rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Palferman Road Rally 2003

Sponsored by A.F.G. Accident Damage Specialists

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

12th/13th April 2003

Clerk of the Course: Derwyn Roberts

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 114

Starters: 65

Winners: Eifion Thomas/Carwyn Evans (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Eifion Thomas/Carwyn Evans won the Palferman Trophy Rally as most of their closest rivals failed to make the finish of the Anglesey based road rally.

Palferman Road Rally 2003

The Caernarvon and Anglesey MC closed to club event used a 110 mile route, chiefly confined to the south of the island.

Thomas/Evans finished the rally almost three minutes clear of the field as they came home the only finishers from the top five starters. Darren Jones/Heddwyn Jones, seeded at fourteen, finished as runners up, narrowly beating Eurig Wyn Thomas/Rhun Ellis to the position.

Richard Roberts/Dafydd Roberts went out early on when they caught a rock and ripped the rear wheel off their Peugeot, while Lee Hodson/Owen Jones also made contact with the scenery and went out of the event. Noel Hughes/Gwawr Hughes had their second short event in succession, their Saab 96 suffering a holed radiator.

Tony Gush/Eilir Jones had the head gasket fail on their 205. Gearbox failures accounted for Elfyn Richards/Alan Jôs, Phil Williams/Gwyn Jones and Gavin Edwards/Ifan Rowlands. Mei Jones/Steve Herbert were leading the rally when their Astra broke a drive shaft just prior to the petrol halt.

Despite these significant retirements, thirty-nine of the sixty-five starters made it to the Finish. The number of finishers could have been higher still but five crews cut part of the route which included an MC and they were thus excluded from the results.

Aled Pennant/Rees Owen (Peugeot 106 Rallye) took the Semi-Expert class win and fifth overall. The winners of the Novice class were Paul Morris/Owen Edwards (Vauxhall Astra GTE) who were twelfth.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Eifion Thomas Carwyn Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 08s
2 Darren Jones Heddwyn Jones Vauxhall Nova 15m 51s
3 Eurig Thomas Rhun Ellis Toyota Corolla 16m 24s
4 Geraint Jones Alan Jordan Vauxhall Nova GTE 19m 56s
5 Aled Pennant Rees Owen Peugeot 106 Rallye 21m 29s
6 Keith Parry Anthony Williams Vauxhall Nova 21m 43s
7 Aled Roberts Steven Roberts VW Golf 23m 11s
8 Tracey Bolton Gary Roberts Ford Escort Mk4 29m 26s
9 John Jones Paul Owen Ford Escort 29m 52s
10 Geraint Jones Gareth Jones Vauxhall Nova 30m 07s
11 Brian Williams Andrew Singleton Vauxhall Astra 32m 02s
12 Robat Jones Paul Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 32m 29s
13 Gareth Owen Tecwyn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 33m 51s
14 Paul Morris Owen Edwards Vauxhall Astra 33m 57s
15 Brian Jones Alan Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 34m 00s
16 Sion Humphreys John Humphreys Ford Escort 35m 22s
17 Roger Powley John Smith Toyota Corolla 39m 20s
18 Stephen Kerr Helen Kerr Peugeot 205 GTi 42m 23s
19 Stephen Dukes Tim Rice Ford Escort 43m 55s
20 Carwyn Edwards Richard Edwards BL Mini 46m 37s
21 Steven John Williams Geoff Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 54m 47s
22 Aubrey Gower Jason Chinery Peugeot 205 GTi 56m 35s
23 Robat Edwards Derek Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 58m 46s
24 John Williams Wyn Lloyd Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 10m 13s
25 Martin Williams Gavin Thompson Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 19m 47s
26 Darren Parry David Jones Ford Escort XR3i6 1h 22m 33s
27 Sion Thomas Aled Naylor Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 23m 23s
28 Selwyn Pritchard Gareth Cotgrove Peugeot 205 GTi 1h 28m 34s
29 Eric Jones Kevin Thompson Skoda 120 1h 28m 34s
30 Stephen Campbell Karl Williams Vauxhall Astra GTE 1h 37m 30s
31 Kevin Griffiths Francine Dean BL Mini 1h 37m 50s
32 Gruff Parry Emyr Stephens Vauxhall Nova GSi 1h 44m 10s
33 Gareth Jones Lee Barnes Peugeot 309 GTi 2h 34m 28s
34 Matthew Watson Nicky Williams Vauxhall Nova SR 2h 37m 29s
35 Rachel Owen Karen Hughes BL Mini 2h 58m 24s
36 Simon Roberts David Anderson Vauxhall Astra SRi 3h 10m 42s
37 Owain Arwel Jason Thomas VW Golf 3h 37m 04s
38 Arwel Thomas Llion Owen Vauxhall Nova 3h 46m 31s
39 Philip Russell Michael Reeve Rover Metro GTi 4h 43m 07s