rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

PK Memorial Rally 2004

Sponsored by Polyroof

Bala & District Motor Club

3rd/4th July 2004

Clerk of the Course: Roger Evans

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 116 & 125

Starters: 75

Winners: Tony Gush/Gareth Price (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Tony Gush/Gareth Price picked up just sixteen seconds of penalties on their way to winning the PK Memorial Road Rally. The Bala MC event used a 100 mile route in the Ruthin/Cerrigydrudion area and had a capacity entry of 75 starters.

PK Memorial Rally 2004

The first half started by looping around the start venue at the Rhug Estate, before using the twisty lanes around Bettws Gwerfill. Afterwards the route headed east to Bryneglwys and then north to the fuel halt at Ruthin.

Mei Jones/Steve Herbert (Vauxhall Astra GTE) arrived at the halt having cleaned all the sections up to that point. Gush/Price were in second place on 16 seconds, 27 seconds ahead of top seeds Brynli Thomas/David Pedley (Subaru Impreza).

Mark 'GT' Roberts/Denny Harris (VW Golf GTi) should have been in fourth, but they had picked up a fail. Gerallt Davies/Michael Evans (Ford Escort) held fourth, with Ian Lloyd/Cyril Jones (Toyota Corolla) in fifth. No other crew had under two minutes of penalties.

Stuart Kelso/Eilir Jones, winners of the John Morgan Memorial Challenge, the last event to run in the area, failed to make Petrol after their Peugeot 205 broke a half shaft. A split fuel pipe put the Peugeot 205 of Carwyn Evans/Iestyn Williams out of the rally.

PK Memorial Rally 2004
Winners: Tony Gush/Gareth Price (Peugeot 205 GTi)

The second half opened in the fast lanes to the norh-east of Clocaenog Forest, this was followed by a dash straight through the woods, before a large loop around the finish venue at Cerrigydrudion.

Jones/Herbert maintained their clean sheet until just after ITC10, then they became stuck on a slippery track and lost over a minute and a half. This dropped to third as both Gush/Price and Thomas/Pedley cleaned all the sections after Petrol.

Mark Price/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort) moved up from sixth at the halfway point to take fourth at the Finish, although they were over two minutes behind the third placed Astra.

The clear winners of the Semi-Expert Class were Andy Groom/Carl Darby (Peugeot 205 GTi). They had built up a class lead of two minutes at Petrol and came home in 11th place overall.

Rhys Williams/Dafydd Williams (Peugeot 205) held a healthy lead in the Novice category at the petrol halt, but they slipped up in the second half and the class win was taken by Griff Evans/Robin Evans (Peugeot 205).

Broken drive shafts accounted for the retirements of Huw Myfyr/Aled Richards (VW Golf) and Jason Hardy/Alan Jôs (VW Golf), while a broken diff stopped the Peugeot 205 of Eifion Wyn Thomas/Gwawr Hughes.

Haydn Davies/Paul Roberts had a more daramatic exit; they crashed their VW Golf into a wall on a 90 left.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Tony Gush Gareth Price Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 16s
2 Brynli Thomas David Pedley Subaru Impreza 0m 43s
3 Mei Jones Steve Herbert Vauxhall Astra 1m 32s
4 Mark Price Owen Dodd Ford Escort 3m 24s
5 Ian Lloyd Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla 3m 44s
6 Glyn Price Iwan Jones Ford Escort 4m 17s
7 Steven Roberts Aled Pennant Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 42s
8 Owen Turner Graham Raeburn Rover Metro 4m 59s
9 Gerallt Davies Michael Evans Ford Escort RS2000 5m 29s
10 Kevin Parry Brynmor Pierce Toyota Corolla 5m 30s
11 Andy Groom Carl Darby Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 37s
12 Derwyn Evans Dave Evison Vauxhall Nova 5m 41s
13 Stephen Kerr Dewi Gwyn Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 7m 10s
14 Dave Jones Baz Green BMW 323i 7m 14s
15 Cliff Washbrook Paul Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 7m 58s
16 Ian Furniss John Furniss Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 16s
17 Alistair Scott Hunter Phill Harrison Peugeot 205 8m 23s
18 Roger Powley Jon Smith Toyota Corolla 8m 44s
19 Aled Owen Rhun Ellis Mini 10m 10s
20 Emyr Jones Barry Griffiths Toyota Corolla 10m 10s
21 Steve Guest Rob Guest VW Golf 10m 29s
22 Dafydd Rhys Edwards Clive Bayley Vauxhall Astra 10m 44s
23 Wyn Williams Gwyn Jones VW Golf GTi 11m 13s
24 Geraint Jones Gareth Jones Vauxhall Corsa 12m 06s
25 Griff Evans Robin Evans Peugeot 205 14m 02s
26 Steve Southall Chris Webber Toyota Corolla 15m 06s
27 Rhys Lloyd Jones Alwyn Ieuan Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 16m 18s
28 Paul Morris Merfyn Williams Vauxhall Astra GTE 16m 22s
29 Rhys Williams Dafydd Williams Peugeot 205 17m 57s
30 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen ZX Volcane 18m 11s
31 Keith Parry Lee Evans VW Golf 19m 06s
32 Keith Parry Lee Evans VW Golf 19m 39s
33 Steven John Williams Geoff Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 53s
34 Rhys Roberts Phil Dodd Toyota Corolla 21m 32s
35 Dylan Thomas Williams Andrew Singleton Hillman Avenger 24m 10s
36 Robert O'Dowd David O'Dowd Vauxhall Nova SR 24m 55s
37 Richard Atherton Chris Bowden MG Maestro 29m 03s
38 Lee Hodson Richard Jones Peugeot 309 29m 17s
39 John Williams Richard Thomas Peugeot 205 34m 37s
40 Mark 'GT' Roberts Denny Harris VW Golf GTi 1F 06m 01s
41 Dewi John Darren Garrod Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 07m 26s
42 Robin Jones Chris Worsley Ford Escort XR3 1F 14m 53s
43 Gareth Fenlli Clarke Paul Edwards Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 19m 29s
44 Sheila Reynolds Jones Gwyn Reynolds Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 24m 04s
45 Gruff Parry Sion Edwards Vauxhall Nova GSi 1F 34m 00s
46 Philip Rock Philip Drew Ford Escort XR3i 1F 44m 47s
47 John Jones Stephen Davies Renault 11 Turbo 2F 14m 31s
48 Sheila May Matthews Alan Pemberton Ford Escort RS2000 2F 14m 46s
49 Richard Hughes Euros Hughes Vauxhall Astra 2F 22m 35s
50 Mark Summer Paul Willetts Ford Escort 2F 34m 38s
51 Allan Roberts Mark Thorley Peugeot 205 GTi 4F 14m 50s
52 Arwel Thomas Ianto Fôn Jones Vauxhall Nova 4F 16m 17s
53 Rhys Jones Geraint Lloyd Williams Vauxhall Astra GTE 4F 42m 26s
54 Peter Roberts Wyn Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 14F 17m 57s
55 Trefor Roberts Nigel Stephenson Peugeot 205 GTi 29F 28m 15s