rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Pacemaker Road Rally 2003

Sponsored by Marshbrook Car Centre

Knighton Motor Club

12th/13th July 2003

Clerk of the Course: Des Phasey

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 137

Starters: 57

Winners: Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford (Toyota Corolla)

Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford emerged as clear winners after an eventful Pacemaker Road Rally.

Pacemaker Road Rally 2003

The Knighton MC event attracted 57 starters to Bishops Castle. They were to tackle an intricate 120 mile route in the Shropshire-Welsh border area. The first half looped around the Long Mynd, before petrol was taken at Craven Arms. The second half route moved toward the Clun/Ceri Forest area.

Two crews failed to make the start: Steve Wynn/Chris Wynn had the lights fail on their Escort at the Start, while the Corolla of Jonathan Harrison/Jonathan Jones broke down on the way from Blackwood.

Jones/Pitchford had been over a minute off the lead at the halfway point but a storming second half performance coupled with problems for other contenders meant that they finished almost four minutes clear of the field. They cleaned the section to ITC 4C near Bishop's Moat, no other one else dropped less than 2m 30s at that control.

Adrian Hodgson/Chris Lightburn took second despite hitting a bank avoiding queued traffic at the last time control in the first half.

Gareth Jones/Iwan Jones broke the rear suspension on their Astra just before the petrol halt but managed to nurse the car home to third place. Mark Price/Owen Dodd might have challenged for second place but lost two minutes when they became stuck in a farmyard, they finished fourth.

Mal Acott/Steve Herbert had a healthy lead at Petrol, but a fuel leak and a broken leaf spring in the second half meant that they struggled to twelfth at the Finish. ‘Deggy’/Phil Clarke had picked up a puncture in the first half, but managed it to change it and still cleaned the section. They had been holding second place behind Acott/Herbert at the halfway point but crashed out, near Black Hall, soon after the restart.

Pacemaker Road Rally 2003
Winners: Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford (Toyota Corolla)

Andy Sheppard/Justin Brookes were an early retirement when the exhaust broke on their Astra after they'd reversed into a bank while negoiating a hairpin. Paul Hughes/Paul Middleton withdrew with brake problems on their Citroen.

Top seeds Anthony Gluyas/Richard Preece finished well down the order. They had had to cope without a working poti for most of the first half and struggled with fuel vapourisation problems on their Peugeot 205 throughout the event.

The leading Semi-Expert crew were Islwyn Watkins/Martin Jones, who brought their Astra into sixteenth place overall, while Martin Ridge/Simon Ridge took the Novice class award.

Paul Davies/Patrick Walsh had a character building night. They had the throttle cable break twice on their Escort in the first half. They then lost time with a puncture, before picking up a fail for a wrong approach on a triangle control near the Kerry Pole. They were classified in 25th place.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 3m 03s
2 Adrian Hodgson Chris Lightburn Renault 18 6m 50s
3 Gareth Jones Iwan Jones Vauxhall Astra 7m 45s
4 Mark Price Owen Dodd Ford Escort 7m 52s
5 Ian 'Dude' Roberts Andy Moss VW Golf GTi 8m 31s
6 Trevor Pritchard Martyn Allen MG Maestro 9m 36s
7 Howard Price Roger Evans Ford Escort 12m 34s
8 Baron Glaze Pete Davies Ford Escort 15m 05s
9 Glyn Price Huw Jones Ford Escort 15m 05s
10 Simon Rigby Maurice Leach Ford Escort 15m 07s
11 Chris Painter Phil Stocking Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 30s
12 Marc James Anthony Davies Ford Sierra 4x4 16m 01s
13 Mal Acott Steve Herbert Ford Escort 18m 53s
14 Derwyn Evans Dave Evison Vauxhall Nova 19m 46s
15 Steven Price Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla 21m 48s
16 Islwyn Watkins Martin Jones Vauxhall Astra 22m 30s
17 Kevin Price Phil Ralphs Vauxhall Nova 23m 15s
18 Ralph Robson Steven Davies Peugeot 306 GTi 23m 54s
19 Mark 'GT' Roberts Ian Furniss VW Golf GTi 24m 36s
20 Frank Evans Ian Jarman Toyota Corolla 24m 45s
21 Martin Ridge Simon Ridge Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 24s
22 Anthony Gluyas Richard Preece Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 28s
23 Keith Groom Carl Darby Toyota Corolla 35m 32s
24 John Morris Vicki Price Peugeot 309 GTi 40m 48s
25 Dave Bennett Pete Barnard Ford Escort 1F 21m 49s
26 Paul Davies Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 1F 29m 28s
27 John Petrie Mark Ammonds Citroen 1F 31m 56s
28 Adrian Griffiths Dean Davies Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 32m 03s
29 Darren Lesson Ian Hewlett Ford Escort 1F 37m 24s
30 Steve Goodwin Andy Singleton Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 29m 23s
31 Chris Thompson Justin Tallboys-Cotton VW Golf 4F 40m 24s
32 Simon Bevan Alex Crowley Ford Escort XR3i 4F 69m 51s
33 Ryan Davies Gareth Flowers Lada Riva 5F 41m 12s
34 Paul Beddow Michael Brookes Peugeot 205 GTi 6F 44m 37s
35 Andy Oakes Chris Oakes Toyota Corolla 6F 64m 40s
36 Nic Morris Nicky Cadwallader Ford Escort 7F 42m 33s
37 Daniel Williams John Tomley Vauxhall Nova 9F 41m 23s
38 Cliff Jones Jason Reynolds Peugeot 205 GTi 9F 49m 09s
39 John Harris Guy Skewis Ford Escort 14F 43m 56s
40 Dean Williams Matthew Humphreys Peugeot 205 XS 17F 31m 19s
41 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 23F 50m 12s
42 Alan Bradbury Geoff Evanson Ford Escort 24F 45m 32s