rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Palferman Road Rally 2002

Sponsored by Gwasanaeth M.O.T. Mon

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

29th/30th June 2002

Clerk of the Course: Eilir Jones

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 114

Starters: 58

Winners: Lee Mathews/Gari Mathews (Seat Ibiza)

Despite it being a closed to club event, Caernarvonshire & Anglesey MC's Palferman Rally attracted a capacity 60 car entry. Competitors faced a 130 mile route entirely on the island of Anglesey.

Night Owl Rally 2002

The rally started from the Gaerwen Smithfield Market. A majority of the event was made up of a loop taking in most of the south of the island, with a final burst across to the finish near Benllech.

The rally was dominated by the Seat Ibiza of Lee Matthews/Gari Matthews; they were thirty seconds faster than any other crew over the decisive section around Llanedwen and then were the only competitors to clean the test that used Bwlch-gwyn Quarry, the latter being the brothers' home territory. They finished ninety seconds clear of the field.

There was a tight battle for the runner up spot, with the first time pairing of Eifion Thomos/Carwyn Evans just beating Howard Price/Carl Williamson by six seconds, the crews being split by their times on the opening regularity section. Dewi John/Michael Evans took fourth, a further five seconds down.

Noel Hughes/Gwawr Hughes had upgraded from their familiar Saab 96 to an Escort RS2000, however the result was the same, they finished in fifth, the same position as they had acheived on the previous running of the Palferman. Elfed Williams/Baz Green finished seventh and took the Under 1400ss Award in their Peugeot 106.

Thirty-seven crews made it to the Finish, the highest attrition rate being amongst the Expert class, with ten of the twenty-two starters in that category retiring. Amongst these were; Ian Jones/Alan Jones (damaged exhaust after an off), Endaf Davies/Brian Glass (broken petrol pipe on the opening section), Huw Myfur/Merfyn Hughes (navigator sickness), Dewi Williams/Iestyn Williams (head gasket), John Baines/Heddwyn Jones (broken rear shock) and Gareth Edwards/Rhys Jones (broken exhaust).

Night Owl Rally 2002
Winners: Lee Mathews/Gari Mathews (Seat Ibiza)

The Semi-Expert class was won by Endaf Wilson/Barry Griffiths, they finished eleventh overall. They had the oil warning light flickering on during the first half but a replenishment of lubricant for their Peugeot 205 at the petrol halt curied the problem and they finished three minutes clear of their nearest class rival. Roger Powley/John Smith had started well but were slowed as the head gasket on their Corolla started to fail, they eventually finished in sixteenth place.

The wife and husband team of Rhonwen Hardy/Jason Hardy won the Novice Class award, finishing in a magnigicent tenth place overall, higher than the leading Semi-Expert and almost ten minutes clear of second novices Rhys Roberts/Dafydd Roberts.

The Palferman was well received by competitors, particular praise was given to the route, which used a number of whites, none of which were particularly rough.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Lee Matthews Gari Matthews Seat Ibiza 4m 34s
2 Eifion Thomas Carwyn Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 03s
3 Howard Price Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 6m 09s
4 Dewi John Michael Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 14s
5 Noel Hughes Gwawr Hughes Ford Escort RS2000 7m 04s
6 Elfed Williams Baz Green Peugeot 106 8m 31s
7 Carwyn Edwards Aled Pennant Mini 1275 9m 25s
8 Emyr Jones Stephen Roberts Toyota Corolla 12m 23s
9 Eurig Thomas Rhun Ellis Toyota Corolla 13m 57s
10 Rhonwen Hardy Jason Hardy Ford Escort 16m 01s
11 Endaf Wilson Barry Griffiths Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 04s
12 Phil Williams Gwyn Jones Ford Escort 23m 38s
13 Rhys Roberts Dafydd Roberts Vauxhall Nova 25m 14s
14 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen ZX 25m 47s
15 Steve Williams Geoff Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 26m 43s
16 Roger Powley John Smith Toyota Corolla 29m 09s
17 Peter Feucht Elwyn Pritchard Lada Riva 31m 00s
18 Nick Johnson Rob Hopewell Ford Escort 34m 15s
19 David Williams Andrew Singleton Vauxhall Astra 1F 18m 42s
20 Danny Postlewaite Neil Postlewaite Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 19m 09s
21 Iwan Griffiths David Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 24m 39s
22 Sion Thomas Gruff Parry Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 26m 16s
23 Keith Gush Lynn Gush Vauxhall Nova GTE 1F 37m 17s
24 Chris Atkinson Alun Davies Ford Escort 1F 39m 03s
25 Wyn Williams Bethan Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 44m 54s
26 Trystan Bevan Arwel Jones Peugeot 106 2F 15m 32s
27 Steve Barrett John Dyke Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 27m 39s
28 John Jones Will Lynes Ford Escort 3F 26m 39s
29 Gwyn Davies Nigel Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 4F 30m 39s
30 Alan Roberts Paul Jones Ford Escort 5F 20m 12s
31 Gavin Edwards Ifan Rowlands Ford Fiesta 7F 48m 20s
32 Mark Jones Dilwyn Jones Vauxhall Astra 7F 36m 30s
33 Tracy Bolton Gary Roberts Ford Escort 10F 14m 27s
34 Eifion Jones Hugh Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 10F 20m 08s
35 Eric Roberts Wyn Lloyd Ford Escort 13F 38m 41s
36 Kevin Thompson Keith Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 20F 29m 20s
37 Alwyn Davies Andrew Carlisle Peugeot 205 GTi 27F 16m 40s