rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

PK Memorial Rally 2003

Sponsored by Polyroof

Bala & District Motor Club

5th/6th July 2003

Clerk of the Course: Roger Evans

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 116 & 125

Starters: 75

Winners: Brynli Thomas/Paul Holmberg (Peugeot 205 GTi)

PK Memorial Rally 2003

Brynli Thomas/Paul Homberg made it two wins in two outings, as they followed up their Skoda Trophy win, by taking victory on the Polyroof PK Memorial Rally. For Thomas it was a hat trick as it was his third win in three outings. They dominated the Bala MC event, coming home a minute clear of the field.

The 130 mile long rally used a compact route - it took in Llantysilio mountain and the Clocaenog Forest roads and kept crews under pressure throughout.

Thomas/Holmberg had shared the lead at the halfway point but then stormed through the second half, leaving Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford to take second place a minute behind. Dewi John/Michael Evans had been the joint leaders at Petrol but a poor second half saw them fall to seventh at the Finish.

There was a strong showing from northern crews, with Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie taking third and Mark Whitford/Steve Porter in fourth. Huw Myfyr/Owen Dodd took fifth spot despite their Golf suffering from fuel starvation problems in the second half.

A number of crews, most notably Martin Lloyd/Steve Herbert and Dave Jones/Baz Green, were delayed after meeting a coach on one of the narrow lanes early in the second half. Jones/Green recovered and finished in sixth place. Lloyd/Herbert had been stuck for longer and were finally classified in 12th.

PK Memorial Rally 2003
Third Placed: Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Nova)

Top seeds Glyn Price/Huw Jones had an unhappy night, a major wrong slot, which cost them seven minutes, was followed by retirement when a wheel sheered off their Escort.

Howard Price/Paul Edwards debuted their newly acquired Escort, however they withdrew at the halfway point with a blowing exhaust after a problematic first half, where they had picked up two fails.

The Semi-Expert class was won by Bryn Jones/Dewi Roberts, who finished in sixteenth place overall, while the leading Novices were David Ricketts/Richard Jones.

Fifty of the 75 starters made it to the Finish at Pentrefoelas.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Brynli Thomas Paul Holmberg Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 37s
2 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 9m 34s
3 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 9m 41s
4 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort 11m 05s
5 Huw Myfyr Owen Dodd VW Golf 11m 23s
6 Dave Jones Baz Green Vauxhall Astra 11m 29s
7 Dewi John Williams Michael Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 36s
8 Steven Roberts Darren Garrod Toyota Corolla 11m 45s
9 Jamie Turner Graham Raeburn Rover Metro GTi 11m 45s
10 Tony Gush Brynmor Pierce Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 02s
11 Steve Head Owen Turner Suzuki Swift GTi 12m 33s
12 Martin Lloyd Steve Herbert Ford Escort 12m 44s
13 Medwyn Jones Wayne Allen Talbot Sunbeam 12m 47s
14 Kev Parry Gareth Price Toyota Corolla 13m 33s
15 Steve Price Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla 16m 20s
16 Bryn Jones Dewi Roberts Ford Sierra 18m 02s
17 Steve Wood Iestyn Leyshon Vauxhall Astra GTE 18m 16s
18 Steve Wynn Chris Wynn Ford Escort 19m 56s
19 Rhys Lloyd Jones Alwyn Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 12s
20 Ian Lloyd Adrian Smart Toyota Corolla 21m 12s
21 Merfyn Williams Derwyn Roberts Vauxhall Astra SRi 21m 15s
22 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 GTi 21m 52s
23 Stuart Kelso Eilir Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 21s
24 Terry Martin Jerry Hetrick Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 29s
25 Kevin Price Phil Ralphs Vauxhall Nova GTE 22m 32s
26 Ian 'Dude' Roberts Andy Moss VW Golf GTi 23m 52s
27 Iestyn Williams Ian Williams Vauxhall Astra GTE 24m 18s
28 Iwan Williams Gwion Pryderi Ford Escort 28m 31s
29 Peter Feucht Elwyn Pritchard Ford Sierra Sapphire 29m 22s
30 Mei Jones Rhun Ellis Peugeot 205 1F 11m 58s
31 Darren Lesson Ian Henrett Ford Escort 2F 21m 49s
32 Alan Roberts Paul Jones Ford Escort 2F 22m 16s
33 David Ricketts Richard Jones Toyota Corolla GT 2F 28m 34s
34 Andrew Matthews Colin Jones Ford Fiesta 3F 20m 38s
35 Steve Nash Chris Cooper Jones Mini Cooper 3F 33m 10s
36 Mark 'GT' Roberts Dawn Watkins VW Golf GTi 3F 34m 40s
37 Mark Jones Mike Jones Ford Escort 3F 41m 08s
38 Roger Powley Jon Smith Toyota Corolla GT Coupe 4F 19m 59s
39 Mark Davies Dave Skinner Vauxhall Astra 6F 33m 31s
40 Geraint Jones Gareth Jones Vauxhall Nova 6F 35m 06s
41 Rhys Williams Dafydd Williams VW Golf GTi 7F 55m 21s
42 Anthony Dale Peter Roberts Ford Fiesta XR2 9F 41m 42s
43 Lee Hodson Owen Jones Peugeot 309 GTi 10F 25m 02s
44 Eurig Wyn Thomas Darren Jones Toyota Corolla 10F 26m 24s
45 Bob Ward Jonty Bloxham Ford Escort 10F 50m 39s
46 Gareth Clark Clwyd Davies Peugeot 205 11F 24m 32s
47 Dylan Davies A W Adams Ford Fiesta XR2 15F 23m 29s
48 Neil Bye Bill Chadwick Peugeot 205 GTi 22F 19m 17s
49 Aled Owen Menna Price Peugeot 205 GTi 27F 19m 17s
50 Philip Rock Philip Drew Ford Escort XR3i 45F 71m 09s