by Polyroof

Bala & District Motor Club

10th/11th October 1998

Clerk of the Course: Tudor Morris

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 116 & 124

Starters: 51

Winners: Peter Zjalic/Richard Preece (Toyota Corolla)

Peter Zjalic/Richard Preece took a hard fought victory on last weekend's PK Memorial Rally, with the result being decided on the one section timed to the second. The Bala & District MC organised event was a counter towards both the West Midlands and North Western Championships, having been dropped from the Welsh series after the organisers had been forced to postponed the event from its intended July date.

PK Memorial Rally 1998

There were a number of crews who were free of penalties at the halfway halt, but the second half started with the one section timed to the second. Times on this tie-breaker decided the first four places. Zjalic/Preece were an impressive 30 seconds faster than their nearest rivals and with a clear run through the rest of the event, they thus secured the win. Paul Hughes/Owen Dodd were second, just three seconds ahead of Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas.

These results meant that both Zjalic/Preece and Davies/Gluyas maintained their challenge for the West Midlands title, series leaders Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson having given the event a miss.

In the North Western series Paul Homberg, with Dave Pitchford on the maps, finished fourth, while title rival Bryan Harrison was only twelfth. This meant that with three rounds remaining in the series either driver could still take the title.

Kevin Parry/Gareth Price retired their Corolla on the first section with an electrical problem. Meanwhile Bro Cader winner Ian Jones, partnered by Alan Williams, were another crew free of penalty, when they went off on the tie breaker section. Dave Jones/BazGreen were heading for fifth, when they picked up a puncture, losing four minutes and two places in the process.

Keith Parry/Perry Roe continued their good run of results as they brought their Manta into tenth place and the Semi-Expert class win. Phil Brown/Mark Williams were top Novices in 22nd place. Thirty-two of the 51 starters completed the event.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Peter Zjalic Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 0m 18s
2 Paul Hughes Owen Dodd Vauxhall Astra 0m 52s
3 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 0m 55s
4 Paul Holmberg Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 1m 12s
5 Paul Jones Rob Jones Vauxhall Nova 3m 18s
6 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 4m 03s
7 Dave Jones Baz Green Toyota Corolla 5m 15s
8 Terry Pressdee Iain Tullie Vauxhall Chevette 5m 20s
9 Kevin Nunns Neil Spiers Toyota Corolla 5m 37s
10 Keith Parry Perry Roe Opel Manta 7m 20s
11 Richard Roberts Steven Roberts Ford Escort 8m 50s
12 Brian Harrison Cliff Washbrook Ford Escort 13m 59s
13 Noel Hughes Arfon Jones Saab 96 V4 16m 29s
14 Roger Tristram Stan Appleton Peugeot 205 GTi 16m 54s
15 Iwan Pritchard Paul Owen Ford Escort 21m 58s
16 Iwan Williams Gwion Peyderi Ford Escort 26m 07s
17 Simon Cottrell Steve Wood Toyota Corolla 29m 22s
18 Dyfed Owen Caren Williams Ford Escort 40m 00s
19 John Jones Dave Stocking Renault 14 1F 8m 15s
20 Elfyn Davies Paul Roberts VW Golf GTi 1F 14m 45s
21 Steve Barrett Neil Coulson Mitsubishi Cordia 1F 16m 32s
22 Phil Brown Mark Watkins Ford Escort 1F 26m 00s
23 Robin Jones Elfyn Richards Ford Escort XR3i 1F 27m 38s
24 Andrew Millington Colin Cresswell Ford Escort 1F 36m 24s
25 Arwel Griffith Carwyn Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 22m 39s
26 Adrian Higman Cyril Jones Talbot Sunbeam 2F 35m 39s
27 Stephen Hughes Karl Sieben Ford Capri Laser 3F 37m 11s
28 Tim Cooper Marcus Watmough Ford Escort 4F 50m 45s
29 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Mini 1275GT 6F 65m 17s
30 Tim Mannings Paul Matthewman Ford Fiesta 6F 99m 20s
31 Jimmy Paterson Arial Jones Subaru RX Coupe 7F 91m 00s